WorldCat Identities

Poole, Steven 1972-

Overview
Works: 33 works in 120 publications in 6 languages and 3,590 library holdings
Genres: History  Video games  Television cooking shows  Field guides 
Roles: Author, Reporter, Interviewee
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Steven Poole
Trigger happy : videogames and the entertainment revolution by Steven Poole( )

21 editions published between 1972 and 2011 in English and held by 1,232 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"For many, videogames are still viewed as a minor form of entertainment, shallow at best, harmful at worst. In this book, Steven Poole draws on movies, painting, history, and literature to analyze what he calls the "inner life" of videogames. Traveling to Tokyo, Los Angeles, and Cannes, he interviews leading figures in the industry, including Jeremy Smith, head of Core Design (home of Lara Croft), and Nolan Bushnell, founder of Atari. Tracing their history in order to predict where they are headed, he argues that videogames are a revolutionary force in popular culture. At the dawn of the twenty-first century, videogames are where movies were at the dawn of the twentieth. With increasing investments of talent, capital, and technological creativity, they will become an art form in their own right."--Jacket
Unspeak : how words become weapons, how weapons become a message, and how that message becomes reality by Steven Poole( Book )

9 editions published between 2006 and 2007 in English and held by 930 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Looks at how we are bombarded everyday with those apparently simple words or phrases that actually conceal darker meanings, tracing the globalizing wave of modern "unspeak" from culture wars to the culture of war and revealing how ordinary words are changing the way we think
Rethink : the surprising history of new ideas by Steven Poole( Book )

13 editions published between 2016 and 2017 in English and held by 574 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"A brilliant and groundbreaking argument that innovation and progress are often achieved by revisiting and retooling ideas from the past rather than starting from scratch--from The Guardian columnist and contributor to The Atlantic, "--Baker & Taylor
You aren't what you eat : fed up with gastroculture by Steven Poole( Book )

9 editions published between 2012 and 2013 in English and held by 258 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

We have become obsessed by food: where it comes from, where to buy it, how to cook it and - most absurdly of all - how to eat it. Our televisions and newspapers are filled with celebrity chefs, latter-day priests whose authority and ambition range from the small scale (what we should have for supper) to large-scale public schemes designed to improve our communal eating habits. When did the basic human imperative to feed ourselves mutate into such a multitude of anxieties about provenance, ethics, health, lifestyle and class status? And since when did the likes of Jamie Oliver and Nigella Lawson gain the power to transform our kitchens and dining tables into places where we expect to be spiritually sustained? In this subtle and erudite polemic, Steven Poole argues that we're trying to fill more than just our bellies when we pick up our knives and forks, and that we might be a lot happier if we realised that sometimes we should throw away the colour supplements and open a tin of beans
Trigger happy : the inner life of videogames by Steven Poole( Book )

16 editions published between 1999 and 2001 in English and held by 167 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"In this ground-breaking book, Steven Poole travels to Tokyo, Los Angeles, and Cannes, and talks to leading figures in the industry, including Jeremy Smith, head of Core Design (the home of Lara Croft) and Nolan Bushnell, the founder of Atari. Drawing on cinema, painting, history and literature he asks: what is the inner life of videogames? Where did they come from and where are they going? Could we even consider them an art form?"--BOOK JACKET
Unspeak by Steven Poole( Book )

6 editions published in 2006 in English and held by 163 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Unspeak is language as a weapon. In societies of apparently free public debate, Unspeak tries to shut down arguments before they happen. By creating the language we use to talk about domestic politics and international affairs, the purpose of Unspeak is to make objections unspeakable and, eventually, unthinkable. As it spreads throughout the media, we are pressured to accept the pre-packaged conclusions of politicians, military agencies and corporate interests. In the tradition of George Orwell, Steven Poole traces the globalising wave of modern Unspeak - from the culture wars to the culture of war."--BOOK JACKET
Who touched base in my thought shower? by Steven Poole( Book )

5 editions published between 2013 and 2014 in English and held by 93 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Steven Poole is the author of the books You Aren't What You Eat, Unspeak, and Trigger Happy and a journalist, cultural critic, broadcaster, and composer for documentaries and short films, including the award-winning EVOL. He writes for the Guardian, Edge, the New Statesman and the Times Literary Supplement"--Publisher's description
Unspeak : words are weapons by Steven Poole( Book )

8 editions published between 2006 and 2013 in English and held by 55 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The language of everyday deception stripped bare. Unspeak is language as a weapon. Every day, we are bombarded with those apparently simple words or phrases that actually conceal darker meanings. 'Climate change' is less threatening than 'Global Warming'; we say ethnic cleansing when we mean mass murder. As we absorb and repeat Unspeak we are accepting the messages that politicians, businessmen and military agencies wish us to believe. Operation Iraqi Freedom did more than put a positive spin on the American war with Iraq; it gave the invasion such a likeable name that the American news networks quickly adopted it as their tagline for reporting on the war. By repackaging the language we use to describe international affairs or domestic politics, Unspeak tries to make controversial issues unspeakable and, therefore, unquestio- nable. In this thought-provoking and important book, Steven Poole traces the globalizing wave of modern Unspeak from culture wars to the culture of war and reveals how everyday words are changing the way we think
Rethink by Steven Poole( Book )

4 editions published between 2016 and 2017 in English and Korean and held by 45 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A brilliant and groundbreaking argument that innovation and progress are often achieved by revisiting and retooling ideas from the past rather than starting from scratch--from The Guardian columnist and contributor to The Atlantic
Rethink : the surprising history of new ideas by Steven Poole( Recording )

4 editions published between 2016 and 2018 in English and held by 20 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A brilliant and groundbreaking argument that innovation and progress are often achieved by revisiting and retooling ideas from the past rather than starting from scratch--from The Guardian columnist and contributor to The Atlantic.Innovation is not always as innovative as it may seem. This is the story of how old ideas that were mocked or ignored for centuries are now storming back to the cutting edge of science and technology, informing the way we lead our lives. This is the story of Lamarck and the modern-day epigeneticist whose research vindicated his mocked 200-year-old theory of evolution; of the return of cavalry use in the war in Afghanistan; of Tesla's bringing back the electric car; and of the cognitive scientists who made breakthroughs by turning to ancient Greek philosophy.Drawing on examples from business to philosophy to science, Rethink shows what we can learn by revisiting old, discarded ideas and considering them from a novel perspective. From within all these rich anecdotes of overlooked ideas come good ones, helping us find new ways to think about ideas in our own time--from out-of-the-box proposals in the boardroom to grand projects for social and political change.Armed with this picture of the surprising evolution of ideas and their triumphant second lives, Rethink helps you see the world differently. In the bestselling tradition of Malcolm Gladwell, Poole's new approach to a familiar topic is fun, convincing, and brilliant--and offers a clear takeaway: if you want to affect the future, start by taking a look at the past
Butterflies of Grand Teton & Yellowstone National Park by Steven Poole( Book )

1 edition published in 2009 in English and held by 16 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Steven Poole's guidebook contains 250 full color photographs and illustrations to help you identify any butterfly in the parks. Poole's understandable but scientific descriptions help you locate and observe these amazingly delicate and beautiful insects. --Publisher
Fed up with gastroculture by Steven Poole( Book )

1 edition published in 2012 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In this book Steven Poole argues that we're trying to fill more than just our bellies when we pick up our knives and forks, and that we might be a lot happier if we realised that sometimes we should throw away the colour supplements and open a tin of beans
Unspeak TM : [unspeak 1. n. mode of speech that persuades by stealth. E.g., climate change, war on terror, ethnic cleansing, road map.] by Steven Poole( Book )

2 editions published in 2006 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Trigger Happy by Steven Poole( )

1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Annotation
Ri shinku : Kotae wa kako ni aru by Steven Poole( Book )

2 editions published in 2018 in Japanese and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Streams of energy : three people voice the yearning of many by Francis A Macnab( Book )

1 edition published in 1993 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Haruki Murakami by Steven Poole( )

1 edition published in 2014 in Slovenian and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Po reki vse do ustja : ob krstni uprizoritvi by Steven Poole( )

1 edition published in 2000 in Slovenian and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Pixelroom( Visual )

1 edition published in 2012 in French and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Die Dokumentation geht der Frage nach, ob die Kritik an Computerspielen berechtigt ist
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.31 (from 0.14 for Trigger ha ... to 0.99 for Juegos e h ...)

Unspeak : how words become weapons, how weapons become a message, and how that message becomes reality
Covers
Unspeak : how words become weapons, how weapons become a message, and how that message becomes realityTrigger happy : the inner life of videogamesUnspeakUnspeak : words are weaponsUnspeak TM : [unspeak 1. n. mode of speech that persuades by stealth. E.g., climate change, war on terror, ethnic cleansing, road map.]
Alternative Names
Poole, Stephen.

Poole, Stephen 1972-

Poole, Steven R.

Steven Poole British writer

Steven Poole Brits journalist

Steven Poole écrivain britannique

Steven Poole escritor británico

Steven Poole giornalista e saggista britannico

Steven Poole scriitor britanic

സ്റ്റീവൻ പൂൾ

풀, 스티븐 1972-

プール, スティーヴン

Languages