WorldCat Identities

Clarke, Cheryl 1947-

Overview
Works: 32 works in 53 publications in 1 language and 1,797 library holdings
Genres: Poetry  Criticism, interpretation, etc  History  Drama  Short stories  Fiction  Juvenile works  Music 
Roles: Author, Interviewee, Editor
Classifications: PS3553.L314, 811.509896073
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Cheryl Clarke
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Cheryl Clarke
"After Mecca" : women poets and the Black Arts Movement by Cheryl Clarke( Book )
6 editions published between 2004 and 2006 in English and held by 557 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Living as a lesbian : poetry by Cheryl Clarke( Book )
4 editions published between 1986 and 2014 in English and held by 248 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"Nothing lukewarm here. Cheryl Clarke writes variations on the themes of blackness, anger, violence, loss, loneliness, lesbianism, and sex. Her form is elegant, her language direct, her images strong. The impact is stunning."--Jacket
Narratives : poems in the tradition of Black women by Cheryl Clarke( Book )
6 editions published between 1982 and 1983 in English and held by 245 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The days of good looks : the prose and poetry of Cheryl Clarke, 1980 to 2005 by Cheryl Clarke( Book )
1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 216 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"Lauded by luminaries such as Gwendolyn Brooks, Adrienne Rich, and Joy Harjo, among others, the work of African American lesbian poet Cheryl Clarke has spoken on behalf of the black, feminist and gay movements for more than 25 years. Her writing has earned her distinction as a contemporary black feminist icon in the tradition of June Jordan. In fact, few writers have tackled hot-button issues of race and sexuality with as much force or fearless humor as Clarke. The Days of Good Looks -- her first new book of poetry in a decade -- collects the author's most popular poems and essays along with an array of new unpublished writing." -- Publisher description
Humid pitch : narrative poetry by Cheryl Clarke( Book )
3 editions published in 1989 in English and held by 165 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Experimental love : poetry by Cheryl Clarke( Book )
3 editions published in 1993 in English and held by 151 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"Perhaps the preeminent African American lesbian poet writing today, Cheryl Clarke has a heady command of the language, the ability to work in a variety of forms, and an uncompromising Black and queer stance. This is her fourth book, following in the tradition of Narratives, Living As A Lesbian, and Humid Pitch."--Jacket
Black womyn conversations with lesbians of African descent ( Visual )
2 editions published between 2011 and 2013 in English and held by 55 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A documentary film focusing on the lives and views of lesbians of African descent from various backgrounds. Interviews were conducted with close to 50 out black lesbians including Cheryl Clarke, Aishah Shahidah Simmons, Staceyann Chin, Michelle Parkerson, KIN (IQ & NOR), and Fiona Zedde
Tiny & Ruby hell divin' women ( Visual )
2 editions published between 1986 and 1988 in English and held by 27 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This tribute profiles the legendary jazz trumpeter Ernestine "Tiny" Davis, and her lover and partner of 40 years, drummer Ruby Lucas (aka Renee Phelan). Includes colorful interviews with Tiny and Ruby in their Chicago home, compelling archival material, lively musical performances, and an evocative narration by poet Cheryl Clarke
Self-medication : a reference for health professionals ( Book )
1 edition published in 1988 in English and held by 24 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
To be left with the body ( Book )
1 edition published in 2008 in English and held by 17 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Best lesbian erotica 2003 ( Book )
1 edition published in 2003 in English and held by 14 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Certified Secure Web Application Engineer (CSWAE - Covers Secure Code) Secrets To Acing The Exam and Successful Finding And Landing Your Next Certified Secure Web Application Engineer (CSWAE - Covers Secure Code) Certified Job by Cheryl Clarke( )
1 edition published in 2012 in English and held by 7 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Certified Secure Web Application Engineer (CSWAE - Covers Secure Code) Secrets To Acing The Exam and Successful Finding And Landing Your Next Certified Secure Web Application Engineer (CSWAE - Covers Secure Code) Certified Job
After Mecca : the impact of black women on black poetry after 1968 by Cheryl Clarke( Book )
1 edition published in 2000 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Best lesbian erotica 2002 ( Book )
1 edition published in 2003 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The watermelon woman by Cheryle Dunye( Visual )
2 editions published between 2006 and 2010 in Undetermined and English and held by 3 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Cheryl, a young black woman in a video store, is making a documentary about an obscure black actress from the 1930's. When she discovers that the actress (known as "the Watermelon Woman") had a white lesbian lover, Cheryl just happens to fall in love with a very cute white woman herself!
Black and blue Black women in jazz and blues music ( Visual )
in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Wild women don't have the blues: Rare footage of legendary blues women Ma Rainey, Bessie Smith, Etherl Waters and others, tell the history of their contribution to American culture
Living with wildlife : junior manual by Cheryl Clarke( Book )
2 editions published between 1976 and 1985 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Sister outsider essays and speeches by Aue Lorde( )
1 edition published in 2013 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide
Presenting the essential writings of black lesbian poet and feminist writer Audre Lorde, SISTER OUTSIDER celebrates an influential voice in twentieth-century literature. In this charged collection of fifteen essays and speeches, Lorde takes on sexism, racism, ageism, homophobia, and class, and propounds social difference as a vehicle for action and change. Her prose is incisive, unflinching, and lyrical, reflecting struggle but ultimately offering messages of hope. This commemorative edition includes a new foreword by Lorde scholar and poet Cheryl Clarke, who celebrates the ways in which Lorde's philosophies resonate more than twenty years after they were first published. These landmark writings are, in Lorde's own words, a call to "never close our eyes to the terror, to the chaos which is Black which is creative which is female which is dark which is rejected which is messy which is. . . ." Reviews"...it's been almost a quarter of a century since Audre Lorde's essays and speeches in Sister Outsider made an indelible mark on 20th-century literature. But the words of the black lesbian feminist poet seem as lyrical and unforgettable, and, sadly, as relevant today as when she first tackled everything from racism and homophobia to ageism and class dichotomies. A must-have book that every lesbian should read."'Curve Editor's Pick "Lorde was a brilliant feminist poet and intellectual whose theories on the power of embracing our internal contradictions as well as the differences between people and groups is the way to powerful coalition building and social progress." 'New York Post, Sunday "Poet and librarian Lorde collected 15 of her finest essays and speeches in this 1984 volume. With her poet's command of language, she addresses sexism, racism, black women, black lesbians, eroticism, and more. Still powerful."'Library Journal, Starred Review"Audre Lorde is a passionate sage. I say 'is' and not 'was' because her keen insights continue to provoke and sustain us and give us courage. The reissue of this book is a gift to longtime admirers and to new readers who have yet to discover the power and grace and splendid audacity of Audre Lorde."'Valerie Miner, author of After Eden and professor of feminist studies at Stanford University"[Lorde's] works will be important to those truly interested in growing up sensitive, intelligent, and aware."'New York Times From the Trade Paperback edition
Cheryl Clarke 4/3/1997 reading ( Visual )
1 edition published in 1997 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide
Cheryl Clarke reads selections from her poetry and prose followed by a question and answer session
Alone by Cheryl Clarke( Book )
1 edition published in 2014 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.66 (from 0.00 for Alone / ... to 1.00 for Audio coll ...)
Languages
English (47)
Covers