WorldCat Identities

MacDonald, Philip

Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Philip MacDonald
 
Most widely held works by Philip MacDonald
Rebecca by Alfred Hitchcock( Visual )

41 editions published between 1940 and 2018 in English and French and held by 1,902 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A shy, young bride is neglected by her morose husband, who seems to be still obsessed with his deceased first wife
The list of Adrian Messenger by Philip MacDonald( Book )

26 editions published between 1959 and 1998 in 3 languages and held by 548 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Désastre aérien sur l'Atlantique, tous les passagers ont disparu ... Tous? Non, il y aurait des survivants ... S'agit-il réellement d'un accident? Un classiqueadapté au cinéma par John Huston, avec Kirk Douglas dans le rôle d'Anthony Gethryn
I walked with a zombie by Jacques Tourneur( Visual )

10 editions published between 2005 and 2013 in English and held by 478 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Robert Louis Stevenson's The body snatcher: A surgeon pays an unscrupulous body snatcher to deliver fresh cadavers to him
Sahara by Zoltan Korda( Visual )

15 editions published between 1943 and 2016 in 5 languages and held by 475 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

One of the best war films of its time, the tale follows a stranded group of six Allied soldiers, plus an Italian and a Nazi prisoner of war, as they trek across the desert in Bogart's tank in search of a legendary well at an abandoned fort. They find the fort, but the well's run dry, and a German battalion is headed their way
Charlie Chan in Paris( Visual )

4 editions published between 1989 and 2006 in English and held by 421 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Charlie is on the trail of forged bank bonds but soon encounters murder. There are no lack of suspects, as the trail leads through Paris streets and sewers
The rasp by Philip MacDonald( Book )

51 editions published between 1920 and 2015 in English and French and held by 366 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Debut of celebrated detective, Colonel Anthony Gethryn. Brutal murder enmeshes sleuth in dark tale of revenge. Superb suspense, shocking denouement
Charlie Chan in London( Visual )

3 editions published between 1935 and 2006 in English and Undetermined and held by 355 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"To investigate a young woman's claim that her brother has been framed for murder, Chan invites himself to a stately English manor, where guests gathering for a fox hunt unwittingly harbor the real killer!"--Container
Triple jeopardy : three novels by Philip MacDonald( Book )

7 editions published between 1938 and 1962 in English and held by 348 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Rebecca( Visual )

3 editions published in 2017 in English and held by 321 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A young woman who believes she has found her heart's desire when she marries the dashing aristocratic widower Maxim de Winter. But upon moving to Manderley, her groom's baroque ancestral mansion, she soon learns that his deceased wife's memory haunts not only the home but the temperamental, brooding Maxim as well
Three for midnight by Philip MacDonald( Book )

4 editions published between 1930 and 1965 in English and held by 300 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

For contents, see Author Catalog
Carole Lombard : the glamour collection( Visual )

1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 241 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

(Man of the world) A young American girl visits Paris accompanied by her fiancee and her wealthy uncle. (We're not dressing) Beautiful high society type Doris Worthington is entertaining guests on her yacht in the Pacific when it hits a reef and sinks. (Hands across the table) A loafer and a manicurist, both planning to marry money, meet and form an uneasy alliance. (Love before breakfast) Kay bounces between boyfriend Bill and a Wall Street tycoon who thinks he knows what's best for her and bosses her around. (The princess comes across) A woman pretends to be royalty in order to get aboard a crusie ship. (True confession) Helen and Ken are a pretty strange couple, she is a pathological liar, and he is a scrupulously honest lawyer
Mysterious Mr. Moto( Visual )

2 editions published in 2006 in English and held by 189 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"After orchestrating a daring escape from the infamous Devil's Island prison, an undercover Mr. Moto flees with his cellmate--a ruthless murderer--to London. Determined to infiltrate the killer's gang of assassins and discover the identity of its leader. Mr. Moto must use all of hs wits--and disguises--to trap a criminal mastermind and destroy his evil organization--before he strikes again!"
Death and chicanery, a collection of tales by Philip MacDonald( Book )

8 editions published between 1962 and 1964 in English and Undetermined and held by 176 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Patrol by Philip MacDonald( Book )

27 editions published between 1927 and 2016 in 4 languages and held by 142 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The novel that inspired John Ford's The Lost Patrol: A band of World War I soldiers fights to survive in the desert after their leader is shot and killed. There had been, here, eleven men. Now ten rode away ... In the Mesopotamian desert during the First World War, an unseen enemy guns down the leader of a British parol. The officer was the only one who knew their orders, and he did not told anyone else where they are located. Now the sergeant must lead his men through a hostile desert landscape full of invisible Arab snipers. One by one, they are being picked off, and the group of diverse men with different backgrounds must try to come together in order to survive. The decision-making process proves far from easy as tensions and prejudices from their former lives come to a head. The basis for films by Walter Summer and John Ford, this bestselling novel is a suspenseful tale of the Great War for readers of Robert Graves or Ford Madox Ford-or anyone who enjoys an action-packed war story. Author Philip MacDonald, who served in Mesopotamia with the British cavalry, went on to become one of the most popular writers of thrillers and detective fiction
Mr. Moto takes a vacation( Visual )

1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 125 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Mr. Moto heads to Egypt to thwart a criminal mastermind determined to steal the priceless crown of the Queen of Sheba
The noose by Philip MacDonald( Book )

23 editions published between 1930 and 2016 in English and held by 118 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gentleman detective Anthony Gethryn is in a race against time to save an innocent man from the hangman's noose. Colonel Anthony Gethryn is recalled from a holiday in Spain to solve a murder in the November fogs of London. He finds that his wife is sheltering Mrs Bronson, whose husband is in prison awaiting execution for the murder of a gamekeeper six months before. A petition for reprieve has been rejected and Bronson will shortly hang for someone else's crime. Convinced by Mrs Bronson of her husband's innocence, Gethryn embarks on a seemingly hopeless race against time to overthrow the guilty verdict and find the real murderer - and he has only five days before Bronson's date with the hangman's noose. The Noose saw the return of Philip MacDonald's gentleman detective Anthony Ruthven Gethryn, whose debut in The Rasp six years earlier had been a big success. Judged to be his best book yet, The Noose had the distinction of being chosen as the first book to be published in Collins' Crime Club in May 1930, helping to immortalise it as one of the seminal books of the crime genre. This Detective Story Club classic includes an introduction by H.R.F. Keating, which first appeared in the Crime Club's 1985 'Disappearing Detectives' series
Mr. Moto's last warning( Visual )

1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 109 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The world teeters on the brink of war when a nefarious band of foreign saboteurs hatches a devastating plot to blow up the French fleet and blame it on the British. Mr. Moto sets out to trap the conspirators, only to find himself captured instead
Murder gone mad by Philip MacDonald( Book )

26 editions published between 1931 and 2017 in 3 languages and held by 109 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The first Golden Age detective novel to feature a serial killer with no rational motive - and surely impossible for Scotland Yard to solve? A long knife with a brilliant but perverted brain directing it is terrorising Holmdale - innocent people are being done to death under the very eyes of the law. After every murder a business-like letter arrives announcing that another 'removal has been carried out', and Inspector Pike of Scotland Yard has nothing to go on but the evidence of the bodies themselves and the butcher's own bravado. With clear thinking impossible in the face of such a breathless killing spree, the police make painfully slow progress: but how do you find a maniac who has no rational motive? Philip MacDonald had shown himself in The Noose and The Rasp to be a master of the detective novel. In Murder Gone Mad he raised the stakes with the first Golden Age crime novel to feature a motiveless serial killer prompted only by blood lust - inspired by the real-life case in 1929 of the Dusseldorf Monster - and this time without the familiar Anthony Gethryn on hand to reassure the reader. This Detective Story Club classic is introduced by L. C. Tyler, Chair of the Crime Writers Association and author of the award-winning 'Elsie and Ethelred' crime novels and the John Grey historical mysteries
Mr. Moto's last warning( Visual )

14 editions published between 1939 and 2014 in English and held by 97 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The great Japanese detective finds himself up to his neck in murder--and clues--and has to handle a seemingly endless crew of dangerous suspects
Strangers in the night( Visual )

2 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 93 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A Marine sergeant stationed overseas falls in love with a woman only through correspondence. On the train back home, he meets a beautiful young doctor who's starting a new practice in the same small town. Once in town, he finds his pen pal's place of residence, but to his surprise he only finds the girl's mother living at the old mansion with her servant - the old woman informs him that her daughter has gone away and will return shortly, but asks him to stay at the mansion until her return
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.30 (from 0.23 for Rebecca / ... to 0.71 for The noose ...)

Carole Lombard : the glamour collection
Covers
The raspCarole Lombard : the glamour collection
Alternative Names

controlled identityFleming, Oliver

controlled identityLawless, Anthony

controlled identityPorlock, Martin

controlled identityStuart, W. J.

controlled identityStuart, Warren

Fleming, Oliver.

Fleming Oliver 1899-1980

Lawless, Anthony.

Lawless Anthony 1899-1980

Mac Donald, Philip.

Mac Donald Philip 1899-1980

MacDonald, F.

Macdonald, Filip.

Mc Donald Philip 1899-1980

McDonald Philip 1899-1980

Philip MacDonald britischer Schriftsteller

Philip MacDonald britisk skribent

Philip MacDonald Brits schrijver (1900-1980)

Philip MacDonald brittisk författare

Philip MacDonald écrivain britannique

Philip MacDonald escritor británico

Philip MacDonald scrittore britannico

Philip MacDonald Suurbritannia kirjanik

Porlock, Martin.

Porlock Martin 1899-1980

Φίλιπ ΜακΝτόναλντ

Филип Макдоналд

Филип Макдональд

פיליפ מקדונלד סופר בריטי

فیلیپ مک‌دونالد نویسنده بریتانیایی

フィリップ・マクドナルド

Languages