WorldCat Identities

Ammons, A. R. 1926-2001

Overview
Works: 444 works in 744 publications in 2 languages and 28,385 library holdings
Genres: Interviews  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Poetry  Records and correspondence 
Roles: Former owner, Editor, Signer, Author of introduction, Lyricist, Other
Classifications: PS3501.M6, 811.54
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  A. R Ammons Publications about A. R Ammons
Publications by  A. R Ammons Publications by A. R Ammons
posthumous Publications by A. R Ammons, published posthumously.
Most widely held works about A. R Ammons
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by A. R Ammons
Collected poems, 1951-1971 by A. R Ammons ( Book )
9 editions published between 1972 and 2001 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,579 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A reissue of a body of work spanning two decades from one of our most treasured poets
Selected poems by A. R Ammons ( Book )
21 editions published between 1955 and 2006 in English and held by 1,541 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A.R. Ammons's new selection of his work once again, as the critic Harold Bloom wrote of the earlier edition, 'makes available the very best of him.' To the 'visions of clarity and terror' in that volume the poet now adds the most important poems from his three books published since. The resulting collection is the essential starting place for new readers, the quarry for those familiar with his work. Among the new poems is 'Easter Morning.' which the critic Helen Vendler called 'a classic poem, a revelation
Garbage by A. R Ammons ( Book )
15 editions published between 1993 and 2002 in English and held by 1,065 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
He asks what place poetry and language might have in this vast system and finds startling correspondences: "our language is something to write home about; / but it is not the world: grooming does for / baboons most of what words do for us." Never has the dreadful sundry of this world inspired such beauties of thought and expression. Already the subject of intense discussion following its partial publication in American Poetry Review, Garbage is A. R. Ammons's finest long poem since Tape for the Turn of the Year (1965). (Both poems were composed on adding machine tape.) It reaffirms the estimate of his work delivered on the presentation of the National Book Critics Circle Award in Poetry for 1981 for Lake Country Effect, that he "stands in the tradition of Wordsworth, Emerson, and Whitman," creating poetry "remarkable for its radiant density of argument and feeling."
The snow poems by A. R Ammons ( Book )
6 editions published in 1977 in English and Undetermined and held by 988 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Corsons Inlet : a book of poems by A. R Ammons ( Book )
9 editions published between 1965 and 1967 in English and held by 860 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Sphere : the form of a motion by A. R Ammons ( Book )
12 editions published between 1974 and 1998 in English and Undetermined and held by 842 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Briefings : poems small and easy by A. R Ammons ( Book )
4 editions published in 1971 in English and Undetermined and held by 805 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The selected poems, 1951-1977 by A. R Ammons ( Book )
5 editions published in 1977 in English and held by 798 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A collection of short poems written by A.R. Ammons between 1951 and 1977
A coast of trees : poems by A. R Ammons ( Book )
10 editions published between 1977 and 2003 in English and Undetermined and held by 798 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Brink road : poems by A. R Ammons ( Book )
11 editions published between 1996 and 1998 in English and held by 758 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
With characteristic economy, A. R. Ammons writes that "Brink Road lies off NY 96 between Candor and Catatonk." This upstate stretch of road provides the title for his new collection, its very name suggesting the sense, found in many of these poems, that we are ever in transition from one state of mind or feeling to another, and always on the edge of revelation. The more than 150 poems in Brink Road date from 1973 to the present and none has previously appeared in book form. They deal with Ammons's lifelong concerns with language, mortality, and the beauties and impersonal forces underlying the natural world with the elegance, wit, and ruminative gravity that are his signature qualities as a poet. The concluding work, "Summer Place," is a long poem that demonstrates his mastery of this form as it unfolds the quotidian events of the poet's summer vacation
The best of the best American poetry ( Book )
1 edition published in 2013 in English and held by 735 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
100 poems selected by Robert Pinsky that represent each volume in The best American poetry series
Diversifications : poems by A. R Ammons ( Book )
7 editions published in 1975 in English and Undetermined and held by 705 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Worldly hopes : poems by A. R Ammons ( Book )
11 editions published between 1982 and 2001 in English and held by 694 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Lake effect country : poems by A. R Ammons ( Book )
6 editions published between 1982 and 1983 in English and held by 607 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Uplands : new poems by A. R Ammons ( Book )
7 editions published in 1970 in English and held by 606 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The really short poems of A.R. Ammons by A. R Ammons ( Book )
15 editions published between 1990 and 1998 in English and held by 600 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Filled with sharp irony and passionate insight, the more than 100 poems in this collection span the career of one of the deans of contemporary poetry. Ammons makes you laugh and forces you to think. ... New readers of poetry as well as those with an active interest in lyric verse will love this volume.-Booklist
Glare by A. R Ammons ( Book )
14 editions published between 1997 and 1998 in English and Undetermined and held by 598 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"I reject the North because it is not / my native ground, and I reject the / South because it rejected me, and I / reject European clutterment because / we fought to put that ocean between / us. I identify with no sort or kind: / I am by myself."
Northfield poems by A. R Ammons ( Book )
10 editions published between 1966 and 1967 in English and Undetermined and held by 585 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Bosh and flapdoodle : poems by A. R Ammons ( Book )
5 editions published between 2005 and 2007 in English and held by 583 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A collection of poems written by A.R. Ammons over a six-week period in 1996 that explore age, illness, and death
Sumerian vistas : poems by A. R Ammons ( Book )
10 editions published between 1987 and 1998 in English and held by 518 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.39 (from 0.20 for The best o ... to 0.95 for A.R. Ammon ...)
Alternative Names
Ammons, A. R.
Ammons, A. R. 1926-2001
Ammons, Archie Randolph.
Ammons, Archie Randolph 1926-2001
Languages
English (246)
German (2)
Covers