WorldCat Identities

Clarke, Cheryl 1947-

Overview
Works: 29 works in 51 publications in 1 language and 1,856 library holdings
Genres: Poetry  Criticism, interpretation, etc  History  Documentary films  Nonfiction films  Short stories  Fiction  Biographical films  Interviews  Romance fiction 
Roles: Author, Interviewee
Classifications: PS3562.O75, 814.54
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Cheryl Clarke
"After Mecca" : women poets and the Black Arts Movement by Cheryl Clarke( Book )

7 editions published between 2004 and 2006 in English and held by 569 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Narratives : poems in the tradition of Black women by Cheryl Clarke( Book )

7 editions published between 1982 and 1983 in English and held by 242 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The days of good looks : the prose and poetry of Cheryl Clarke, 1980 to 2005 by Cheryl Clarke( Book )

1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 215 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Lauded by luminaries such as Gwendolyn Brooks, Adrienne Rich, and Joy Harjo, among others, the work of African American lesbian poet Cheryl Clarke has spoken on behalf of the black, feminist and gay movements for more than 25 years. Her writing has earned her distinction as a contemporary black feminist icon in the tradition of June Jordan. In fact, few writers have tackled hot-button issues of race and sexuality with as much force or fearless humor as Clarke. The Days of Good Looks -- her first new book of poetry in a decade -- collects the author's most popular poems and essays along with an array of new unpublished writing."--Publisher description
Living as a lesbian : poetry by Cheryl Clarke( Book )

3 editions published in 1986 in English and held by 196 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Nothing lukewarm here. Cheryl Clarke writes variations on the themes of blackness, anger, violence, loss, loneliness, lesbianism, and sex. Her form is elegant, her language direct, her images strong. The impact is stunning."--Jacket
Humid pitch : narrative poetry by Cheryl Clarke( Book )

3 editions published in 1989 in English and held by 151 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Experimental love : poetry by Cheryl Clarke( Book )

3 editions published in 1993 in English and held by 136 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Perhaps the preeminent African American lesbian poet writing today, Cheryl Clarke has a heady command of the language, the ability to work in a variety of forms, and an uncompromising Black and queer stance. This is her fourth book, following in the tradition of Narratives, Living As A Lesbian, and Humid Pitch."--Jacket
Black womyn : conversations with lesbians of African descent( Visual )

2 editions published between 2011 and 2013 in English and held by 61 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A documentary film focusing on the lives and views of lesbians of African descent from various backgrounds. Interviews were conducted with close to 50 out black lesbians including Cheryl Clarke, Aishah Shahidah Simmons, Staceyann Chin, Michelle Parkerson, KIN (IQ & NOR), and Fiona Zedde
Living as a lesbian by Cheryl Clarke( Book )

1 edition published in 2014 in English and held by 52 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Cheryl Clarke's Living as a Lesbian is a groundbreaking paean to lesbian life. Filled with sounds from her childhood in Washington, DC, the riffs of jazz musicians, and bluesy incantations, Living as a Lesbian sings like a marimba, whispering "i am, i am in love with you." Evoking her years of literary and political activism with anger, passion, and determination, Clarke mourns the death of Kimako Baraka ("sister of famous artist brother"), celebrates the life of Indira Gandhi, and chronicles all kinds of disasters--natural and human-made. The world is large in Living as a Lesbian but also personal and intimate. These poems are closely observed and finely wrought, with Clarke's characteristic charm and wit shining throughout. In 1986, Living as a Lesbian captured the vitality and volatility of the lesbian world; today, in a world both changed and unchanged, Clarke's poems continue to illuminate our lives and make new meanings for Living as a Lesbian."--Publisher's description
By my precise haircut by Cheryl Clarke( Book )

2 editions published in 2016 in English and held by 45 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Tiny & Ruby : hell divin' women( Visual )

1 edition published in 1988 in English and held by 22 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This tribute profiles the legendary jazz trumpeter Ernestine "Tiny" Davis, and her lover and partner of 40 years, drummer Ruby Lucas (aka Renee Phelan). Includes colorful interviews with Tiny and Ruby in their Chicago home, compelling archival material, lively musical performances, and an evocative narration by poet Cheryl Clarke
Best lesbian erotica 2003 by Cheryl Clarke( Book )

2 editions published between 2003 and 2012 in English and held by 12 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

24 sex stories by some of the best-known lesbian authors writing erotica today. Past books include notables such as Dorothy Allison, Sapphire, Cherrie Moraga, Heather Lewis, Jenifer Levin, Shar Rednour, and Cheryl Clarke
Alone by Cheryl Clarke( Book )

1 edition published in 2014 in English and held by 9 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

After Mecca : the impact of black women on black poetry after 1968 by Cheryl Clarke( )

1 edition published in 2000 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Tiny & Ruby--hell divin' women : a film by Greta Schiller and Andrea Weiss( Visual )

1 edition published in 1986 in English and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Profiles jazz trumpeter Tiny Davis and her partner of 40 years, drummer Ruby Lucas. Weaves together rare jazz recordings, live performances, vintage photographs, and narrative poetry by Cheryl Clarke
Best Lesbian erotica 2002 by Amber L Hollibaugh( Book )

1 edition published in 2003 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The bestselling lesbian erotica series in America! Capturing the hottest, freshest lesbian erotica of the year. "For me, the best erotic stories closely resemble the people who make my skin flush hot pink and send my head into overdrive. They're fiercely intelligent, confident and intricate. They can sweep me off my feet or catch me off guard. They are tender and nasty and just a little bit dangerous. They are not always what you expect them to be."--Tristan Taormino, series editor
Sister outsider : essays and speeches by Audre Lorde( Book )

2 editions published in 2007 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Presenting the essential writings of black lesbian poet and feminist writer Audre Lorde, SISTER OUTSIDER celebrates an influential voice in twentieth-century literature. In this charged collection of fifteen essays and speeches, Lorde takes on sexism, racism, ageism, homophobia, and class, and propounds social difference as a vehicle for action and change. Her prose is incisive, unflinching, and lyrical, reflecting struggle but ultimately offering messages of hope. This commemorative edition includes a new foreword by Lorde scholar and poet Cheryl Clarke, who celebrates the ways in which Lorde's philosophies resonate more than twenty years after they were first published. These landmark writings are, in Lorde's own words, a call to “never close our eyes to the terror, to the chaos which is Black which is creative which is female which is dark which is rejected which is messy which is. . . .”
InVersions : writing by dykes, queers & lesbians( Book )

1 edition published in 1991 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

The failure to transform homophobia in the black community by Cheryl Clarke( )

1 edition published in 2005 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Rondeau; The turnstyle;Greta Garbo by Cheryl Clarke( )

in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

http://hdl.handle.net/2027/spo.0499697.0018.312
Cheryl Clarke : 4/3/1997 reading( Visual )

1 edition published in 1997 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Cheryl Clarke reads selections from her poetry and prose followed by a question and answer session
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.45 (from 0.06 for "Walking o ... to 0.81 for Alone / ...)

"After Mecca" : women poets and the Black Arts Movement
Alternative Names
Cheryl Clarke American writer

Clarke, Cheryl L., 1947-

Languages
English (48)

Covers
The days of good looks : the prose and poetry of Cheryl Clarke, 1980 to 2005Living as a lesbian : poetryHumid pitch : narrative poetryExperimental love : poetryBest lesbian erotica 2003Best Lesbian erotica 2002Sister outsider : essays and speeches