WorldCat Identities

Howard, Robert E. (Robert Ervin) 1906-1936

Overview
Works: 1,697 works in 3,585 publications in 18 languages and 31,461 library holdings
Genres: Drama  Action and adventure films  Fiction  Fantasy films  Film adaptations  Fantasy fiction  Comic books, strips, etc  Science fiction films  Fantasy fiction, American  Graphic novels 
Roles: Author, Bibliographic antecedent, Creator, Other, Conceptor, Adapter, Contributor, Editor, Originator, Scenarist, Director, Correspondent
Classifications: PS3515.O842, 813.52
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Robert E Howard
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Robert E Howard
Conan the barbarian by Oliver Stone( Visual )

18 editions published between 1981 and 2011 in English and Italian and held by 663 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Barbaar Conan wil wraak nemen op de wrede man die zijn ouders en stamgenoten vermoordde
The coming of Conan the Cimmerian by Robert E Howard( Book )

22 editions published between 2001 and 2015 in 3 languages and held by 557 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Includes thirteen stories in the order that they were originally written. Conan the pirate, the swordsman, the army commander, and the thief are all here along with a map of the Hyborian World, drawn by Howard himself. Also included are other synopsis and story fragments (many that were completed by others), a poem, and notes on the original texts
The riot at Bucksnort and other Western tales by Robert E Howard( )

3 editions published in 2005 in English and held by 449 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The sixteen tales collected here are some of the best of Robert E. Howard's stories, featuring Breckinridge Elkins, Pike Bearfield, and Buckner J. Grimes-three inimitable characters who lead well-intentioned lives of perpetual confusion, mischance, and outright catastrophe. Fifteen of the stories were published between 1934 and 1937 in Action Stories, Argosy, or Cowboy Stories; the other remained unpublished for more than thirty years. Many of these stories were rewritten for book publication and have never been reprinted in their original form. They are reminiscent of traditional southwestern tall tales, told in dialect, featuring larger-than-life characters, swift action, broad satire, and wry humor
Solomon Kane by Michael J Bassett( Visual )

32 editions published between 2009 and 2013 in 6 languages and held by 435 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Engeland, rond 1600. Huurling Solomon Kane heeft het geweld afgezworen, maar noodgedwongen moet hij vechten tegen kwade krachten
The hour of the dragon : Conan by Robert E Howard( )

30 editions published between 1977 and 2018 in English and held by 374 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This is the only novel by Howard featuring his Conan character. It was originally published as a serial in "Weird tales" from Dec. 1935 to April 1936. This edition is volume 1 of the authorized edition featuring a collection of Conan novellas and short stories
Conan the barbarian by Robert E Howard( Book )

21 editions published between 1954 and 2018 in English and held by 370 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Presents a collection of six stories featuring the barbarian hero that follow him from his mercenary youth through his exploits as a mighty warrior
The bloody crown of Conan by Robert E Howard( Book )

7 editions published between 2003 and 2012 in English and Polish and held by 370 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Presents three of the author's Conan stories, "The people of the black circle," "The hour of the dragon," and "A witch shall be born," together with his notes, outlines, and drafts on other Conan writings
The end of the trail : western stories by Robert E Howard( Book )

5 editions published in 2005 in English and held by 367 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The horror stories of Robert E. Howard by Robert E Howard( Book )

7 editions published between 2008 and 2015 in English and held by 356 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Here are Howard's greatest horror tales, all in thier original, definitive versions. Some of Howard's best-known characters--Solomon Kane, Bran Mak Morn, and sailor Steve Costigan among them--roam the forbidding locales of the author's fevered imagination, from the swamps and bayous of the Deep South to the fiend-haunted woods outside Paris to remote jungles in Africa"--Page 4 of cover
Conan, the people of the black circle by Robert E Howard( Book )

24 editions published between 1974 and 2018 in 3 languages and held by 327 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Conan the Cimmerian: her rose from boy-thief and mercenary to become king of Aquilonia. Neither supernatural fiends nor demonic sorcery could oppose the barbarian warrior as he wielded his mighty sword and dispatched his enemies to a bloody doom on the battlefields of the legendary Hyborian Age
The savage tales of Solomon Kane by Robert E Howard( Book )

35 editions published between 1968 and 2017 in 6 languages and held by 323 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A complete collection of tales featuring the grim swordsman follows his adventures in such strange locales as a primordial city of haunted ruins and necromancy
Conan by Robert E Howard( Book )

60 editions published between 1967 and 2017 in 11 languages and held by 322 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Roman de fantasy
The conquering sword of Conan by Robert E Howard( Book )

6 editions published between 2005 and 2016 in 3 languages and held by 309 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

" ... includes never-before-published outlines, notes, and story drafts, plus a new introduction, personal correspondence, and the revealing essay "Hyborian Genesis" which chronicles the history of the creation of the Conan series."
Conan and the jewels of Gwahlur by P. Craig Russell( Book )

7 editions published between 2005 and 2006 in English and Spanish and held by 308 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A young woman, having made a string of bad choices, finds herself the pawn of mercenaries - one of which is Conan of Cimmeria. As the former dancing girl poses as the dead oracle of a primitive cult, Conan puts his experience as a thief and a soldier together in pursuit of some of the most prized jewels in the world - the Teeth of Gwahlur
Conan the conqueror by Robert E Howard( Book )

42 editions published between 1950 and 2018 in 4 languages and held by 307 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Huitième (1935) de cette histoire épique en douze volumes, ce roman est le seul qui peut se lire séparément
Lord of Samarcand and other adventure tales of the old Orient by Robert E Howard( )

6 editions published between 2005 and 2018 in English and held by 264 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Conan by Kurt Busiek( Book )

6 editions published in 2005 in English and held by 264 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"When the internationally famous barbarian hero returned to comics, with an all-new fresh start by award-winning writer Kurt Busiek (JLA/Avengers, Astro City) and dynamic artists Cary Nord, Thomas Yeates, and Dave Stewart, the result was instant sell-outs and multiple printings to keep up with the demand. Now Conan's earliest adventures are collected in a handsome 192-page collection. Catch all the action and savagery as he wars with the murderous Vanir, meets the Frost Giant's Daughter, and is taken as a slave by the ancient sorcerers of Hyperborea! This top-selling new series faithfully expands on original author Robert E. Howard's literary creation. Collecting issues #0-#6 and fourteen pages from issue #7 of the ongoing series."--Publisher's website
The black stranger and other American tales by Robert E Howard( Book )

4 editions published in 2005 in English and held by 259 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Conan, the complete quest( Visual )

1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 234 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Conan the destroyer: Conan is asked by the evil Queen Taramis to accompany a beautiful young princess to find a magic treasure. If he returns with the treasure and the virgin, the Queen promises to bring Conan's beloved Valeria back from the dead. But little does he know that she plans to kill both him and the princess, or that the return of the treasure will mean the extinction of mankind
Almuric by Robert E Howard( Book )

41 editions published between 1964 and 2018 in 8 languages and held by 233 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Graphic Novel. The creator of "Conan" looks to the stars in one of fantasy's most enduring science fantasy classics! Robert E. Howard's Almuric is a savage planet of crumbling stone ruins and debased, near-human inhabitants. Into this world comes Esau Cairn, Earthman, swordsman, murderer. Only he can overthrow the terrible devils that enslave Almuric, but to do so he must first defeat the inner demons that forced him to abandon Earth. Filled with vile beasts and thrilling adventure in the tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs, "Almuric" is one of Howard's few novels, and an excellent yarn from one of America's most distinct literary voices
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.29 (from 0.07 for Robert E. ... to 0.64 for Blond barb ...)

WorldCat IdentitiesRelated Identities
Conan the barbarian
Covers
The coming of Conan the CimmerianThe riot at Bucksnort and other Western talesThe hour of the dragon : ConanConan the barbarianThe bloody crown of ConanThe end of the trail : western storiesThe horror stories of Robert E. HowardThe savage tales of Solomon Kane
Alternative Names
Govard , Robert

Govard, Robert 1906-1936

Howard , R. E.

Howard R. E. 1906-1936

Howard, Robert

Howard Robert 1906-1936

Howard, Robert E.

Howard Robert E. 1906-1936

Howard, Robert E. (Robert Ervin)

Howard, Robert E. (Robert Ervin),‏ 1906-1936

Howard, Robert Ervin.

Howard, Robert Ervin 1906-1936

Howard , Robert Erwin

Howard, Robert Erwin 1906-1936

Mac Conaire, Patrick

Mac Conaire Patrick 1906-1936

MacConaire, Patrick, 1906-1936

Mc Conaire, Patrick, 1906-1936

McConaire, Patrick, 1906-1936

Robert E. Hauard

Robert E. Howard

Robert E. Howard American author

Robert E. Howard Amerikaans schrijver

Robert E. Howard amerikansk författare

Robert E. Howard amerikansk skribent

Robert E. Howard amerykański pisarz

Robert E. Howard écrivain américain

Robert E. Howard escritor estadounidense

Robert E. Howard US-amerikanischer Fantasy-Schriftsteller

Robert Ervin Howard

Robert Ervin Howard scrittore statunitense

Robert İrvin Hovard

Robertus Ervinus Howard scriptor Americanus

Taverel, John

Taverel John 1906-1936

Ρόμπερτ Ε. Χάουαρντ

Говард Р. И. 1906-1936

Говард, Р. (Роберт Ирвин), 1906-1936

Говард Р. Э. 1906-1936

Говард, Роберт Эрвин

Роберт Говард

Роберт Е. Хауард

Роберт Ирвин Говард

Робърт Хауърд

Ховард Р. 1900-1936

Ռոբերտ Իրվին Հովարդ

רוברט אי. הווארד

رابرت هاوارد نویسنده آمریکایی

روبرت هوارد مؤلف أمريكي

ராபர்ட் ஈ. ஓவார்ட்

로버트 하워드

하워드, 로버트 E. 1906-1936

하워드, 로버트 어빈 1906-1936

ハワード, R.E.

ハワード, ロバート・E

ロバート・E・ハワード

ロバート・E・ハワード 1906-1936

罗伯特·欧文·霍华德

Languages