WorldCat Identities

Petit, Philippe 1949-

Overview
Works: 48 works in 228 publications in 12 languages and 15,811 library holdings
Genres: History  Biographical films  Biography  Documentary films  Nonfiction films  Drama  Action and adventure films  Documentary television programs  Radio quiz shows  Criticism, interpretation, etc 
Roles: osp, Author, Composer, Bibliographic antecedent, Performer
Classifications: GV550.2.P47,
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Philippe Petit
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Philippe Petit
Man on wire by James Marsh( Visual )

28 editions published between 2007 and 2015 in 6 languages and held by 1,866 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"On August 7th, 1974, a young Frenchman named Philippe Petit stepped out on a wire illegally rigged between the New York World Trade Center's Twin Towers. After dancing for nearly an hour on the wire, he was arrested, taken for psychological evaluation, and brought to jail, before finally being released. This extraordinary documentary incorporates Petit's personal footage to show how he overcame seemingly insurmountable challenges to achieve the artistic crime of the century"--Container
Creativity : the perfect crime by Philippe Petit( Book )

7 editions published between 2014 and 2015 in English and held by 502 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"In the vein of The Creative Habit and The Artist's Way, a new manifesto on the creative process from a master of the impossible. Since well before his epic 1974 walk between the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center, Philippe Petit had become an artist who answered first and foremost to the demands of his craft--not only on the high wire, but also as a magician, street juggler, visual artist, builder, and writer. A born rebel like many creative people, he was from an early age a voracious learner who taught himself, cultivating the attitudes, resources, and techniques to tackle even seemingly impossible feats. His outlaw sensibility spawned a unique approach to the creative process--an approach he shares, with characteristic enthusiasm, irreverence, and originality in Creativity: The Perfect Crime. Making the reader his accomplice, Petit reveals new and unconventional ways of going about the artistic endeavor, from generating and shaping ideas to practicing and problem-solving to pulling off the "coup" itself--executing a finished work. The strategies and insights he shares will resonate with performers of every stripe (actors, musicians, dancers) and practitioners of the non-performing arts (painters, writers, sculptors), and also with ordinary mortals in search of fresh ways of tackling the challenges and possibilities of everyday existence"--
Why knot? : how to tie more than sixty ingenious, useful, beautiful, lifesaving, and secure knots! by Philippe Petit( Book )

10 editions published between 2013 and 2014 in English and French and held by 400 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

On August 7, 1974, Philippe Petit stepped out on a wire illegally rigged between the New York World Trade Center's twin towers, where he performed for nearly an hour. During this history-making walk, and many others throughout his celebrated career, knots have always been indispensable components--the guardian angels protecting his life in the sky. After years of hands-on research, Philippe presents a guide to tying his essential knots. Philippe's own practical sketches illustrate original methods and clear, clever tying instructions. Photographs in which special knots were used during spectacular high-wire walks, quirky knot trivia, personal anecdotes, helpful tips, magic tricks, and special tying challenges ensure that, if you're not already nuts for knots, Petit will transform you into a knot aficionado.--From publisher description
On the high wire by Philippe Petit( Book )

7 editions published between 1985 and 2010 in Italian and English and held by 208 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Wait, wait-- don't tell me!( Recording )

2 editions published in 2009 in English and held by 163 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Celebrity guests are put on the spot in the "Not My Job" segment of the NPR/Chicago Public Radio show Wait, wait-- don't tell me!, a news quiz show in which guests answer questions on a topic totally outside their area of expertise
Traité du funambulisme by Philippe Petit( Book )

5 editions published between 1997 and 2009 in French and held by 32 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Un livre de conseils pour ceux qui oseront un jour l'impossible : marcher droit à travers le ciel et atteindre les étoiles. Un livre sur la peur et la solitude, sur le rêve et la poésie, sur l'audace, l'équilibre, la chute et la mort
To reach the clouds : my high wire walk between the Twin Towers by Philippe Petit( Book )

7 editions published between 2003 and 2009 in 4 languages and held by 27 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In 1974, 100,000 people on the ground watched 24-year-old high wire artist Petit make eight crossings between the World Trade Towers. In this visually and verbally stunning book, Petit tells for the first time the story of his walk, from conception and clandestine planning to the performance and its aftermath. 140 illustrations
L'art du pickpocket : précis du vol à la tire by Philippe Petit( Book )

2 editions published in 2006 in French and held by 14 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

L'auteur, lui-même pickpocket durant sa jeunesse, narre l'art et la manière de s'y prendre pour devenir un voleur aux doigts dansants
Creativity : the perfect crime by Philippe Petit( )

2 editions published in 2014 in English and held by 13 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Since well before his epic 1974 walk between the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center, Philippe Petit had become an artist who answered first and foremost to the demands of his craft-not only on the high wire, but also as a magician, street juggler, visual artist, builder, and writer. A born rebel like many creative people, he was from an early age a voracious learner who taught himself, cultivating the attitudes, resources, and techniques to tackle even seemingly impossible feats. His outlaw sensibility spawned a unique approach to the creative process-an approach he shares, with characteristic enthusiasm, irreverence, and originality in Creativity: The Perfect Crime.Making the listener his accomplice, Petit reveals new and unconventional ways of going about the artistic endeavor, from generating and shaping ideas to practicing and problem-solving to pulling off the "coup" itself-executing a finished work. The strategies and insights he shares will resonate with performers of every stripe (actors, musicians, dancers) and practitioners of the non-performing arts (painters, writers, sculptors), and also with ordinary mortals in search of fresh ways of tackling the challenges and possibilities of everyday existence
Funambule by Philippe Petit( Book )

2 editions published in 1991 in French and held by 13 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

WTC : photographs by Judith Turner by Judith Turner( Book )

1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 11 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Créativité : le crime parfait by Philippe Petit( Book )

2 editions published in 2014 in French and held by 10 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

High wire( Visual )

1 edition published in 1984 in English and held by 10 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Philippe Petit, famed tightrope walker who crossed the World Trade Center and the Notre Dame in Paris, describes his walk to the Cathedral of St. John the Divine in New York City (ca. 1982)
New York. a documentary film( Visual )

1 edition published in 2010 in English and held by 8 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"The eighth episode of the award-winning series New York: A Documentary Film chronicles the rise and fall of the World Trade Center, whose epic fifty-year history sheds new light on every theme and issue in the city's long march to the center of the world. Propelled forward in the 1960s by the immense power of David and Nelson Rockefeller and the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, the world's two tallest buildings would rise despite political controversy, daunting engineering challenges, withering critical scorn and the threat of financial disaster. In the end, a spectacular 45-minute escapade by a high-wire artist named Philippe Petit and New York's astonishing renaissance would transform the towers into a worldwide icon--the ultimate symbol of an economic system that had come to dominate much of the planet. The episode comes to a climax with the harrowing events of September 11, 2001--and the extraordinary response of the city's people to the worst crisis in their history."--Container
WTC by Judith Turner( Book )

2 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

My high-wire walk between the Twin Towers by Philippe Petit( Book )

1 edition published in 2003 in English and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In 1974, a young Frenchman secretly - and illegally - rigged a tightrope between the Twin Towers. He made eight crossings in an hour, while 100,000 people watched in the streets of New York. Here, Petit recreates his six year quest to realize his dream. Originally published: New York: North Point, 2002
Credere nel vuoto by Philippe Petit( Book )

1 edition published in 2008 in Italian and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The walk by Philippe Petit( Book )

1 edition published in 2015 in Italian and held by 5 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In 1974, 100,000 people on the ground watched 24-year-old high wire artist Petit make eight crossings between the World Trade Towers. In this visually and verbally stunning book, Petit tells for the first time the story of his walk, from conception and clandestine planning to the performance and its aftermath. 140 illustrations
Trois coups by Philippe Petit( Book )

1 edition published in 1983 in French and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

High wire( Visual )

1 edition published in 1985 in English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Shows Philippe Petit famed tightrope walker as he crosses the World Trade Center and the Notre Dame de Paris in his native France
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.17 (from 0.07 for The man wh ... to 0.98 for Creativita ...)

Wait, wait-- don't tell me!
Alternative Names
Philippe Petit artista francese

Philippe Petit Frans acrobaat

Philippe Petit französischer Hochseilartist, der einen Drahtseilakt zwischen den Türmen des World Trade Centers in New York City 1974 machte

Philippe Petit French high-wire artist

Филипп Пети французский уличный канатоходец

Філіп Петі

פיליפ פטי

فيليب بوتي

필리프 프티

フィリップ・プティ

プティ, フィリップ

菲利普·珀蒂

Languages
Covers
To reach the clouds : my high wire walk between the Twin TowersMy high-wire walk between the Twin TowersLet the great world spin : a novelTo reach the clouds : my high wire walk between the Twin TowersThe man who walked between the towersThe man who walked between the towersLet the great world spin