WorldCat Identities

Griffith, Elizabeth 1727-1793

Overview
Works: 199 works in 950 publications in 3 languages and 11,003 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Criticism, interpretation, etc  History  Biography 
Roles: Author, Translator, Other, Singer, Correspondent
Classifications: PR3505.G43, 813.1
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Elizabeth Griffith
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Elizabeth Griffith
The morality of Shakespeare's drama illustrated by Elizabeth Griffith( Book )

59 editions published between 1775 and 2005 in English and Undetermined and held by 526 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The school for rakes a comedy by Elizabeth Griffith( Book )

121 editions published between 1769 and 2011 in English and Irish and held by 451 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The delicate distress by Elizabeth Griffith( Book )

25 editions published between 1775 and 1997 in English and held by 418 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Against a backdrop of rural England and Paris of the ancien regime, Elizabeth Griffith takes the epistolary novel of sensibility in the tradition of Samuel Richardson and Jean-Jacques Rousseau and re-imagines it from a feminist perspective that centers on strong, intelligent, and virtuous women. Two sisters exchange letters about urgent ethical questions concerning love, marriage, morality, art, the duties of wives and husbands, and passion versus reason, while two men correspond about the same subjects. The Delicate Distress is one of the earliest novels to explore the psychology of characters who observe and reflect but engage in no grand public actions
Letters addressed to young married women by Elizabeth Griffith( Book )

43 editions published between 1782 and 1796 in English and German and held by 300 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The double mistake a comedy by Elizabeth Griffith( Book )

64 editions published between 1765 and 2011 in English and held by 264 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Shipwreck and adventures of Monsieur Pierre Viaud by Jean Gaspard Dubois-Fontanelle( Book )

43 editions published between 1771 and 2005 in English and Irish and held by 207 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

L'authenticité du récit de ce naufrage, qui aurait eu lieu en 1766 sur les côtes de la Floride, a été mise en question et l'ouvrage a aussi été attribué à Dubois-Fontanelle. Dans les éd. modernes, Viaud est cependant considéré comme l'auteur du fond de ce récit d'un naufrage authentique
The times a comedy by Elizabeth Griffith( Book )

32 editions published between 1765 and 1953 in English and held by 183 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The platonic wife a comedy by Elizabeth Griffith( Book )

39 editions published between 1745 and 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 183 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A wife in the right a comedy by Elizabeth Griffith( Book )

24 editions published between 1772 and 2011 in English and held by 166 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The memoirs of Ninon de L'Enclos with her letters to Mons. De St. Evremond, and to the Marquis de Sevigné by Douxménil( Book )

21 editions published between 1761 and 1806 in English and Irish and held by 140 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Amana a dramatic poem by Elizabeth Griffith( Book )

18 editions published between 1764 and 1954 in English and held by 111 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A series of genuine letters between Henry and Frances by Richard Griffith( Book )

49 editions published between 1757 and 2005 in English and held by 97 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A series of genuine letters, between Henry and Frances by Richard Griffith( )

9 editions published between 1757 and 2005 in English and held by 88 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Novellettes : selected for the use of young ladies and gentlemen by Elizabeth Griffith( Book )

20 editions published between 1780 and 1784 in English and held by 37 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The history of Lady Barton, a novel in letters by Elizabeth Griffith( Book )

16 editions published between 1771 and 1773 in English and held by 33 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A series of genuine letters between Henry and Frances The second edition, revised, corrected, enlarged, and improved, by the authors. by Richard Griffith( Book )

20 editions published between 1761 and 1767 in English and held by 25 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"After a long engagement, Elizabeth and Richard wdre married about 1752. These somewhat sentimental love letters, which passed between them during this period, had a great success on publication. A delightful account of the authors is to be fund in Dr. Tompkins': The polite marriage."
A collection of novels by Elizabeth Griffith( Book )

10 editions published in 1777 in English and held by 24 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Elizabeth Griffith; a biographical and critical study by Dorothy Hughes Eshleman( Book )

2 editions published in 1949 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.60 (from 0.22 for Shipwreck ... to 0.99 for Elizabeth ...)

The delicate distress
Alternative Names
Author of Eugenie

Author of Eugenie 1720?-1793

Author of Eugenie 1727-1793

Elizabeth Griffith auteur dramatique et romancière

Elizabeth Griffith awdures o Gymru a fu'n byw yn Iwerddon

Elizabeth Griffith irische Schriftstellerin und Schauspielerin

Elizabeth Griffith Irish writer

Elizabeth Griffith toneelactrice uit Ierland (1727-1793)

Elizabeth Griffith Welsh-Irish writer

Eugenie, Author of 1720?-1793

Frances

Frances 1720?-1793

Frances 1727-1793

Griffith, .. 1727-1793

Griffith, .. 1727-1793 Mrs

Griffith, E.

Griffith, E. 1720?-1793

Griffith, E. 1727-1793

Griffith, E. (Elizabeth), 1720?-1793

Griffith, Eliza

Griffith, Eliza 1720?-1793

Griffith, Eliza 1727-1793

Griffith, Elizabeth 1720?-1793

Griffith, Elizabeth ca.1727-1793

Griffith, Elizabeth Griffith

Griffith, Elizabeth Griffith 1720?-1793

Griffith, Elizabeth Griffith 1727-1793

Griffith, Mrs 1727-1793

Griffith, Mrs. (Elizabeth), 1720?-1793

Griffiths, Elizabeth

Griffiths, Elizabeth 1720?-1793

Griffiths, Elizabeth 1727-1793

Lady

Lady 1720?-1793

Madame de ***

Mrs. Griffith

Languages
English (626)

Irish (4)

German (1)

Covers