WorldCat Identities

Hoffman, Paul 1956-

Overview
Works: 24 works in 80 publications in 9 languages and 2,493 library holdings
Genres: Biography  Film adaptations  Humor  Dictionaries 
Roles: Author, Editor
Classifications: QA29.E68, 510.92
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Paul Hoffman
 
Most widely held works by Paul Hoffman
The man who loved only numbers : the story of Paul Erdos and the search for mathematical truth by Paul Hoffman( Book )

34 editions published between 1998 and 2014 in English and Greek, Modern and held by 1,899 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Paul Erdos, the most prolific and eccentric mathematician of our time, forsook all creature comforts - including a hometo pursue his lifelong study of numbers. He was a man who possessed unimaginable powers of thought yet was unable to manage some of the simplest daily tasks." "For more than six decades, Erdos lived out of two tattered suitcases, crisscrossing four continents at a frenzied pace, chasing mathematical problems and fresh talent. Erdos saw mathematics as a search for lasting beauty and ultimate truth. It was a search Erdos never abandoned, even as his life was torn asunder by some of the major political dramas of our time." "In this biography, Hoffman uses Erdos's life and work to introduce readers to a cast of remarkable geniuses, from Archimedes to Stanislaw Ulam, one of the chief minds behind the Los Alamos nuclear project. He draws on years of interviews with Ronald Graham and Fan Chung, Erdos's chief American caretakers and devoted collaborators. With an eye for the hilarious anecdote, Hoffman explains mathematical problems from Fermat's Last Theorem to the more frivolous "Monty Hall dilemma." What emerges is an intimate look at the world of mathematics and an indelible portrait of Erdos, a charming and impish philosopher-scientist whose accomplishments continue to enrich and inform our world."--Jacket
Paul Erdös : 1913-1996 : l'homme qui n'aimait que les nombres by Paul Hoffman( Book )

3 editions published in 2000 in French and held by 76 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Dictionary shmictionary! : a Yiddish and Yinglish dictionary by Paul Hoffman( Book )

2 editions published in 1983 in English and held by 64 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

How many Zen Buddhists does it take to screw in a lightbulb? by Matt Freedman( Book )

1 edition published in 1980 in English and held by 35 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

N is a number a portrait of Paul Erdős by George Paul Csicsery( Visual )

7 editions published between 1993 and 2005 in English and held by 27 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A documentary filmed in England, Hungary, Poland and the United States over a period of four years presenting mathematician Paul Erdos's mathematical quest in its personal and philosophical dimensions, and the tragic historical events that molded his life
What do WASPs say after sex? by Matt Freedman( Book )

1 edition published in 1981 in English and held by 18 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

El hombre que sólo amaba los números : la historia de Paul Erdos y la búsqueda de la verdad matemática by Paul Hoffman( Book )

3 editions published in 2000 in Spanish and held by 14 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

What do wasps do instead of sex? by Matt Freedman( Book )

1 edition published in 1982 in English and held by 14 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Netscape Communicator 4 micro-référence pour les nuls by Paul Hoffman( Book )

3 editions published in 1997 in French and held by 10 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Secrecy and liberty : national security, freedom of expression, and access to information( Book )

3 editions published in 1999 in English and held by 10 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Introduction by Joan Fitzpatrick
Hōrō no tensai sūgakusha erudeshu by Paul Hoffman( Book )

4 editions published between 2000 and 2011 in Japanese and held by 8 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Pruf̈ung von geschwindlgkeitsmessern by Paul Hoffman( Book )

1 edition published in 1909 in German and held by 7 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

<> by Paul Hoffman( Book )

3 editions published between 2004 and 2005 in Thai and held by 7 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The man who loved only numbers : the odd story of Paul Erdos, mathematical monk, and the search for the truth by Paul Hoffman( Book )

1 edition published in 1998 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sūgaku no etsuraku to wana( Book )

1 edition published in 1994 in Japanese and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Shu zi qing zhong : Ai'erdeshi zhuan by Paul Hoffman( Book )

3 editions published in 2000 in Chinese and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ben shu chuan zhu xiong ya li shu xue jia ai mi de shen shi dang dai han jian de shu xue qi cai. ta zai 60 duo nian de shu xue sheng ya zhong, yu he zuo zhe men gong tong fa biao le 1475 pian gao shui ping de xue shu lun wen
LESIONS HISTOLOGIQUES DE LA MOELLE OSSEUSE AU COURS DU SYNDROME D'IMMUNODEFICIENCE ACQUISE by JEAN-CHARLES TAFANELLI( Book )

1 edition published in 1990 in French and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Yalnızca sayıları seven adam : Paul Erdös'ün hikayesi ve matematiksel hakikat arayışı by Paul Hoffman( Book )

1 edition published in 1999 in Turkish and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Advanced law firm mismanagement : from the offices of Fairweather, Winters & Sommers by Arnold B Kanter( )

1 edition published in 1993 in English and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

With humor in the tradition of Robert Benchley and S.J. Perelman, this book reveals the absurdities of life in a law firm. Through memos, speeches, and committee meetings, the mythically inept firm of Fairweather, Winters & Sommers is described. The firm's founder, Stanley Fairweather, recalls the good and not-so-good old days and looks ahead with a bit of trepidation at where the profession is going. Lawyers are seen through the eyes of the firm's non-lawyers, secretaries, paralegals, the computer tech
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.33 (from 0.11 for The man wh ... to 0.95 for LESIONS HI ...)

The man who loved only numbers : the story of Paul Erdos and the search for mathematical truth
Alternative Names

controlled identityDr. Crypton, 1956-

Hoffman, Paul E.

Hopʻŭman, Pʻol 1956-

Paul Hoffman scrittore, divulgatore scientifico e conduttore televisivo statunitense

پل هافمن

ホフマン, ポール

Languages
Covers
N is a number a portrait of Paul ErdősEl hombre que sólo amaba los números : la historia de Paul Erdos y la búsqueda de la verdad matemáticaSecrecy and liberty : national security, freedom of expression, and access to informationThe man who loved only numbers : the odd story of Paul Erdos, mathematical monk, and the search for the truth