WorldCat Identities

Vinge, Vernor

Overview
Works: 69 works in 311 publications in 14 languages and 8,401 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Political fiction  Science fiction  Short stories 
Roles: Author, Contributor
Classifications: PS3572.I534, 813.54
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Vernor Vinge
A fire upon the deep by Vernor Vinge( Book )

61 editions published between 1992 and 2013 in 10 languages and held by 1,557 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Scientists release an ancient Transcendent artifact that destroys thousands of worlds and enslaves all natural and artificial intelligence, only one ship escapes and the struggle begins
A deepness in the sky by Vernor Vinge( Book )

32 editions published between 1999 and 2015 in 9 languages and held by 1,321 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

On the world of Arachna, the Qeng Ho battle the Emergents, and only Pham Numen has a chance to foil the horrendous Emergents plan
Rainbows end by Vernor Vinge( Book )

26 editions published between 2006 and 2013 in 4 languages and held by 1,248 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In a near-future western civilization that is threatened by corruptive practices within its technologically advanced information networks, a recovered Alzheimer's victim and his family are caught up in a dangerous maelstrom beyond their worst imaginings
The children of the sky by Vernor Vinge( Book )

12 editions published between 2011 and 2012 in English and French and held by 1,059 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Ten years have passed on Tines World, where Ravna Bergnsdot and a number of human children ended up after a disaster that nearly obliterated humankind throughout the galaxy. Ravna and the pack animals for which the planet is named have survived a war, and Ravna has saved more than one hundred children who were in cold-sleep aboard the vessel that brought them. While there is peace among the Tines, there are those among them--and among the humans--who seek power...and no matter the cost, these malcontents are determined to overturn the fledgling civilization that has taken root since the humans landed. On a world of fascinating wonders and terrifying dangers, Vernor Vinge has created a powerful novel of adventure and discovery that will entrance the many readers of A Fire Upon the Deep. Filled with the inventiveness, excitement, and human drama that have become hallmarks of his work, this new novel is sure to become another great milestone in Vinge's already stellar career. "--
Marooned in realtime by Vernor Vinge( Book )

22 editions published between 1986 and 2004 in 6 languages and held by 634 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

On a distant future Earth where the human race has inexplicably dwindled to some three hundred members, a secretive person harbors a deadly secret that he or she is willing to kill in order to protect
The collected stories of Vernor Vinge by Vernor Vinge( Book )

14 editions published between 2001 and 2008 in 3 languages and held by 604 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A compilation of short fiction by the Hugo Award winner ranges from his earliest works to his longer takes from the 1970s and 1980s and includes "The Ungoverned" and "The Blabber."
The peace war by Vernor Vinge( Book )

15 editions published between 1984 and 2007 in 3 languages and held by 537 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Fifty years before, the "Peace Authority" took control of governments worldwide with a radically different weapon, the "bobbler, ' which encased its targets within an impenetrable force field, rendering resistance useless. after the takeover come the plagues; civilization fell into a semifeudal state, and all high technology was banned. But Paul Naismith, inventer of the bobbler, has never given up hope. After having hidden from the usurping Peace Authority for decades, he is finally ready to lead the Tinker underground against the evil he helped to create. The odds against them seem impossibly long. Nothing has been able to defeat the Peace Authority's bobbler. Until now
Across realtime by Vernor Vinge( Book )

13 editions published between 1984 and 2004 in English and Undetermined and held by 429 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Peace Authority eliminated war by using the "bobble," a unique spherical state of stasis than encapsulated an object in an impenetrable force field. Paul Naismith, reclusive leader of the Tinker underground, has deceloped his own extraordinary, illegal, technology, far surpassing the Authority, hoping to strike back someday
The witling by Vernor Vinge( Book )

12 editions published between 1976 and 2006 in English and held by 252 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Two anthropologists surveying the planet Giri are captured by the planet's inhabitants, and become caught between two warring alien societies and their deadly telekinetic powers
Tatja Grimm's world by Vernor Vinge( Book )

6 editions published between 1987 and 2006 in English and held by 120 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Multiple Hugo Award winner Vernor Vinge's first full-length novel As a mud-spattered youngster, Tatja quickly realized she was different from the stone-age primitives with whom she grew up. Her insatiable curiosity and thirst for knowledge could not be quenched among them; she had to explore and learn more about the strange world she lived on. She finds the bastion of all culture, arts, entertainment and history for the entire planet, the seven-hundred-year-old science fiction magazine Fantasie, which is produced entirely aboard a gargantuan floating vessel the size of a small city. But despite the printing presses, sail-powered vessels, and mind-expanding technology, Tatja is still dissatisfied. Rising through the ranks, she finds that the people on the enormous barge are just as unintelligent as the primitives she grew up with. But others have come to the planet who not only challenge her intelligence, but offer her a tantalizing opportunity to uncover answers to mysteries that have long plagued her. But with opportunity comes risk. And if she acts unwisely, she could bring doom to the only world she knows. At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied
True names by Vernor Vinge( Book )

6 editions published between 1981 and 1986 in English and Danish and held by 82 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A fire upon the deep by Vernor Vinge( )

4 editions published between 1995 and 2013 in English and held by 76 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In this popular and widely praised novel, a rescue mission races against time to save a pair of human children being held captive by a medieval lupine race-and to recover the weapon that will keep the universe from being changed forever
True names-- and other dangers by Vernor Vinge( Book )

2 editions published in 1987 in English and held by 61 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Grimm's world by Vernor Vinge( Book )

2 editions published between 1969 and 1978 in English and held by 54 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Zones of thought by Vernor Vinge( Book )

2 editions published in 2010 in English and held by 41 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A deepness in the sky by Vernor Vinge( )

4 editions published between 2000 and 2013 in English and held by 40 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The story of the Spiders, inhabitants of a planet where the sun regularly stops shining for periods of 200 years, during which they are frozen in ice. The novel picks them up emerging from their most recent hibernation in a frenzy of activity and innovation to make up for lost time. By the author of A Fire upon the Deep
The children of the sky by Vernor Vinge( )

3 editions published between 2011 and 2013 in English and held by 34 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Ten years have passed on Tines World, where Ravna Bergnsdot and a number of human children ended up after a disaster that nearly obliterated humankind throughout the galaxy. Ravna and the pack animals for which the planet is named have survived a war, and Ravna has saved more than one hundred children who were in cold-sleep aboard the vessel that brought them. While there is peace among the Tines, there are those among them--and among the humans--who seek power ... and no matter the cost, these malcontents are determined to overturn the fledgling civilization that has taken root since the humans landed. On a world of fascinating wonders and terrifying dangers, Vernor Vinge has created a powerful novel of adventure and discovery that will entrance the many readers of A Fire Upon the Deep. Filled with the inventiveness, excitement, and human drama that have become hallmarks of his work, this new novel is sure to become another great milestone in Vinge's already stellar career."--
Threats ... and other promises by Vernor Vinge( Book )

1 edition published in 1988 in English and held by 34 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"In a short novel and six never-before-collected stories, one of science fiction's finest authors takes science and humanity to the limit. For fans of Larry Niven, Carl Sagan, and others. From the author of Marooned in Realtime."--
Shen yuan shang de huo = A fire upon the deep by Vernor Vinge( Book )

1 edition published in 2004 in Chinese and held by 19 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Der Friedenskrieg : Roman by Vernor Vinge( Book )

7 editions published between 1989 and 1990 in German and Undetermined and held by 15 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.23 (from 0.16 for The childr ... to 0.95 for Der Friede ...)

Alternative Names
Vernor Vinge Amerikaans wiskundige

Vernor Vinge amerikansk datavetare och matematiker

Vernor Vinge amerikansk informatikar og matematikar

Vernor Vinge amerikansk informatiker og matematiker

Vernor Vinge écrivain américain

Vernor Vinge scrittore statunitense

Vernor Vinge US-amerikanischer Mathematiker, Informatiker und Science-Fiction-Autor

Vinge, Vernor

Vinge, Vernor 1944-

Vinge Vernor Steffen 1944-....

Vinge, Vernor (Vernor Steffen)

Vinge, Vernor (Vernor Steffen), 1944-

Вернор Виндж

Вернор Віндж

Върнър Виндж

וינגי, ורנור

ורנור וינג'י

ورنر وینج ریاضی‌دان و دانشمند علوم کامپیوتر آمریکایی

ヴァーナー・ヴィンジ

ヴィンジ, ヴァーナー

弗诺·文奇

Languages
English (165)

French (22)

German (14)

Spanish (13)

Italian (6)

Russian (5)

Finnish (3)

Dutch (3)

Danish (2)

Serbian (2)

Polish (2)

Hebrew (2)

Chinese (2)

Czech (1)

Covers
A deepness in the skyRainbows endThe children of the skyMarooned in realtimeThe collected stories of Vernor VingeThe peace warAcross realtimeThe witling