WorldCat Identities

Petit, Philippe 1949-

Overview
Works: 69 works in 208 publications in 10 languages and 13,304 library holdings
Genres: Biography  History  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Pictorial works  Handbooks, manuals, etc  Case studies 
Roles: Performer, Bibliographic antecedent, Interviewee, Composer
Classifications: GV550.2.P47, 791.34092
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Philippe Petit Publications about Philippe Petit
Publications by  Philippe Petit Publications by Philippe Petit
Most widely held works about Philippe Petit
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Philippe Petit
Man on wire by James Marsh ( Visual )
32 editions published between 2007 and 2012 in 7 languages and held by 1,807 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"On August 7th, 1974, a young Frenchman named Philippe Petit stepped out on a wire illegally rigged between the New York World Trade Center's Twin Towers. After dancing for nearly an hour on the wire, he was arrested, taken for psychological evaluation, and brought to jail, before finally being released. This extraordinary documentary incorporates Petit's personal footage to show how he overcame seemingly insurmountable challenges to achieve the artistic crime of the century"--Container
Why knot? : how to tie more than sixty ingenious, useful, beautiful, lifesaving, and secure knots! by Philippe Petit ( Book )
3 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 342 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
On August 7, 1974, Philippe Petit stepped out on a wire illegally rigged between the New York World Trade Center's twin towers, where he performed for nearly an hour. During this history-making walk, and many others throughout his celebrated career, knots have always been indispensable components--the guardian angels protecting his life in the sky. After years of hands-on research, Philippe presents a guide to tying his essential knots. Philippe's own practical sketches illustrate original methods and clear, clever tying instructions. Photographs in which special knots were used during spectacular high-wire walks, quirky knot trivia, personal anecdotes, helpful tips, magic tricks, and special tying challenges ensure that, if you're not already nuts for knots, Petit will transform you into a knot aficionado.--From publisher description
On the high wire by Philippe Petit ( Book )
3 editions published in 1985 in English and held by 210 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Wait, wait-- don't tell me! ( Recording )
1 edition published in 2009 in English and held by 129 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Celebrity guests are put on the spot in the "Not My Job" segment of the NPR/Chicago Public Radio show Wait, wait-- don't tell me!, a news quiz show in which guests answer questions on a topic totally outside their area of expertise
La cause de Sartre by Philippe Petit ( Book )
8 editions published in 2000 in French and Undetermined and held by 65 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Ce livre n'est ni un panégyrique, ni une critique de l'oeuvre de Sartre, mais une invitation à la redécouvrir, et à la lire à l'aune du siècle qui s'achève. Il s'appuie essentiellement sur "L'idiot de la famille", tout en revisitant l'ensemble des écrits politiques et littéraires de Sartre
Wait, wait-- don't tell me! famous people who returned our calls: celebrity highlights from the oddly informative news quiz ( Recording )
1 edition published in 2009 in English and held by 26 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Celebrity guests are put on the spot in the "Not My Job" segment of the NPR/Chicago Public Radio show Wait, wait-- don't tell me!, a news quiz show in which guests answer questions on a topic totally outside their area of expertise
Traité du funambulisme by Philippe Petit ( Book )
4 editions published between 1997 and 2009 in French and held by 21 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Un livre de conseils pour ceux qui oseront un jour l'impossible : marcher droit à travers le ciel et atteindre les étoiles. Un livre sur la peur et la solitude, sur le rêve et la poésie, sur l'audace, l'équilibre, la chute et la mort
Ling kong zhi meng : 1974,wo zai shi mao shuang ta shang zou gang suo by Pei ti ( Book )
1 edition published in 2008 in Chinese and held by 16 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
L'art du pickpocket : précis du vol à la tire by Philippe Petit ( Book )
2 editions published in 2006 in French and held by 14 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
L'auteur, lui-même pickpocket durant sa jeunesse, narre l'art et la manière de s'y prendre pour devenir un voleur aux doigts dansants
Why knot? : how to tie more than sixty ingenious, useful, beautiful, lifesaving, magical, intriguing, and secure knots! by Philippe Petit ( Book )
2 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 13 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
During his history-making walk between New York City's World Trade Center, and many others throughout his celebrated career, knots have always been indispensable components protecting his life in the sky. Petit presents a guide to tying his essential knots
High wire ( Visual )
1 edition published in 1984 in English and held by 11 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Philippe Petit, famed tightrope walker who crossed the World Trade Center and the Notre Dame in Paris, describes his walk to the Cathedral of St. John the Divine in New York City (ca. 1982)
À quoi sert la littérature? by Danièle Sallenave ( Book )
4 editions published between 1997 and 1998 in French and held by 9 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Les pouvoirs de la littérature sont en déshérence. Enseignante et écrivain, l'auteur ne se résigne pas à entériner cet échec. L'enseignement des lettres doit servir à former des hommes libres, des citoyens capables d'un jugement autonome. Ce livre est aussi une réflexion sur la figure du narrateur et sur la liberté du lecteur qui retraverse des situations où se trouve engagé son imaginaire
Trattato di funambolismo by Philippe Petit ( Book )
4 editions published between 1999 and 2010 in Italian and held by 9 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
My high-wire walk between the Twin Towers by Philippe Petit ( Book )
1 edition published in 2003 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In 1974, a young Frenchman secretly - and illegally - rigged a tightrope between the Twin Towers. He made eight crossings in an hour, while 100,000 people watched in the streets of New York. Here, Petit recreates his six year quest to realize his dream. Originally published: New York: North Point, 2002
Creativity : the perfect crime by Philippe Petit ( Book )
2 editions published in 2014 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"In the vein of The Creative Habit and The Artist's Way, a new manifesto on the creative process from a master of the impossible. Since well before his epic 1974 walk between the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center, Philippe Petit had become an artist who answered first and foremost to the demands of his craft-not only on the high wire, but also as a magician, street juggler, visual artist, builder, and writer. A born rebel like many creative people, he was from an early age a voracious learner who taught himself, cultivating the attitudes, resources, and techniques to tackle even seemingly impossible feats. His outlaw sensibility spawned a unique approach to the creative process-an approach he shares, with characteristic enthusiasm, irreverence, and originality in Creativity: The Perfect Crime. Making the reader his accomplice, Petit reveals new and unconventional ways of going about the artistic endeavor, from generating and shaping ideas to practicing and problem-solving to pulling off the "coup" itself-executing a finished work. The strategies and insights he shares will resonate with performers of every stripe (actors, musicians, dancers) and practitioners of the non-performing arts (painters, writers, sculptors), and also with ordinary mortals in search of fresh ways of tackling the challenges and possibilities of everyday existence"--
WTC : photographs by Judith Turner by Philippe Petit ( Book )
1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Man on wire Človek na žici by James Marsh ( Visual )
1 edition published in 2010 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Osemčlanska ekipa je skupaj z mladim Philippom Petitom načrtovala hojo po žici med dvojčkoma World Trade Centra. Po večmesečnih pripravah jim je to 7. avgusta 1974 uspelo. Po enourni hoji in plesu na vrvi, brez varoval, so ga oblasti aretirale
Le funambule ( Visual )
1 edition published in 2012 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Man on wire by Philippe Petit ( Book )
1 edition published in 2008 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
More than a quarter-century before September 11, 2001, the World Trade Center was immortalized by an act of unprecedented daring and beauty. In August 1974, a young Frenchman named Philippe Petit boldly-and illegally-fixed a rope between the tops of the still-young Twin Towers, a quarter mile off the ground. At daybreak, thousands of spectators gathered to watch in awe and adulation as he traversed the rope a full eight times in the course of an hour. In Man on Wire, Petit recounts the six years he spent preparing for this achievement. It is a fitting tribute to those
Funambule by Philippe Petit ( Book )
1 edition published in 1991 in French and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.12 (from 0.00 for My high-wi ... to 0.95 for L'art du p ...)
Alternative Names
プティ, フィリップ
Languages
English (113)
French (22)
Spanish (8)
Chinese (7)
German (6)
Italian (4)
Korean (2)
Russian (2)
Catalan (2)
Multiple languages (1)
Covers