WorldCat Identities

Clarke, Cheryl 1947-

Overview
Works: 19 works in 38 publications in 1 language and 1,669 library holdings
Genres: Poetry  Criticism, interpretation, etc  History  Short stories  Fiction  Music 
Roles: Interviewee
Classifications: PS3553.L314, 811.509896073
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Cheryl Clarke Publications about Cheryl Clarke
Publications by  Cheryl Clarke Publications by Cheryl Clarke
Most widely held works by Cheryl Clarke
"After Mecca" : women poets and the Black Arts Movement by Cheryl Clarke ( Book )
6 editions published between 2004 and 2006 in English and held by 556 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Narratives : poems in the tradition of Black women by Cheryl Clarke ( Book )
6 editions published between 1982 and 1983 in English and held by 246 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The days of good looks : the prose and poetry of Cheryl Clarke, 1980 to 2005 by Cheryl Clarke ( Book )
1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 219 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Living as a lesbian : poetry by Cheryl Clarke ( Book )
4 editions published between 1986 and 2014 in English and held by 215 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"Nothing lukewarm here. Cheryl Clarke writes variations on the themes of blackness, anger, violence, loss, loneliness, lesbianism, and sex. Her form is elegant, her language direct, her images strong. The impact is stunning."--BOOK JACKET
Humid pitch : narrative poetry by Cheryl Clarke ( Book )
3 editions published in 1989 in English and held by 162 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Experimental love : poetry by Cheryl Clarke ( Book )
3 editions published in 1993 in English and held by 147 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"Perhaps the preeminent African American lesbian poet writing today, Cheryl Clarke has a heady command of the language, the ability to work in a variety of forms, and an uncompromising Black and queer stance. This is her fourth book, following in the tradition of Narratives, Living As A Lesbian, and Humid Pitch."--BOOK JACKET
Black womyn conversations with lesbians of African descent ( Visual )
2 editions published between 2011 and 2013 in English and held by 52 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A documentary film focusing on the lives and views of lesbians of African descent from various backgrounds. Interviews were conducted with close to 50 out black lesbians including Cheryl Clarke, Aishah Shahidah Simmons, Staceyann Chin, Michelle Parkerson, KIN (IQ & NOR), and Fiona Zedde
Tiny & Ruby hell divin' women ( Visual )
2 editions published between 1986 and 1988 in English and held by 27 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This tribute profiles the legendary jazz trumpeter Ernestine "Tiny" Davis, and her lover and partner of 40 years, drummer Ruby Lucas (aka Renee Phelan). Includes colorful interviews with Tiny and Ruby in their Chicago home, compelling archival material, lively musical performances, and an evocative narration by poet Cheryl Clarke
Best lesbian erotica 2003 ( Book )
1 edition published in 2003 in English and held by 14 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Cheryl Clarke 4/3/1997 reading ( Visual )
1 edition published in 1997 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide
Cheryl Clarke reads selections from her poetry and prose followed by a question and answer session
Narratives poems in the tradition of black women by Cheryl Clarke ( Recording )
1 edition published in 1983 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide
"In this poetry/play, author Cheryl Clarke describes hair straightening, relationships, growing old, motherhood, and the death of Martin Luther King."
InVersions : writing by dykes, queers & lesbians ( Book )
1 edition published in 1991 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide
Rebels of the Afro-American literary tradition Black lesbian writers ( Visual )
1 edition published in 1987 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide
Cheryl Clarke talks about her own ideas about Afro-American lesbians' history, attitudes and their issues on writings
The failure to transform homophobia in the black community by Cheryl Clarke ( )
1 edition published in 2005 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.64 (from 0.10 for Cheryl Cla ... to 1.00 for Audio coll ...)
Languages
English (38)
Covers