WorldCat Identities

Barro, Robert J.

Overview
Works: 268 works in 980 publications in 5 languages and 20,109 library holdings
Genres: Cross-cultural studies  History  Textbooks 
Roles: Editor, Author of introduction
Classifications: HB172.5, 338.9
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Robert J Barro Publications about Robert J Barro
Publications by  Robert J Barro Publications by Robert J Barro
Most widely held works by Robert J Barro
Economic growth by Robert J Barro ( )
60 editions published between 1995 and 2007 in English and Danish and held by 3,043 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"This graduate level text on economic growth surveys neoclassical and more recent growth theories, stressing their empirical implications and the relation of theory to data and evidence. The authors have undertaken a major revision for the long-awaited second edition of this widely used text, the first modern textbook devoted to growth theory. The book has been expanded in many areas and incorporates the latest research."--BOOK JACKET
Macroeconomics by Robert J Barro ( )
81 editions published between 1984 and 2010 in English and Undetermined and held by 2,659 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The author presents the market-clearing approach as a general method for analyzing real-world macroeconomic problems. The stress on this approach means that the book is not a "ballanced" treatment of alternative macroeconomic models. There is no book-and probably could be none of substance-that is balanced in this respect. Although he deals in a serious manner with the Keynesian model, he does not use the Keynesian framework for most of the analyses of economic events or policies. The Keynesian theory is an advance topic that involves specific assumptions about the ways that private markets malfunction. The nature of these malfunctions and the special features of the Keynesian model cannot be fully understood and appreciated until the market-clearing analysis has been worked out
Getting it right markets and choices in a free society by Robert J Barro ( )
22 editions published between 1996 and 2000 in English and held by 2,036 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Annotation A collection of essays based on Barro's (economics, Harvard U.) contributions to the arguing the libertarian economic stand of property rights and free markets and identifying the areas of government interference that hinder or help economic growth. The essays have a good deal of flair and clarity traveling into democracy and growth in Eastern Germany, Hong Kong, Singapore and Peru, monetary and financial policy in England, Mexico, and Argentina, and fiscal and macreconomic policies in the US and Britain. The concluding discussions tackle privatization, tobacco regulation, ecology, and baseball. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or
Determinants of economic growth a cross-country empirical study by Robert J Barro ( )
48 editions published between 1996 and 2001 in English and held by 1,803 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Hundreds of empirical studies on economic growth across countries have highlighted the correlation between growth and a variety of variables. Determinants of Economic Growth, based on Robert Barro's Lionel Robbins Memorial Lectures, delivered at the London School of Economics in February 1996, summarizes this important literature
Nothing is sacred economic ideas for the new millennium by Robert J Barro ( Book )
17 editions published between 2002 and 2003 in English and held by 1,387 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The book opens with a series of essays on famous economists, past and present, and other prominent figures whose work has economic implications, including Joe DiMaggio and Bono. In the book's second part, Barro discusses the economics of social issues. In the third part, he considers democracy, growth, and international policy, and in the final part he examines fiscal policy, monetary policy, and the macroeconomy. Throughout, he shows that even the most widely held beliefs are not sacred truths but are open to analysis
Money employment and inflation by Robert J Barro ( Book )
28 editions published between 1975 and 2008 in English and held by 895 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This is a textbook on macroeconomic theory that attempts to rework the theory of macroeconomic relations through a re-examination of their microeconomic foundations. In the tradition of Keynes's General Theory of Employment, Interest and Money (published in 1936), and Patinkin's Money, Interest, and Prices, published in 1956 and revised in 1965, this book represents a third generation of macroeconomic theory. This book presents a comprehensive choice-theoretic analysis of the determination of the level of employment and the rate of inflation
Modern business cycle theory by Robert J Barro ( Book )
16 editions published in 1989 in English and Undetermined and held by 778 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Federal tax reform : myths and realities by Michael J Boskin ( Book )
4 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 706 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Money, expectations, and business cycles : essays in macroeconomics by Robert J Barro ( Book )
14 editions published between 1981 and 2008 in English and held by 675 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Macroeconomic policy by Robert J Barro ( Book )
9 editions published in 1990 in English and Undetermined and held by 591 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Black Monday and the future of financial markets ( Book )
6 editions published between 1988 and 1989 in English and held by 569 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The impact of social security on private saving : evidence from the U.S. time series by Robert J Barro ( Book )
9 editions published between 1978 and 1992 in English and held by 482 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Education in the twenty-first century ( Book )
6 editions published in 2002 in English and held by 360 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In this book, a range of Hoover Institution scholars offer evidence, insights, and ideas on the key policy questions affecting education. The contributors detail the importance of education to both the individual and society as a whole, shedding light on what education does, on various ways to structure education, on lessons that can be learned from the past, and on how much can be accomplished in the future
Costs and benefits of economic integration in Asia ( Book )
14 editions published between 2010 and 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 273 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
After financial disaster, the world's economy is changing drastically, and Asia will play a pivotal role in how these changes occur. This is an essential reference on the controversy and consensus on economic integration, and how it will influence individual Asian countries, the region as a whole, and the world, for decades to come
European macroeconomics by Robert J Barro ( Book )
12 editions published between 1994 and 2007 in English and held by 252 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This macroeconomics text is written from a European perspective and adopts an open-economy approach. The authors cover the main macroeconomic theories and policy in relation to the components of the macroeconomic environment including the household and the monetary system
Technological diffusion, convergence, and growth by Robert J Barro ( Book )
21 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 125 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Abstract: We construct a model that combines elements of endogenous growth with the convergence implications of the neoclassical growth model. In the long run, the world growth rate is driven by discoveries in the technologically leading economies. Followers converge toward the leaders because copying is cheaper than innovation over some range. A tendency for copying costs to increase reduces followers' growth rate and thereby generates a pattern of conditional convergence. We discuss how countries are selected to be technological leaders, and we assess welfare implications. Poorly defined intellectual property rights imply that leaders have insufficient incentive to invent and followers have excessive incentive to copy
Makroökonomie by Robert J Barro ( Book )
22 editions published between 1986 and 1992 in German and Undetermined and held by 118 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
La macroeconomie by Robert J Barro ( Book )
2 editions published in 1987 in French and held by 110 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Les facteurs de la croissance économique : une analyse transversale par pays by Robert J Barro ( Book )
3 editions published in 2000 in French and held by 108 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Capital mobility in neoclassical models of growth by Robert J Barro ( Book )
26 editions published between 1992 and 1995 in English and Spanish and held by 103 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The empirical evidence reveals conditional convergence in the sense that economies grow faster per capita if they start further below their steady-state positions. For a homogeneous group of economies - like the U.S. states, regions of western European countries, and the GECD countries - the convergence is unconditional in that the poor economies grow faster than the rich ones. The neoclassical growth model for a closed economy fits these facts if capital is viewed broadly to encompass human investments, so that diminishing returns to capital set in slowly, and if differences in government policies or preferences about saving lead to heterogeneity in steady-state positions. Yet if the model is opened to allow for full capital mobility, then the predicted rates of convergence for capital and output are much higher than those observed empirically. We show that the open-economy model conforms with the evidence if an economy can use foreign debt to finance only a portion of its capital, even if 50% or more of the total. The problems in using human capital as collateral can explain the required imperfection in the credit market
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.51 (from 0.33 for Makroökon ... to 1.00 for Robert E. ...)
Alternative Names
Barro, R. J.
Barro, R. J. 1944-
Barro, R. J. (Robert J.)
Barro, R. J. (Robert Joseph), 1944-
Barro, Robert.
Barro, Robert 1944-
Barro, Robert J.
Barro, Robert J. 1944-
Barro, Robert J. (Robert Joseph), 1944-
Barro, Robert Joseph.
Barro, Robert Joseph 1944-
バロー, R. J
バロー, ロバート・J
Languages
English (391)
German (20)
French (5)
Spanish (2)
Danish (1)
Covers