WorldCat Identities

Obbink, Dirk

Overview
Works: 56 works in 224 publications in 6 languages and 8,205 library holdings
Genres: Criticism, interpretation, etc  History  Manuscripts  Conference proceedings  Poetry  Sources  Drama  Film adaptations 
Roles: Editor, Author, Translator, e d, Author of introduction, Other
Classifications: PA4271.P4, 480
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Dirk Obbink
Magika hiera ancient Greek magic and religion by Christopher A Faraone( )
22 editions published between 1989 and 1997 in English and held by 1,396 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This is a collection of essays by leading American and European scholars. Its purpose is to remedy the tendency among scholars working in Greek religion to ignore the evidence for what have traditionally been called "magical" practices in ancient Greece. Because this neglect seems to arrive from adherence to a preconceived notion about a clear dichotomy between magical and religious ritual, the editors focus on the relationship between these two areas
The language of the papyri by T. V Evans( )
16 editions published between 2008 and 2010 in English and held by 1,366 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The modern rediscovery of the Greek and Latin papyri from Egypt has transformed our knowledge of the ancient world. We cannot, however, make the same claim in the specific area of language study. Although important studies of the language of the papyri have appeared sporadically over the past century, we are still dealing today with a linguistic resource of extraordinary richness which has hardly begun to be explored. Every scrap of papyrus and every ostracon (potsherd) or tabletunearthed has the potential to change some aspect of the way we think about the Greek and Latin languages. This book
Philodemus and the New Testament world ( )
13 editions published between 2003 and 2004 in English and held by 1,202 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The 15 essays in this volume, rooted in the work of the Hellenistic Moral Philosophy and Early Christianity section of the SBL, examine the works of Philodemus and how they illuminate the cultural context of early Christianity
Philodemus and poetry poetic theory and practice in Lucretius, Philodemus, and Horace by Dirk Obbink( )
12 editions published between 1994 and 1995 in English and held by 1,123 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The volume contains a complete translation of a new text of Philodemus' On Poems book 5. Individual essays evaluate the philosophical and historical importance of these Epicurean treatises and of Philodemus as a literary theorist, as they document connections between Greek philosophy and Roman literary production in the first century B.C. The recent papyrus discoveries of Ennius, Lucretius, and Posidippus make this an especially topical volume
Doctrine and doxography : studies on Heraclitus and Pythagoras by Dirk Obbink( )
6 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 435 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This volume contains the proceedings of a conference on the Presocratic philosophers Pythagoras and Heraclitus. Investigated by a team of international scholars are key problems in doxography, Pythagorean Communities, logos, harmony, psychology, flux, number theory, ethics, and theology. Designed for all students of ancient philosophy, this volume will spur further investigations into these cardinal concerns of early Greek scientific thinkers
Carmen astrologicum elegiacum by Anubio( )
17 editions published between 2003 and 2006 in 3 languages and held by 395 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This is the editio princeps, based on new papyrus discoveries, of a Greek poem on astrology by an author whose notorious collaborations with Simon Magus is novelistically recounted in the Clementina. A versified handbook of horoscopes and introduction to the sciences, it is the only Greek astrological poem to have been written in elegiac couplets, and ist a new accession to the corpus of didactic poetry in the tradition of Aratus' Phaenomena, Manilius' Astronomica, and Ovid's Fasti. The edition offers a collection and complete re-edition of the remains of the poem's original four books: published and unpublished papyri, plus fragments and testimonia preserved in the secondary tradition
Culture in pieces essays on ancient texts in honour of Peter Parsons by R. B Rutherford( )
12 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 374 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This volume originated in a conference of the same title, held in Oxford in September 2006, to celebrate the 70th birthday of Peter Parsons, Regius Professor of Greek at Oxford from 1989 to 2003. The contributors, who are former pupils, colleagues or collaborators with Peter Parsons, share a deep admiration for him and his work. Peter Parsons has, throughout his career, been engaged in research on newly discovered papyrus texts, and such texts play an important part in this volume'sdiscussions. He has also constantly sought to use these texts to illuminate the literary and cultural history of
Philodemus in Italy : the books from Herculaneum by Marcello Gigante( Book )
8 editions published between 1990 and 2002 in English and held by 354 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The school of Hellas : essays on Greek history, archaeology, and literature by A. E Raubitschek( Book )
7 editions published between 1990 and 1991 in 3 languages and held by 332 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Matrices of genre : authors, canons, and society ( Book )
8 editions published in 2000 in English and held by 328 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
On piety. critical text with commentary by Philodemus( Book )
22 editions published between 1994 and 2006 in English and Greek, Ancient and held by 301 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Part 1
The Getty hexameters : poetry, magic, and mystery in ancient Selinous ( Book )
8 editions published between 2013 and 2014 in English and held by 136 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Looks in detail at a series of 44 verses inscribed on a recently discovered lead tablet from 5th century BC Sicily. This the first complete critical edition of the Greek text to appear in print
Columbia papyri X by Roger S Bagnall( Book )
11 editions published in 1996 in 3 languages and held by 130 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Oxyrhynchus : a city and its texts by Alan K Bowman( Book )
1 edition published in 2007 in English and held by 119 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Agamemnon a tragedy by Aeschylus by Aeschylus( Visual )
6 editions published between 1991 and 1992 in English and held by 70 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Part 1 of the Oresteia trilogy by Aeschylus
The Oxyrhynchus Papyri ( Book )
3 editions published in 2009 in English and Greek, Ancient and held by 25 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Philodemus, On piety by Dirk Obbink( Book )
1 edition published in 1996 in Greek, Ancient and held by 17 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
On piety by Philodemus( Book )
3 editions published in 1996 in English and Greek, Ancient and held by 13 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The Oxyrhynchus papyri ( Book )
1 edition published in 2005 in English and held by 12 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The Oxyrhynchus papyri ( Book )
3 editions published in 2009 in English and Multiple languages and held by 11 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.59 (from 0.33 for Philodemus ... to 0.92 for The Getty ...)
Alternative Names
Obbink, D.
Obbink, D. 1957-
Obbink, D.D.
Obbink, D. (Dirk)
Obbink, Dirk.
Obbink, Dirk D.
Languages
Covers