WorldCat Identities

Obbink, Dirk

Overview
Works: 79 works in 302 publications in 7 languages and 11,000 library holdings
Genres: Criticism, interpretation, etc  History  Manuscripts  Conference papers and proceedings  Poetry  Sources  Drama  Film adaptations 
Roles: Editor, Author, Translator, e d, Other, Author of introduction
Classifications: PA4271.P4, 187
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Dirk Obbink
Magika hiera : ancient Greek magic and religion by Christopher A Faraone( Book )

28 editions published between 1989 and 1997 in English and Undetermined and held by 661 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This collection of essays looks at an area of Greek religion traditionally called "magical practices". Focusing on the relationship between magical and religious ritual, it aims to remedy the tendency for neglect in this area
Philodemus and poetry : poetic theory and practice in Lucretius, Philodemus, and Horace by Dirk Obbink( Book )

15 editions published between 1994 and 1995 in English and Undetermined and held by 383 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The volume contains a complete translation of a new text of Philodemus' On Poems book 5. Individual essays evaluate the philosophical and historical importance of these Epicurean treatises and of Philodemus as a literary theorist, as they document connections between Greek philosophy and Roman literary production in the first century B.C. The recent papyrus discoveries of Ennius, Lucretius, and Posidippus make this an especially topical volume
Philodemus in Italy : the books from Herculaneum by Marcello Gigante( Book )

11 editions published between 1990 and 2002 in English and held by 364 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Matrices of genre : authors, canons, and society( Book )

9 editions published in 2000 in English and held by 344 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The school of Hellas : essays on Greek history, archaeology, and literature by A. E Raubitschek( Book )

9 editions published between 1990 and 1991 in 3 languages and held by 328 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

On piety. critical text with commentary by Philodemus( Book )

31 editions published between 1994 and 2006 in English and Greek, Ancient and held by 325 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Part 1
Philodemus and the New Testament world( Book )

15 editions published between 2003 and 2004 in English and held by 269 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Annotation
Carmen astrologicum elegiacum by Anubio( Book )

23 editions published between 2003 and 2012 in 4 languages and held by 214 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This is the editio princeps, based on new papyrus discoveries, of a Greek poem on astrology by an author whose notorious collaborations with Simon Magus is novelistically recounted in the Clementina. A versified handbook of horoscopes and introduction to the sciences, it is the only Greek astrological poem to have been written in elegiac couplets, and ist a new accession to the corpus of didactic poetry in the tradition of Aratus' Phaenomena, Manilius' Astronomica, and Ovid's Fasti. The edition offers a collection and complete re-edition of the remains of the poem's original four books: published and unpublished papyri, plus fragments and testimonia preserved in the secondary tradition
The language of the papyri by T. V Evans( Book )

20 editions published between 2008 and 2010 in English and Undetermined and held by 208 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"The modern rediscovery of the Greek and Latin papyri from Egypt has transformed our knowledge of the ancient world. We cannot, however, make the same claim in the specific area of language study. Although important studies of the language of the papyri have appeared sporadically over the past century, we are still dealing today with a linguistic resource of extraordinary richness which has hardly begun to be explored. Every scrap of papyrus and every ostracon (potsherd) or tablet unearthed has the potential to change some aspect of the way we think about the Greek and Latin languages. This book demonstrate that potential, by gathering together essays from seventeen scholars who present a variety of perspectives and methodological approaches. The Language of the Papyri charts current directions of international research, and will also provide a stimulus for future work."--Jacket
The Getty hexameters : poetry, magic, and mystery in ancient Selinous( Book )

13 editions published between 2013 and 2014 in English and Spanish and held by 148 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Looks in detail at a series of 44 verses inscribed on a recently discovered lead tablet from 5th century BC Sicily. This the first complete critical edition of the Greek text to appear in print
Culture in pieces : essays on ancient texts in honour of Peter Parsons by R. B Rutherford( Book )

12 editions published in 2011 in English and Undetermined and held by 133 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This volume originated in a conference of the same title, held in Oxford in September 2006, to celebrate the 70th birthday of Peter Parsons, Regius Professor of Greek at Oxford from 1989 to 2003. The contributors, who are former pupils, colleagues or collaborators with Peter Parsons, share a deep admiration for him and his work. Peter Parsons has, throughout his career, been engaged in research on newly discovered papyrus texts, and such texts play an important part in this volume'sdiscussions. He has also constantly sought to use these texts to illuminate the literary and cultural history of
Columbia papyri X by Roger S Bagnall( Book )

11 editions published in 1996 in 3 languages and held by 133 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Oxyrhynchus : a city and its texts by Alan K Bowman( Book )

1 edition published in 2007 in English and held by 131 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Agamemnon : a tragedy by Aeschylus by Aeschylus( Visual )

5 editions published between 1991 and 1992 in English and held by 65 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Part 1 of the Oresteia trilogy by Aeschylus
Doctrine and doxography : studies on Heraclitus and Pythagoras by Dirk Obbink( Book )

9 editions published in 2013 in English and Undetermined and held by 60 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This volume contains the proceedings of a conference on the Presocratic philosophers Pythagoras and Heraclitus. Investigated by a team of international scholars are key problems in doxography, Pythagorean Communities, logos, harmony, psychology, flux, number theory, ethics, and theology. Designed for all students of ancient philosophy, this volume will spur further investigations into these cardinal concerns of early Greek scientific thinkers
The Oxyrhynchus papyri( Book )

10 editions published in 2009 in 3 languages and held by 45 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The cup of song : studies on poetry and the symposion by Vanessa Cazzato( Book )

6 editions published in 2016 in English and held by 38 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

'The Cup of Song' explores the symbiotic relationship of the symposion and poetry across Greek literary history. Each chapter discusses one aspect of sympotic engagement by key authors across the major genres of Greek poetry, leading to a characterization of the full spectrum of sympotic poetry from its beginnings through to the Hellenistic age
Philodemus, On piety by Dirk Obbink( Book )

3 editions published in 1996 in 3 languages and held by 21 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Oxyrhynchus papyri by N Gonis( Book )

5 editions published in 2003 in 3 languages and held by 19 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Oxyrhynchus papyri( Book )

2 editions published in 2005 in Multiple languages and English and held by 15 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.40 (from 0.03 for The langua ... to 0.94 for The Oxyrhy ...)

Philodemus and poetry : poetic theory and practice in Lucretius, Philodemus, and Horace
Alternative Names
Dirk Obbink Amerikaans n/a

Dirk Obbink US-amerikanischer Gräzist und Papyrologe

Obbink, D.

Obbink, D. 1957-

Obbink, D.D.

Obbink, D. (Dirk)

Obbink, Dirk.

Obbink, Dirk D.

Languages
Covers
Philodemus and poetry : poetic theory and practice in Lucretius, Philodemus, and HoracePhilodemus in Italy : the books from HerculaneumMatrices of genre : authors, canons, and societyOn piety. critical text with commentaryPhilodemus and the New Testament worldCarmen astrologicum elegiacumThe language of the papyriCulture in pieces : essays on ancient texts in honour of Peter Parsons