WorldCat Identities

Hare, R. M. (Richard Mervyn)

Overview
Works: 185 works in 766 publications in 9 languages and 16,550 library holdings
Genres: Interviews  Criticism, interpretation, etc 
Roles: Editor, Interviewee, Honoree
Classifications: B358, 170
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  R. M Hare Publications about R. M Hare
Publications by  R. M Hare Publications by R. M Hare
posthumous Publications by R. M Hare, published posthumously.
Most widely held works about R. M Hare
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by R. M Hare
The language of morals by R. M Hare ( Book )
114 editions published between 1952 and 2004 in English and Undetermined and held by 2,046 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Hare presents his own brand of non-cognitivism - so-called 'prescriptivism'. According to prescriptivism, value-words have both descriptive and prescriptive meaning. The former conveys information about the objects the words are applied to, and the latter commends a certain kind of object in its class
Moral thinking : its levels, method, and point by R. M Hare ( Book )
49 editions published between 1981 and 2007 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,823 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
By distinguishing between 2 different levels of moral thinking, we see how utilitarian reasoning at the critical level - enlisting impartial sympathy for others' predicaments, which we must have if we fully understand them and universalize our preferences as morality requires - generates moral principles for use at the intuitive level
Freedom and reason by R. M Hare ( Book )
82 editions published between 1963 and 2004 in 3 languages and held by 1,694 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Rejecting rationality to preserve freedom is the mark of subjectivist/emotivist theories of ethics. Rejecting freedom to emphasize rationality belongs to the naturalist/descriptivist theories. This book aims to reconcile these positions and do away with the alleged antinomy
Sorting out ethics by R. M Hare ( )
29 editions published between 1997 and 2004 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,389 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
From one of the most influential moral philosophers of the century, Sorting Out Ethics presents a survey of the major rival ethical theories
Plato by R. M Hare ( Book )
32 editions published between 1982 and 2012 in 4 languages and held by 1,289 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Relates the problems which led Plato to become a philosopher
Essays on the moral concepts by R. M Hare ( Book )
15 editions published between 1972 and 1973 in English and held by 773 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Applications of moral philosophy by R. M Hare ( Book )
15 editions published between 1972 and 1973 in English and Italian and held by 755 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Essays on philosophical method by R. M Hare ( Book )
21 editions published between 1971 and 1972 in English and Undetermined and held by 667 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Practical inferences by R. M Hare ( Book )
23 editions published between 1971 and 1972 in English and held by 627 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Essays in ethical theory by R. M Hare ( Book )
20 editions published between 1989 and 2008 in English and Undetermined and held by 552 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Essays on political morality by R. M Hare ( Book )
13 editions published between 1989 and 1998 in English and held by 493 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
R.M. Hare presents a selection of essays in which he brings ethical theory lucidly to bear on moral problems arising in politics. He examines our obligation to obey the law; the limits of legitimate lawbreaking, civil violence, and war; rights of various sorts and their supposed conflict with utility; justice, distributive and retributive; and care of the environment. His arguments are amply illustrated by specific examples. The volume substantiates the author's claim that help with such problems can be found in philosophy, and particularly in his own ethical theory, which draws together the best insights of Kant and utilitarians
Essays on bioethics by R. M Hare ( Book )
17 editions published between 1993 and 2002 in English and Undetermined and held by 492 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
R.M. Hare is well known both for his fundamental work in ethical theory and for his applications of it to practical issues. For this volume he has selected the best of his writings on medical ethics and related topics. The book's chief theoretical interest lies in its synthesis between utilitarian and Kantian ethics, which are shown to have the same practical consequences. The main practical thesis in the book is that we can harm possible people by preventing them from becoming actual people. This thesis, if understood and accepted, would radically alter the terms of the public debate about embryo experimentation and population policy, and (perhaps surprisingly) support a fairly liberal view on abortion. There are also general introductions to medical and psychiatric ethics, and essays on the concept of health, on the morality of experimentation on children, on health care policy, on free will, and on vegetarianism
Essays on religion and education by R. M Hare ( Book )
16 editions published between 1992 and 2007 in English and French and held by 440 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
R.M. Hare is one of the most widely discussed of today's moral philosophers. In this volume he has collected his most important essays in the related fields of religion and education, some newly published and others now inaccessible. The book starts with an exposition of his ideas on the meaning of religious language. There follow several essays, theoretical and practical, on the relations between religion and morality, which have deep implications for moral education. The central question addressed in the rest of the volume is how children can be educated to think for themselves, freely but rationally, about moral questions, and the effects on society of failure to achieve this. Professor Hare argues that those who want to dispense with morality are in effect resigning from a vital educational task. Attitudes to euthanasia and to equality of educational opportunity are taken as examples of how our thinking can go wrong
Hare and critics : essays on moral thinking ( Book )
14 editions published between 1988 and 1990 in English and held by 440 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Objective prescriptions, and other essays by R. M Hare ( Book )
6 editions published in 1999 in English and Undetermined and held by 294 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"R. M. Hare has brought together in this volume the best of his uncollected essays in moral philosophy, several of them previously unpublished or revised for this collection. They span the whole range of his ethical interests; from the most abstract to the most down-to-earth. The reader will find here the bases of his ethical theory in Kantian prescriptivism, utilitarianism, and the logic of imperatives, and will see that theory applied to issues of bioethics, medical ethics, business ethics, loyalty and obedience, and racism."--BOOK JACKET
The dialogues of Plato by Plato ( Book )
6 editions published between 1953 and 1970 in English and held by 108 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Collects eight important dialogues by the great Greek philosopher
Moral philosophy ( Visual )
5 editions published between 1977 and 2004 in English and held by 101 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
R.M. Hare examines the 19th-century philosophy of Utilitarianism-- morals and legislation predicated on the greatest happiness for the greatest numbers-- and how it has been applied in the 20th century. In the tradition of J. Bentham, William James, J.S. Mill and H. Sidgwick, Hare also analyzes how 20th century philosophers including Karl Marx, applied utilitarian philosophical concepts to social, political and economic questions
Die Sprache der Moral by R. M Hare ( Book )
10 editions published between 1972 and 1997 in German and Undetermined and held by 89 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Freiheit und Vernunft by R. M Hare ( Book )
9 editions published between 1973 and 1983 in German and held by 72 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Jeder, der vor einem ernsten moralischen Problem steht, weiss, dass es sein eigenes Problem ist und dass ihm niemand die Beantwortung desselben abnehmen kann. Dennoch ist die Beantwortung moralischer Fragen nicht willkürlich: wir spüren vielmehr, dass es von ausschlaggebender Bedeutung ist, welche Antwort wir geben, und dass wir bei der Aufgabe, eine Antwort zu finden, unsere rationale Fähigkeiten bis an die Grenzen des Möglichen einsetzen sollten. Auf diese (scheinbare) Antinomie von Freiheit und Vernunft lassen sich fast alle zentralen Auseinandersetzungen in der Moralphilosphie zurückführen
Platon : eine Einführung by R. M Hare ( Book )
9 editions published between 1982 and 2009 in 4 languages and held by 64 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.57 (from 0.28 for Plato / ... to 0.98 for Principle ...)
Alternative Names
Hare, R. M.
Hare R. M. 1919-2002
Hare, R. M. (Richard Mervyn)
Hare, Richard M.
Hare, Richard M. 1919-2002
Hare, Richard M. (Richard Mervyn)
Hare , Richard Mervyn
Hare, Richard Mervyn 1919-
Hare, Richard Mervyn 1919-2002
Mervyn Hare, Richard 1919-2002
ريتشارد ميرفن هير، 1919-2002
هير، ر. م 1919-2002
هير، ر. م. (ريتشارد ميرفن)، 1919-2002
ヘーア, R. M
Languages
English (479)
German (35)
French (5)
Spanish (4)
Italian (2)
Dutch (2)
Malay (1)
Turkish (1)
Polish (1)
Covers