WorldCat Identities

Carson, Anne 1950-

Overview
Works: 116 works in 320 publications in 3 languages and 12,996 library holdings
Genres: Drama  Poetry  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Artists' books  History  Biography 
Roles: Author of introduction, Translator, Editor, Creator
Classifications: PS3553.A7667, 884.01
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Anne Carson Publications about Anne Carson
Publications by  Anne Carson Publications by Anne Carson
Most widely held works by Anne Carson
Economy of the unlost reading Simonides of Keos with Paul Celan by Anne Carson ( )
14 editions published between 1999 and 2002 in English and held by 1,473 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The ancient Greek lyric poet Simonides of Keos was the first poet in the Western tradition to take money for poetic composition. From this starting point, Anne Carson launches an exploration, poetic in its own right, of the idea of poetic economy. She offers a reading of certain of Simonides' texts and aligns these with writings of the modern Romanian poet Paul Celan, a Jew and survivor of the Holocaust, whose "economies" of language are notorious. Asking such questions as, What is lost when words are wasted? and Who profits when words are saved? Carson reveals the two poets' striking commonal
Autobiography of red : a novel in verse by Anne Carson ( Book )
25 editions published between 1998 and 2010 in English and held by 1,081 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A novel in verse on a homosexual romance between two boys. Geryon "understood / that people need / acts of attention from one another, does it really matter which acts? / He was fourteen. / 'Sex is a way of getting to know someone, ' / Herakles had said. He was sixteen." There is a strong mixture of whimsy and sadness in Geryon's story. He is tormented as a boy by his brother, escapes to a parallel world of photography, and falls in love with Herakles--a golden young man who leaves Geryon at the peak of infatuation. Geryon retreats ever further into the world created by his camera, until that glass house is suddenly and irrevocably shattered by Herakles' return. Running throughout is Geryon's fascination with his wings, the color red, and the fantastic accident of who he is
If not, winter : fragments of Sappho by Sappho ( Book )
19 editions published between 2002 and 2003 in 3 languages and held by 1,076 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"A bilingual edition of the work of the Greek poet Sappho, in a new translation by Anne Carson. Sappho lived on the island of Lesbos from about 630 B.C. She was a musical genius who devoted her life to composing and performing songs. Of the nine books of lyrics Sappho is said to have composed, none of the music is extant and only one poem has survived complete. All the rest are fragments. In If Not, Winter Carson presents all of Sappho's fragments in Greek and in English. Brackets and space give the reader a sense of what is absent as well as what is present on the papyrus. Carson's translation illuminates Sappho's reflections on love, desire, marriage, exile, cushions, bees, old age, shame, time, chickpeas and many other aspects of the human situation."--BOOK JACKET
Electra by Sophocles ( )
8 editions published in 2001 in English and held by 1,051 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"Electra recounts the murders of Clytemnestra and Aegisthus by Clytemnestra's son Orestes, to avenge their murder of his father Agamemnon, commander of the Greeks at Troy, upon his return home. Sophocles' version is presented from the viewpoint of Electra, Orestes' sister, who laments her father, bears witness to her mother's crime, and for years endures her mother's scorn. When Orestes arrives at last, her mood shifts from grief to joy as Orestes carries out the bloody vengeance. Despite her overwhelming passion for just revenge, Electra admits that her own actions are shameful."
Men in the off hours by Anne Carson ( Book )
16 editions published between 2000 and 2001 in English and held by 896 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"Carson reinvents figures as diverse as Oedipus, Emily dickinson, and Audubon. She views the writings of Sappho, St. Augustine, and Catullus through a modern lens. She sets up startling juxtapositions (Lazarus among video paraphernalia; Virginia Woolf and Thucydides discussing war). And in a final prose poem, she meditates on the recent death of her mother". -- Jacket
The beauty of the husband : a fictional essay in 29 tangos by Anne Carson ( Book )
15 editions published between 2001 and 2002 in English and held by 891 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The love affair, marriage, and disintigrating relationship between two unnamed people is revealed through the voice of a woman in twenty-nine interrelated "tangos" of narrative verse that explore such themes as desire, beauty, love, and betrayal
Eros the bittersweet : an essay by Anne Carson ( Book )
11 editions published between 1986 and 2003 in English and held by 873 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"A book about romantic love, Eros is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her," Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue."--BOOK JACKET
Decreation : poetry, essays, opera by Anne Carson ( Book )
16 editions published between 2005 and 2009 in English and held by 688 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"In her first collection in five years, Anne Carson contemplates "decreation" - an activity described by Simone Weil as "undoing the creature in us" - an undoing of self. But how can we undo self without moving through self, to the very inside of its definition? Where else can we start?" "Anne Carson's Decreation starts with form - the undoing of form. Form is various here: opera libretto, screenplay, poem, oratorio, essay, shot list, rapture. The undoing is tender, but tenderness can change everything, or so the author appears to believe."--BOOK JACKET
Grief lessons : four plays by Euripides by Euripides ( Book )
7 editions published between 2006 and 2014 in English and held by 639 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"Euripides, the last of the three great tragedians of ancient Athens, reached the height of his renown during the disastrous Peloponnesian War, when democratic Athens was brought down by its own outsized ambitions. His plays were shockers: he unmasked heroes, revealing them as foolish and savage, and he wrote about the powerless - women and children, slaves and barbarians - for whom tragedy was not so much exceptional as unending. Euripides' plays rarely won first prize in the great dramatic competitions of ancient Athens, but their combustible mixture of realism and extremism fascinated audiences throughout the Greek world." "Four of those tragedies are here presented in new translations by the contemporary poet and classicist Anne Carson. They are Herakles, in which the hero swaggers home to destroy his own family; Hekabe, set after the Trojan War, in which Hektor's widow takes vengeance on her Greek captors; Hippelytes, about love and the horror of love; and the strange tragicomic fable Alkestis, which tells of a husband who arranges for his wife to die in his place. The volume also contains brief introductions by Carson to each of the plays along with two remarkable framing essays: "Tragedy: A Curious Art Form" and "Why I Wrote Two Plays About Phaidra.""--BOOK JACKET
Red doc> by Anne Carson ( Book )
9 editions published between 2013 and 2014 in English and held by 585 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A continuation of the author's Autobiography of red (1998), following the characters in later life, but in a different style and with changed names
Plainwater : essays and poetry by Anne Carson ( Book )
11 editions published between 1995 and 2000 in English and held by 568 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In For Sun's Portion Is Toil All His Days, she writes: "Look: up every bone every sky every day every you-- / He goes working His / way up blue earlobes from ocean goes / thrown by rosesudden someone's / already tomorrow goes riding His bed of daysided gold goes / skimming / sleep countries from west to east until sudden / rosestopped someone's / already earliness opens the back of the clock: / He steps in."
The Oresteia by Aeschylus ( Book )
2 editions published in 2009 in English and held by 542 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In this innovative rendition of The Oresteia, the poet, translator, and essayist Anne Carson combines three different visions -- Aischylos' Agamemnon, Sophokles' Elektra, and Euripides' Orestes, giving birth to a wholly new experience of the classic Greek triumvirate of vengeance. Carson's accomplished rendering combines elements of contemporary vernacular with the traditional structures and rhetoric of Greek tragedy, opening up the plays to a modern audience. --from publisher description
Glass, irony, and God by Anne Carson ( Book )
10 editions published between 1995 and 2005 in English and held by 514 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Antigonick by Sophocles ( Book )
9 editions published between 2012 and 2014 in English and held by 258 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
It by Inger Christensen ( Book )
1 edition published in 2006 in English and held by 138 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"It is both a collection of poems and a single poetic epic, forming a philosophical and political statement on the nature of language, perception, and reality. The subject matter, though, is down-to-earth: amoebas, stones, and factories; fear, sea urchins, and mental institutions; sand, sexuality, and song. The words and images of it recur in ways reminiscent of Christensen's other works, but here is a younger poetry, wilder, and crackling with energy. The complex use of mathematical structure in it is faithfully captured in Susanna Nied's prize-winning English translation."--BOOK JACKET
Wonderwater : Alice Offshore by Roni Horn ( Book )
3 editions published in 2004 in English and held by 97 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Each volume contains texts written in response to the same selection of Horn's titles/phrases. The annotaters are sculptor Louise Bourgeois, writers Anne Carson and Hélène Cixous, and film director John Waters
Short talks by Anne Carson ( Book )
5 editions published between 1992 and 2005 in English and held by 97 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Euripides by Euripides ( Book )
2 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 88 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In nine paperback volumes, the Grene and Lattimore editions offer the most comprehensive selection of the Greek tragedies available in English. Over the years these authoritative, critically acclaimed editions have been the preferred choice of over three million readers for personal libraries and individual study as well as for classroom use
Wild workshop by Anne Carson ( Book )
1 edition published in 1997 in English and held by 60 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Physics, why bother? ( Visual )
2 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 46 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Explores the fundamental concepts of physics and how they influence human life
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.39 (from 0.00 for Carson, An ... to 1.00 for Confession ...)
Alternative Names
Conover, Anne
Giacomelli, Anne Carson, 1950-
Languages
English (208)
Danish (2)
Greek, Ancient (1)
Covers