WorldCat Identities

Hoffman, Paul 1956-

Overview
Works: 78 works in 212 publications in 3 languages and 7,680 library holdings
Genres: Biography  Fiction  Interviews  Fantasy fiction  Directories  Film adaptations  Humor  Juvenile works  History  Dictionaries 
Roles: Speaker, Narrator, Editor
Classifications: QA29.E68, B
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Paul Hoffman Publications about Paul Hoffman
Publications by  Paul Hoffman Publications by Paul Hoffman
Most widely held works about Paul Hoffman
 
Most widely held works by Paul Hoffman
The man who loved only numbers : the story of Paul Erdos and the search for mathematical truth by Paul Hoffman ( Book )
21 editions published between 1998 and 1999 in English and held by 1,904 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"Paul Erdos, the most prolific and eccentric mathematician of our time, forsook all creature comforts - including a hometo pursue his lifelong study of numbers. He was a man who possessed unimaginable powers of thought yet was unable to manage some of the simplest daily tasks." "For more than six decades, Erdos lived out of two tattered suitcases, crisscrossing four continents at a frenzied pace, chasing mathematical problems and fresh talent. Erdos saw mathematics as a search for lasting beauty and ultimate truth. It was a search Erdos never abandoned, even as his life was torn asunder by some of the major political dramas of our time." "In this biography, Hoffman uses Erdos's life and work to introduce readers to a cast of remarkable geniuses, from Archimedes to Stanislaw Ulam, one of the chief minds behind the Los Alamos nuclear project. He draws on years of interviews with Ronald Graham and Fan Chung, Erdos's chief American caretakers and devoted collaborators. With an eye for the hilarious anecdote, Hoffman explains mathematical problems from Fermat's Last Theorem to the more frivolous "Monty Hall dilemma." What emerges is an intimate look at the world of mathematics and an indelible portrait of Erdos, a charming and impish philosopher-scientist whose accomplishments continue to enrich and inform our world."--BOOK JACKET
Archimedes' revenge : the joys and perils of mathematics by Paul Hoffman ( Book )
23 editions published between 1988 and 1998 in English and held by 1,502 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This is a popular introduction to mathematics and its everyday applications
Wings of madness : Alberto Santos-Dumont and the invention of flight by Paul Hoffman ( Book )
8 editions published between 2003 and 2004 in English and held by 698 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Biography of the young Brazilian who moved to Paris where he experimented with flight until Europeans came to call him the man who conquered air
The last four things by Paul Hoffman ( Book )
8 editions published between 2011 and 2012 in English and held by 317 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Een jongeman krijgt te horen dat de mensheid vernietigd wordt en dat hij, naast de 'laatste vier dingen', hierin een rol zal spelen
American museum guides ( Book )
6 editions published in 1983 in English and held by 305 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The left hand of God by Paul Hoffman ( Book )
10 editions published between 2010 and 2011 in English and held by 292 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The Sanctuary of the Redeemers is a place where children endure brutal cruelty and violence in the name of the One True Faith. Lost in the Sanctuary's huge maze of corridors is a boy. He is strange witty and charming, and violent. But when he opens the wrong door at the wrong time he witnesses an act so horrible he must flee, or die
Evolution ( Visual )
6 editions published between 1995 and 1996 in English and held by 190 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
What does it really mean to be human? How much of our behavior is programmed into our genes? Why do we do stupid things such as waging war and destroying our environment? No scientist has thought longer and harder about these issues that Dr. Jared Diamond. He is able to offer startling insights about who we humans really are, and what awaits us down the evolutionary road
Viruses ( Visual )
5 editions published between 1995 and 1996 in English and held by 170 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Dr. Robert C. Gallo's conversation with Paul Hoffman, the editor-in-chief of Discover Magazine. Dr. Earle has spent his life at the National Institutes for Health deciphering the puzzles of human viruses. Gallo's work with viruses fueled his interest in AIDS and led to his co-discovery of the HIV virus in 1984
Astronomy ( Visual )
5 editions published between 1995 and 1996 in English and held by 166 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
We have been beguiled by the heavens above, seeking to divine the meanings in the stars and planets overhead. Where did it all begin? Where will it end? How were the stars formed? Is there anybody else out there, or are we alone? One of the leading astronomers studying those questions is Dr. Sallie Baliunas
Oceanography ( Visual )
4 editions published between 1995 and 1996 in English and held by 165 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In the thousands of hours Sylvia Earle has spent under water, she has come to understand the vital role that plants and animals play in sustaining the ocean's ecosystem--and the necessity of healthy oceans for our own survival
The golden age of censorship : a novel by Paul Hoffman ( Book )
6 editions published between 2007 and 2008 in English and held by 152 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Paul Hoffman, a former senior censor at the British Board of Film Classification, has written a compelling and captivating novel that challenges our ideas about censorship, prejudice and the fine line between art and exploitation
Artificial intelligence ( Visual )
4 editions published between 1995 and 1997 in English and held by 139 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Dr. Minsky has become known as the father of artificial intelligence. He has labored long and hard to design and develop thinking machines. In doing so, he has sought to fathom how that intricate piece of machinery and genius, the human brain, actually works
De linkerhand van God by Paul Hoffman ( Book )
1 edition published in 2010 in Dutch and held by 113 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Thomas Cale (14) is opgegroeid bij een strenge kloosterorde. Hij ontdekt een afschuwelijk mysterie, ontsnapt en klimt in de hem onbekende buitenwereld op tot een zeer belangrijke positie. Vanaf ca. 15 jaar
Paleontology ( Visual )
3 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 99 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Originally dinosaurs were depicted as stupid, lumbering, cold-blooded beasts doomed to extinction. A new look at dinosaurs suggests that they were warm-blooded, fleet-footed creatures. Much of this revolutionary thinking comes from the work of Dr. Bob Bakker who has been shaking up the crusty world of paleontology since 1968
Paul Erdös : 1913-1996 : l'homme qui n'aimait que les nombres by Paul Hoffman ( Book )
3 editions published in 2000 in French and held by 74 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Advanced law firm mismanagement : from the offices of Fairweather, Winters & Sommers by Arnold B Kanter ( )
1 edition published in 1993 in English and held by 69 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
With humor in the tradition of Robert Benchley and S.J. Perelman, this book reveals the absurdities of life in a law firm. Through memos, speeches, and committee meetings, the mythically inept firm of Fairweather, Winters & Sommers is described. The firm's founder, Stanley Fairweather, recalls the good and not-so-good old days and looks ahead with a bit of trepidation at where the profession is going. Lawyers are seen through the eyes of the firm's non-lawyers, secretaries, paralegals, the computer tech
Dictionary shmictionary! : a Yiddish and Yinglish dictionary by Paul Hoffman ( Book )
2 editions published in 1983 in English and held by 67 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Great minds of science ( Recording )
3 editions published between 1999 and 2011 in English and held by 56 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
From astronomy to viruses, you'll find their narratives full of genius, personal insight and enlightenment. A tribute to mankind's ingenuity and boundless curiosity
Dinosaurs those big boneheads by Bill Nye ( Visual )
4 editions published between 1995 and 1997 in English and held by 56 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Originally dinosaurs were depicted as stupid, lumbering, cold-blooded beasts doomed to extinction. A new look at dinosaurs suggests that they were warm-blooded, fleet-footed creatures. Much of this revolutionary thinking comes from the work of Dr. Bob Bakker who has been shaking up the crusty world of paleontology since 1968
I'm right here, Fish-Cake by Jeffrey Shaffer ( )
1 edition published in 1995 in English and held by 54 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
With Thurberian prose, lots of twists and turns, and a wild but not quite woolly imagination, this collection of a Portland, Oregon, writer's humorous tales are fresh, funny, and sometimes a little sad
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.24 (from 0.08 for Dinosaurs ... to 0.59 for Paul Erdö ...)
Alternative Names

controlled identity Dr. Crypton, 1956-

Hoffman, Paul
Hoffman, Paul E.
Hoffman, Paullus
Hoffman, Paulus
Hoffmann, Paullus
Hoffmann, Paulus
Hopʻŭman, Pʻol, 1956-
ホフマン, ポール
Languages
English (125)
French (3)
Dutch (1)
Covers