WorldCat Identities

Państwowy Instytut Wydawniczy

Overview
Works: 4,250 works in 5,710 publications in 1 language and 6,701 library holdings
Genres: History  Fiction  Historical fiction  Christian fiction  Personal narratives  Biographies  Biography  Religious fiction  Action and adventure fiction  Bildungsromans 
Roles: Publisher, isb, Editor, Correspondent, Recipient, Other
Classifications: PG7158.S4, 891.8536
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Państwowy Instytut Wydawniczy
 
Most widely held works by Państwowy Instytut Wydawniczy
Rocznik literacki( )

in Polish and held by 75 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In desert and wilderness by Henryk Sienkiewicz( Book )

26 editions published between 1948 and 1988 in Polish and held by 39 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In the tradition of Robinson Crusoe and Treasure Island comes a Sienkiewicz novel for readers of all ages!
Fire in the steppe by Henryk Sienkiewicz( Book )

20 editions published between 1953 and 1997 in Polish and held by 25 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Told by a master storyteller who won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1905, Fire in the Steppe concludes the stories of the Trilogy's fabulous heroines and heroes who live, love and die in these pages of Poland's most enduring epic. As in the first two books, it is a masterful blend of history and imagination in which the East and the West of their era confront each other in an all-out battle, and a handful of devoted men and women makes a heroic stand. Foremost among them is Pan Volodyovski, the Little Knight of The Deluge and With Fire and Sword, and the brave, loving Basia, who rides to war beside him and overcomes terrifying dangers of her own. The inimitable Pan Zagloba, one of literature's most successfully drawn comic anti-heroes, lives, drinks, orates, and flourishes beside them along with a new cast of hard-riding border knights, ruthless villains, and devoted soldiers
Ludzie źywi( )

in Polish and held by 24 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Antek by Bolesław Prus( Book )

13 editions published between 1952 and 1982 in Polish and held by 22 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The story of Antek, a Polish boy who loses his father at a young age and the consequences it has on his life. Antek's family can't afford to send him to school, so he is apprenticed to a blacksmith to learn the trade. Antek's joy comes from his skill carving wooden figures. Includes study guide
Wspomnienia 1910-1920 by Helena Paderewska( Book )

2 editions published in 2015 in Polish and held by 22 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Jarmark cudów : 30 x Szymborska by Tadeusz Nyczek( Book )

3 editions published in 2015 in Polish and held by 22 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Potop by Henryk Sienkiewicz( Book )

14 editions published between 1949 and 1997 in Polish and held by 20 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Quo Vadis by Henryk Sienkiewicz( Book )

17 editions published between 1953 and 1990 in Polish and held by 20 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gluttony that marked Nero's Rome, Quo Vadis brims with life. Its characters include:. Vinicius, a proud centurion. He has fallen madly in love with a mysterious young woman who disappears the night they meet;. Ligia, the elusive beauty. Vinicius will not easily win her love, for she is a Christian, one of a group of dedicated believers led by the apostle Peter. Christians are rare in pagan, hedonistic Rome - their countrymen claim that they worship the head of an ass
Potop by Henryk Sienkiewicz( Book )

15 editions published between 1949 and 1997 in Polish and held by 19 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Nowele wybrane by Henryk Sienkiewicz( Book )

12 editions published between 1952 and 1973 in Polish and held by 19 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Placówka : powieść by Bolesław Prus( Book )

14 editions published between 1952 and 1985 in Polish and held by 17 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A classic of Polish literature, renowned for its objective depiction of the peasants, conveys a democratic and patriotic message
A memoir of the Warsaw uprising by Miron Białoszewski( Book )

13 editions published between 1970 and 2017 in Polish and held by 15 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

On August 1, 1944, Miron Białoszewski went out to run an errand for his mother and ran into history. With Soviet forces on the outskirts of Warsaw, the Polish capital revolted against five years of Nazi occupation. Białoszewski's blow-by-blow account of the uprising brings it alive in all its desperate urgency. Here we are in the shoes of a young man slipping back and forth under German fire, dodging sniper bullets, collapsing with exhaustion, rescuing the wounded, burying the dead. An indispensable and unforgettable act of witness, A memoir of the Warsaw Uprising is also a major work of literature. Madeline G. Levine has extensively revised her 1977 translation, and passages that were unpublishable in Communist Poland have been restored
Potop by Henryk Sienkiewicz( Book )

10 editions published between 1953 and 1997 in Polish and held by 13 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Niemcy : sztuka w 3 aktach by Leon Kruczkowski( Book )

9 editions published between 1958 and 1971 in Polish and held by 13 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Stare i nowe by Lucjan Rudnicki( Book )

7 editions published between 1948 and 1977 in Polish and held by 12 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Jemelian Pugaczow : powieść historyczna by Vâčeslav Âkovlevič Šiškov( Book )

4 editions published between 1950 and 1951 in Polish and held by 8 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Państwowy Instytut Wydawniczy, 1946-1966 : katalog by Państwowy Instytut Wydawniczy( Book )

3 editions published in 1966 in Polish and Undetermined and held by 6 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Foksal 17 by Leszek Żuliński( Book )

1 edition published in 2006 in Polish and held by 4 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Krzyżacy : powieść by Henryk Sienkiewicz( Book )

1 edition published in 1954 in Polish and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.79 (from 0.42 for Quo Vadis ... to 0.97 for Stare i no ...)

Alternative Names
Instytut Wydawniczy

Instytut Wydawniczy Warszawa

Ksiegarnia Nr 1 Państwowego Instytutu Wydawniczego.

Państ. Inst. Wydaw.

Państ. Inst. Wydawniczy.

Państ. Instytut Wydawniczy.

Państw. Inst. Wydaw.

Państw. Inst. Wydawn.

Państw. Inst. Wydawniczy.

Państw. Instytut Wydawniczy.

Państwowy Instytut Wydawniczy

Panstwowy instytut wydawniczy Firm

PIW

PIW (Państwowy Instytut Wydawniczy (Firm))

Poland Państwowy Instytut Wydawniczy

Polsko Państwowy Instytut Wydawniczy

Porozumienie Wydawców. Państwowy Instytut Wydawniczy.

State Publishing Institute

State Publishing Institute PIW

State Publishing Institute Warszawa

Wydawnictwo Państwowego Instytutu Wydawniczego.

Languages
Polish (196)