WorldCat Identities

Trenow, Liz

Overview
Works: 14 works in 79 publications in 4 languages and 3,632 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Historical fiction  History  Romance fiction  Domestic fiction 
Roles: Author
Classifications: PR6120.R46, 823.92
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Liz Trenow
The forgotten seamstress by Liz Trenow( Book )

14 editions published between 2013 and 2016 in English and Italian and held by 1,399 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Maria knows she's lucky to have landed in the sewing room of the royal household. Before World War I casts its shadow, she catches the eye of the Prince of Wales, a glamorous and intense gentleman. But her life takes a far darker turn, and soon all she has left is a fantastical story about her time at Buckingham Palace. Decades later, Caroline Meadows discovers a beautiful quilt in her mother's attic. When she can't figure out the meaning of the message embroidered into its lining, she embarks on a quest to reveal its mystery
The last telegram by Liz Trenow( Book )

13 editions published between 2012 and 2013 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,091 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

As Nazi planes dominated the British sky, 18-year-old Lily Verner made a terrible mistake that she's spent decades trying to forget. But now an unexpected event pulls her back to the 1940s British countryside and her family's textile mill
The hidden thread : a novel by Liz Trenow( Book )

3 editions published in 2017 in English and held by 335 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

London, 1760. When Anna Butterfield's mother dies, she's sent to live with her uncle, a silk merchant in London, to make a good match and provide for her father and sister. There, she meets Henri, a French immigrant and apprentice hoping to become a master weaver. But Henri, born into a lower class, becomes embroiled in the silk riots that break out as weavers protest for a fair wage. With her family's security at stake-- and her reputation on the line-- will Anna be able to pursue her dreams?
The Poppy Factory by Liz Trenow( Book )

9 editions published between 2014 and 2016 in English and held by 257 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A captivating story of two young women, bound together by the tragedy of two very different wars. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee. With the end of the First World War, Rose is looking forward to welcoming home her beloved husband, Alfie, from the battlefields. But his return is not what Rose had expected. Traumatised by what he has seen, the Alfie who comes home is a different man to the one Rose married. As he struggles to cope with life in peacetime, Rose wrestles with temptation as the man she fell in love with seems lost forever. Many years later, Jess returns from her final tour of Afghanistan. Haunted by nightmares from her time at the front, her longed-for homecoming is a disaster and she wonders if her life will ever be the same again. Can comfort come through her great-grandmother Rose's diaries? For Jess and Rose, the realities of war have terrible consequences. Can the Poppy Factory, set up to help injured soldiers, rescue them both from the heartache of war?
The silk weaver by Liz Trenow( Book )

6 editions published in 2017 in English and held by 200 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Anna Buttterfield moves from her Suffolk country home to her uncle's house in London, to be introduced to society. A chance encounter with a local silk weaver, French immigrant Henri, throws her from her privileged upbringing to the darker, dangerous world of London's silk trade. Henri is working on his 'master piece' to make his name as a master silk weaver; Anna meanwhile is struggling against the constraints of her family and longing to become an artist. Henri realizes that Anna's designs could lift his work above the ordinary, and give them both an opportunity for freedom ... This is a charming story of illicit romance, set against the world of the burgeoning silk trade in 18th century Spitalfields - a time of religious persecution, mass migration, racial tension and wage riots, and ideas of what was considered 'proper' for women
The forgotten seamstress by Liz Trenow( Recording )

13 editions published in 2014 in English and held by 166 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A shy girl with no family, Maria has landed in the sewing room of the royal household. Soon she catches the eye of the Prince of Wales. But her life takes a darker turn, and soon all she has left is a fantastical story about her time in the palace. Decades later, Caroline discovers a beautiful quilt in her mother's attic with a mysterious message embroidered into its lining. She embarks on a quest to reveal its mystery, a puzzle that only seems to grow more important to her own heart
In love and war by Liz Trenow( Book )

3 editions published in 2018 in English and held by 116 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Three women, once enemies. Their secrets will unite them. July, 1919. The First World War is over. The war-torn area of Flanders near Ypres is no longer home to trenches or troops, but groups of tourists. Controversial battlefield tourism now drives bus-loads of people to witness first-hand where loved ones fell and died. At the Hotel de la Paix in the small village of Poperinghe, three women have come to the battlefields to find a trace of men they have loved and lost. Ruby is just 21, a shy Englishwoman looking for the grave of her husband. Alice is only a little older but brimming with confidence; she has travelled all the way from America, convinced her brother is in fact still alive and still in France. Then there's Martha and her son Otto, who are not all they seem to be." --Publisher description
The last telegram : a novel of what saves us by Liz Trenow( )

8 editions published between 2016 and 2017 in English and held by 38 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In this evocative novel of love and consequences, Lily Verner must finally confront the disastrous decision that has haunted her all these years
The silk weaver by Liz Trenow( Recording )

3 editions published between 2016 and 2017 in English and held by 15 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

1760, Spitalfields. Anna Butterfield's life is about to change forever, as she moves from her idyllic Suffolk home to be introduced into London society. A chance encounter with a French silk weaver, Henri, draws her in to the volatile world of the city's burgeoning silk trade. Henri is working on his 'master piece', to become a master weaver and freeman; Anna longs to become an artist while struggling against pressure from her uncle's family to marry a wealthy young lawyer. As their lives become ever more intertwined, Henri realises that Anna's designs could give them both an opportunity for freedom. But his world becomes more dangerous by the day, as riots threaten to tear them apart forever
In love and war by Liz Trenow( Recording )

3 editions published in 2018 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Three women, once enemies. Their secrets will unite them. The First World War is over. The war-torn area of Flanders near Ypres is no longer home to troops, but groups of tourists. Controversial battlefield tourism now brings hundreds of people to the area, all desperate to witness first-hand where their loved ones fell. At the Hotel de la Paix in the small village of Hoppestadt, three women arrive, searching for traces of the men they have loved and lost. Ruby is just twenty-one, a shy Englishwoman looking for the grave of her husband. Alice is only a little older but brimming with confidence; she has travelled all the way from America, convinced her brother is in fact still alive. Then there's Martha and her son Otto, who are not all they seem to be
Il mercante di seta by Liz Trenow( Book )

1 edition published in 2017 in Italian and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Shelkovye uzly : roman by Liz Trenow( Book )

1 edition published in 2017 in Russian and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

El maestro de la seda by Liz Trenow( )

1 edition published in 2018 in Spanish and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

1760. En su primer día en Londres, Anna se encuentra por casualidad con un joven sastre francés, Henri, que ha llegado como tantos a Inglaterra huyendo de las guerras de religión. Henri está decidido a triunfar en el mundo duro y competitivo de los maestros de la seda, y para ello cuenta con la habilidad de Anne para crear diseños. Ambos se enamoran pero la diferencia de clase social y los disturbios en Londres hacen que su amor, al igual que su proyecto de futuro, estén en la cuerda floja
DRESSMAKER OF DRAPER'S LANE by Liz Trenow( Book )

1 edition published in 2019 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.33 (from 0.23 for The forgot ... to 0.96 for Il mercant ...)

Languages