WorldCat Identities

Petit, Philippe 1949-

Overview
Works: 49 works in 229 publications in 13 languages and 14,424 library holdings
Genres: Biography  Documentary films  Biographical films  History  Radio quiz shows  Nonfiction films  Pictorial works  Animated films  Historical reenactments (Motion pictures)  Case studies 
Roles: Author, Bibliographic antecedent, Performer, Interviewee, Actor, Composer
Classifications: GV550.2.P47, 791.34092
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Philippe Petit
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Philippe Petit
Man on wire by James Marsh( Visual )

38 editions published between 2007 and 2015 in 8 languages and held by 1,863 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"On August 7th, 1974, a young Frenchman named Philippe Petit stepped out on a wire illegally rigged between the New York World Trade Center's Twin Towers. After dancing for nearly an hour on the wire, he was arrested, taken for psychological evaluation, and brought to jail, before finally being released. This extraordinary documentary incorporates Petit's personal footage to show how he overcame seemingly insurmountable challenges to achieve the artistic crime of the century"--Container
Creativity : the perfect crime by Philippe Petit( Book )

7 editions published between 2014 and 2015 in English and French and held by 499 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"In the vein of The Creative Habit and The Artist's Way, a new manifesto on the creative process from a master of the impossible. Since well before his epic 1974 walk between the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center, Philippe Petit had become an artist who answered first and foremost to the demands of his craft--not only on the high wire, but also as a magician, street juggler, visual artist, builder, and writer. A born rebel like many creative people, he was from an early age a voracious learner who taught himself, cultivating the attitudes, resources, and techniques to tackle even seemingly impossible feats. His outlaw sensibility spawned a unique approach to the creative process--an approach he shares, with characteristic enthusiasm, irreverence, and originality in Creativity: The Perfect Crime. Making the reader his accomplice, Petit reveals new and unconventional ways of going about the artistic endeavor, from generating and shaping ideas to practicing and problem-solving to pulling off the "coup" itself--executing a finished work. The strategies and insights he shares will resonate with performers of every stripe (actors, musicians, dancers) and practitioners of the non-performing arts (painters, writers, sculptors), and also with ordinary mortals in search of fresh ways of tackling the challenges and possibilities of everyday existence"--
Why knot? : how to tie more than sixty ingenious, useful, beautiful, lifesaving, and secure knots! by Philippe Petit( Book )

5 editions published between 2013 and 2014 in English and French and held by 382 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Petit presents a guide to tying his essential knots
On the high wire by Philippe Petit( Book )

7 editions published between 1985 and 2009 in French and English and held by 218 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Un livre de conseils pour ceux qui oseront un jour l'impossible : marcher droit à travers le ciel et atteindre les étoiles. Un livre sur la peur et la solitude, sur le rêve et la poésie, sur l'audace, l'équilibre, la chute et la mort
Wait, wait-- don't tell me!( Recording )

1 edition published in 2009 in English and held by 138 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Celebrity guests are put on the spot in the "Not My Job" segment of the NPR/Chicago Public Radio show Wait, wait-- don't tell me!, a news quiz show in which guests answer questions on a topic totally outside their area of expertise
Wait, wait-- don't tell me! famous people who returned our calls: celebrity highlights from the oddly informative news quiz( Recording )

1 edition published in 2009 in English and held by 25 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Celebrity guests are put on the spot in the "Not My Job" segment of the NPR/Chicago Public Radio show Wait, wait-- don't tell me!, a news quiz show in which guests answer questions on a topic totally outside their area of expertise
Ling kong zhi meng : 1974,wo zai shi mao shuang ta shang zou gang suo by Di Bei( Book )

1 edition published in 2008 in Chinese and held by 16 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Why knot? : how to tie more than sixty ingenious, useful, beautiful, lifesaving, magical, intriguing, and secure knots! by Philippe Petit( Book )

3 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 15 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

During his history-making walk between New York City's World Trade Center, and many others throughout his celebrated career, knots have always been indispensable components protecting his life in the sky. Petit presents a guide to tying his essential knots
L'art du pickpocket : précis du vol à la tire by Philippe Petit( Book )

2 editions published in 2006 in French and held by 14 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

L'auteur, lui-même pickpocket durant sa jeunesse, narre l'art et la manière de s'y prendre pour devenir un voleur aux doigts dansants
Trattato di funambolismo by Philippe Petit( Book )

4 editions published between 1999 and 2010 in Italian and held by 13 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Funambule by Philippe Petit( Book )

3 editions published between 1991 and 1998 in German and French and held by 11 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Creativity : the perfect crime by Philippe Petit( )

1 edition published in 2014 in English and held by 11 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Since well before his epic 1974 walk between the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center, Philippe Petit had become an artist who answered first and foremost to the demands of his craft-not only on the high wire, but also as a magician, street juggler, visual artist, builder, and writer. A born rebel like many creative people, he was from an early age a voracious learner who taught himself, cultivating the attitudes, resources, and techniques to tackle even seemingly impossible feats. His outlaw sensibility spawned a unique approach to the creative process-an approach he shares, with characteristic enthusiasm, irreverence, and originality in Creativity: The Perfect Crime.Making the listener his accomplice, Petit reveals new and unconventional ways of going about the artistic endeavor, from generating and shaping ideas to practicing and problem-solving to pulling off the "coup" itself-executing a finished work. The strategies and insights he shares will resonate with performers of every stripe (actors, musicians, dancers) and practitioners of the non-performing arts (painters, writers, sculptors), and also with ordinary mortals in search of fresh ways of tackling the challenges and possibilities of everyday existence
Man on wire Der Drahtseilakt( Visual )

4 editions published between 2009 and 2011 in German and held by 10 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Am 7. August 1974 balancierte ein Franzose namens Philippe Petit auf einem Drahtseil zwischen den Twin Towers des World Trade Centers in New York, den beiden höchsten Türmen der damaligen Welt. Nachdem er eine Stunde lang ohne Netz oder Sicherheitsgurt auf dem Drahtseil tanzte, wurde er festgenommen und ins Gefängnis gesteckt. Bis zu diesem Moment hatte niemand auer Petit und seinen Komplizen, mit denen er diesen illegalen 'Coup' monatelang zusammen vorbereitet hatte, je etwas davon erfahren
High wire( Visual )

1 edition published in 1984 in English and held by 10 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Philippe Petit, famed tightrope walker who crossed the World Trade Center and the Notre Dame in Paris, describes his walk to the Cathedral of St. John the Divine in New York City (ca. 1982)
WTC : photographs by Judith Turner by Judith Turner( Book )

1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 9 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

My high-wire walk between the Twin Towers by Philippe Petit( Book )

1 edition published in 2003 in English and held by 7 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In 1974, a young Frenchman secretly - and illegally - rigged a tightrope between the Twin Towers. He made eight crossings in an hour, while 100,000 people watched in the streets of New York. Here, Petit recreates his six year quest to realize his dream. Originally published: New York: North Point, 2002
WTC by Judith Turner( Book )

2 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Le funambule( Visual )

1 edition published in 2012 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

To reach the clouds : my high wire walk between the Twin Towers by Philippe Petit( Book )

5 editions published between 2003 and 2015 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Fortlling om franskmanden Philippe Petit's linegang mellem tårnene i World Trade Center i 1974
Man on wire Človek na žici by James Marsh( Visual )

1 edition published in 2010 in English and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Osemčlanska ekipa je skupaj z mladim Philippom Petitom načrtovala hojo po žici med dvojčkoma World Trade Centra. Po večmesečnih pripravah jim je to 7. avgusta 1974 uspelo. Po enourni hoji in plesu na vrvi, brez varoval, so ga oblasti aretirale
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.17 (from 0.06 for The man wh ... to 0.95 for Trattato d ...)

Wait, wait-- don't tell me!
Alternative Names
Philippe Petit artista francese

Philippe Petit franzsischer Hochseilartist, der einen Drahtseilakt zwischen den Trmen des World Trade Centers in New York City 1974 machte

Philippe Petit French high-wire artist

Пети, Филипп

פיליפ פטי

فيليب بوتي

필리프 프티

フィリップ・プティ

プティ, フィリップ

菲利普珀蒂

Languages
Covers
Wait, wait-- don't tell me! famous people who returned our calls: celebrity highlights from the oddly informative news quizMy high-wire walk between the Twin TowersTo reach the clouds : my high wire walk between the Twin TowersLet the great world spin : a novelTo reach the clouds : my high wire walk between the Twin TowersThe man who walked between the towersThe man who walked between the towers