WorldCat Identities

Johnston, Basil

Overview
Works: 60 works in 232 publications in 2 languages and 7,477 library holdings
Genres: Folklore  Biography  Pictorial works  Fiction  Juvenile works  Legends  Glossaries, vocabularies, etc 
Roles: Author, Author of screenplay
Classifications: E99.C6, 299.783
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Basil Johnston
 
Most widely held works by Basil Johnston
Ojibway heritage by Basil Johnston( Book )
53 editions published between 1976 and 2005 in 3 languages and held by 1,192 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Ojibway life, legends and beliefs
Hudson Bay Watershed a photographic memoir of the Ojibway, Cree, and Oji-Cree by John Macfie( )
7 editions published between 1991 and 2008 in English and held by 914 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
At the midpoint of the twentieth century, the First Nations people of Ontario's underdeveloped hinterland lived primarily from the land. They congregated in summer in defined communities but in early autumn dispersed to winter camps to hunt, fish, and trap. Increasingly, however, they found they had to adapt to a different way of life, one closer to the Canadian mainstream. While lifestyles and expectations were clearly changing, the native people's desire to maintain their rich and distinctive cultural traditions remained strong. John Macfie, then an employee with the Ontario Department of L
The Manitous : the spiritual world of the Ojibway by Basil Johnston( Book )
19 editions published between 1995 and 2001 in English and held by 825 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Manitous are mysteries and spirits - the essences - that infuse and safeguard plants and animals, including humans, in all aspects of life. The tales of the manitous are simple in narration and complex in spirit, rich with incident and detail, and attempt to explain the mysterious ways of the natural world. Here are wily tricksters, timorous tree spirits, wise grandmothers, seductive maidens, and the ever-hungry evil manitous, fearsome giants known as Weendigoes. Here is a half-man, half-manitou legend of Ojibway lore who represents the wonders and shortcomings of all humankind and who becomes a hero by masquerading as one; a powerful warrior who is riled and routed by a younger sibling with a fight for dancing and disguises; a man who seems obsessed with the trivial but learns to understand the spiritual; and The Prophecy - which is told but disbelieved - telling of the changes in the native world to come
Ojibway ceremonies by Basil Johnston( Book )
21 editions published between 1982 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 609 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Fiction. Life story of Mishi-Waub-Kaikaik (Great White Falcon) is used to describe the ceremonies of precontact Ojibways
Tales the elders told : Ojibway legends by Basil Johnston( Book )
6 editions published in 1981 in English and held by 303 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Nine traditional Ojibway tales accompanied by contemporary native art
The bear-walker and other stories by Basil Johnston( Book )
4 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 227 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"In the tradition of Tales the Elders Told and Tales of the Anishinaubaek, Basil Johnston's newest work, The Bear-Walker, brings to the printed page the spoken myths of his people, myths that have inspired exquisite paintings by David Johnson." "Here is the native spirit, as told by the elders, tales of wisdom and humour, vision and fantasy, alive with a sense of the magical possibilities of life lived close to nature."--Jacket
Tales of the Anishinaubaek by Basil Johnston( Book )
4 editions published in 1993 in English and held by 227 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Legends of the Anishinaubaek (Ojibway First Nations) translated into English and illustrated by a Santee/Oglala artist
Ojibway tales by Basil Johnston( Book )
5 editions published in 1993 in English and held by 226 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Honour Earth Mother by Basil Johnston( Book )
4 editions published between 2003 and 2004 in English and held by 223 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The star man and other tales by Basil Johnston( Book )
3 editions published between 1996 and 1997 in English and held by 168 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The stories and art reveal the power of Ojibway myth-making and a world of star-visitors, magical thunderbolts, thunder people, sea serpents, and mermaids
Moose meat & wild rice by Basil Johnston( Book )
10 editions published between 1978 and 2011 in English and held by 147 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Short stories about life on a modern Indian reserve by an Ojibway writer
Anishinaubae thesaurus by Basil Johnston( Book )
4 editions published between 1998 and 2007 in English and held by 136 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
By canoe & moccasin : some native place names of the Great Lakes by Basil Johnston( Book )
4 editions published between 1986 and 1992 in English and held by 115 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Legends of Nanabush, set in the Great Lakes area, and giving the meaning of place names of native origin
Th!nk Indian : languages are beyond price by Basil Johnston( Book )
2 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 101 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A collection of essays and presentations that Mr. Johnston has delivered to numerous educational conferences and gatherings across Canada and the United States
Mermaids and medicine women : native myths and legends by Basil Johnston( Book )
2 editions published in 1998 in English and held by 90 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Ojibway language course outline for beginners by Basil Johnston( Book )
7 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 77 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A course outline to assist teachers in instructing beginners, young and old, to speak the Ojibway language
Ojibway language lexicon for beginners by Basil Johnston( Book )
6 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 72 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A practical lexicon (dictionary) for beginners: a comprehensive list of prefixes, core or root words and suffixes
How the birds got their colours = Gah w'indinimowaut binaesheehnyuk w'idinauziwin-wauh by Basil Johnston( Book )
2 editions published in 1978 in English and held by 41 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Side-by-side texts in English and Chippewa relate the Chippewa legend of how birds came to have their colors
The gift of the stars = Anungook gauh meenikooying by Basil Johnston( Book )
1 edition published in 2010 in English and held by 36 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"These stories teach us that we all have a gift to share. We depend on the insects, birds, fish and the animals to help us live in harmony with them. The Creator has given us these animals to provide guidance and the laws of nature to live in harmony with all creation. Living in harmony with the animals or Wesiihhik gives us the ability to have a peace of heart and the ability to overcome the challenges that life sets along The Path of Life."--P. 3
Indian school days by Basil Johnston( Book )
7 editions published between 1988 and 1989 in English and Undetermined and held by 21 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
An autobiography of a Canadian Ojibwa placed in a Jesuit boarding school in 1939
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.40 (from 0.00 for Indian sch ... to 0.89 for Anishinaub ...)
Alternative Names
Johnston, Basil
Johnston, Basil H.
Johnston, Basil H. 1929-
Languages
English (167)
German (15)
Covers