WorldCat Identities

Kristof, Agota

Overview
Works: 226 works in 1,013 publications in 29 languages and 6,405 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Allegories  Bildungsromans  Biography  War stories 
Roles: Author, Bibliographic antecedent, Contributor, Interviewee, Creator
Classifications: PQ2671.R55, 843.914
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Agota Kristof
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Agota Kristof
The proof by Agota Kristof( Book )

111 editions published between 1988 and 2014 in 16 languages and held by 729 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Après les horreurs de la guerre (cf. "Le grand cahier"), les années noires d'un régime de plomb. Avec pour principaux héros, les mêmes jumeaux. L'auteure, d'origine hongroise, vit en Suisse
The third lie by Agota Kristof( Book )

109 editions published between 1991 and 2014 in 20 languages and held by 657 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A man who fled Communism returns to post-Communist Hungary to seek reconciliation with his twin brother. A tale of morality versus expedience and survival. By the author of The Notebook
Le grand cahier : roman by Agota Kristof( Book )

46 editions published between 1986 and 2005 in 3 languages and held by 316 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Un premier roman à la charnière de deux imaginaires. "L'Ouest intimiste et l'Est politique" (G. Brisac, "Le Monde", 7 mars 1986, p. 22). Les héros sont des jumeaux qui, comme l'écrit J.-Folch-Ribas dans "La Presse" du 10 mai 1986, opposent la perversité au mal
Hier : roman by Agota Kristof( Book )

49 editions published between 1995 and 2012 in 10 languages and held by 284 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sandor Lester, tout en travaillant dans l'horlogerie, rêve qu'il a quitté son pays natal et qu'il s'est installé dans cette ville étangère où il partage le sort de tous les exilés. Il rêve à Line, la femme idéale. Or, alors qu'il prend le bus, surgit du passé, la vraie Line. Certes, Line a un bébé dans les bras. Mais n'est-elle pas aussi porteuse d'un terrible secret ?
C'est égal : nouvelles by Agota Kristof( Book )

46 editions published between 1991 and 2015 in 8 languages and held by 276 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ce recueil réunit les vingt-cinq premiers textes écrits par Agota Kristof en langue française, antérieurs aux romans qui ont rendu l'écrivaine d'origine hongroise célèbre. Entre fable et cauchemar, ils présentent déjà toutes les facettes de son univers : désespoir et humour, réalisme cruel, onirisme
The notebook by Agota Kristof( Book )

9 editions published in 1988 in 4 languages and held by 230 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

With all the stark simplicity of a fractured fairy tale, the trilogy tells the story of twin brothers, Claus and Lucas, locked in an agonizing bond that becomes a gripping allegory of the forces that have divided "brothers" in much of Europe since World War II. Kristof's postmodern saga begins with The Notebook, in which the brothers are children, lost in a country torn apart by conflict, who must learn every trick of evil and cruelty merely to survive. The story continues in subsequent books titled The Proof and The Third Lie
The notebook ; The proof ; The third lie : three novels by Agota Kristof( Book )

6 editions published between 1996 and 1997 in English and Basque and held by 163 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"These three internationally acclaimed novels have confirmed Agota Kristof's reputation as one of the most provocative exponents of new-wave European fiction. With all the stark simplicity of a fractured fairy tale, the trilogy tells the story of twin brothers, Claus and Lucas, locked in an agonizing bond that becomes a gripping allegory of the forces that have divided "brothers" in much of Europe since World War II. Kristof's postmodern saga begins with The Notebook, in which the brothers are children, lost in a country torn apart by conflict, who must learn every trick of evil and cruelty merely to survive. In The Proof, Lucas is challenging to prove his own identity and the existence of his missing brother, a defector to the "other side." The Third Lie, which closes the trilogy, is a biting parable of Eastern and Western Europe today and a deep exploration into the nature of identity, storytelling, and the truths and untruths that lie at the heart of them all." -- from publisher's website
The notebook by Agota Kristof( Book )

36 editions published between 1986 and 2014 in 7 languages and held by 136 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sent to a remote village for the duration of the war, two children devise physical and mental exercises to render themselves invulnerable to pain and sentiment. They steal, kill, blackmail and survive; others - the cobbler, the harelipped girl who craves love, the childre's parents - are sucked into war's brutal maelstrom
L'heure grise et autres pièces : théâtre by Agota Kristof( Book )

12 editions published between 1998 and 2002 in French and Georgian and held by 119 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Quatre pièces de l'auteur, parmi les plus souvent représentées, notamment sur les scènes allemandes et japonaises : quatre regards sur la condition humaine où l'humour (noir) le dispute à la gravité donnant un aperçu de l'univers de cet écrivain suisse d'origine hongroise
Trilogia della città di K. by Agota Kristof( Book )

16 editions published between 1998 and 2014 in Italian and held by 83 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Yesterday by Agota Kristof( Book )

4 editions published in 1997 in English and held by 79 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

L'analphabète : récit autobiographique by Agota Kristof( Book )

15 editions published between 2004 and 2016 in French and held by 78 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Analyse : Roman personnel
Das grosse Heft by Agota Kristof( Book )

22 editions published between 1987 and 2010 in German and Undetermined and held by 78 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Die als Hexe verschriene Grossmutter verspricht ihren Enkeln, ihnen alles beizubringen, was sie fürs Leben brauchen. Doch sie brauchen die Grossmutter nicht. Sie lernen alles selber: Sie betteln, töten, hungern, stehlen. Und alles, was sie für wahr halten, schreiben sie ins grosse Heft
Het dikke schrift ; Het bewijs ; De derde leugen by Agota Kristof( Book )

3 editions published between 2001 and 2014 in Dutch and held by 77 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Trilogie over de dramatische belevenissen van een Hongaarse tweeling tijdens de Tweede Wereldoorlog. Vanaf ca. 16 jaar
Le monstre : et autres pièces by Agota Kristof( Book )

10 editions published between 1985 and 2007 in French and Chinese and held by 76 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Théâtre avec seize personnages: sept femmes, huit hommes, une voix (La route); neuf personnages: deux femmes, sept hommes (L'épidémie); sans précisions (Le monstre; L'expiation)
The notebook by Agota Kristof( Book )

11 editions published between 1989 and 1991 in 5 languages and held by 66 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Le grand cahier ; La preuve ; Le troisième mensonge : romans by Agota Kristof( Book )

13 editions published between 1991 and 2002 in French and held by 54 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Réunit en un seul volume l'histoire de deux orphelins durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale
Le grand cahier by András Szekér( Visual )

7 editions published between 2014 and 2015 in Hungarian and held by 51 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Aan het einde van de Tweede Wereldoorlog worden de tweelingbroers Egyik en Masik naar het Hongaarse platteland gebracht bij hun wrede en drankverslaafde grootmoeder
Ieri by Agota Kristof( Book )

15 editions published between 1996 and 2012 in Italian and held by 49 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The notebook trilogy by Agota Kristof( Book )

2 editions published in 2016 in English and held by 42 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Claus and Lucas are twins. Their new life begins when they are left with their grandmother, the 'Witch', in a village in an occupied country. It's wartime. Their angelic looks are deceiving. They are implacable, dangerously ethical; what motivates them is a deeply embedded morality of absolute need. The trilogy - The Notebook, The Proof and The Third Lie - follows their stories from the Second World War, through the years of communism and into a fractured Europe. In what could be seen as an allegory of post-war Europe, the twins become separated and are isolated in different countries. They yearn to be connected again, but perspectives shift, memories diverge, identity becomes unstable...Written in Kristof 's spare, direct style, The Notebook Trilogy is an exploration of the aftereffects of trauma, particularly on children, and of the nature of storytelling. In the tradition of J.M. Coetzee or Herta Muller, these novels explore truth and lies, shaped by a breathtaking artistic vision that is shocking, fascinating and utterly memorable
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.75 (from 0.03 for European l ... to 0.96 for Ieri / ...)

Le grand cahier : romanThe notebook
Alternative Names
Agota Kristof Hungarian Swiss writer

Ágota Kristóf schweizisk författare

Ágota Kristóf schweizisk skribent

Ágota Kristóf scrittrice ungherese

Ágota Kristóf sveitsisk skribent

Ágota Kristóf Ungarisch-schweizerische Schriftstellerin

Ágota Kristóf Zwitsers schrijfster

Ágota Kristóf Zwitsers schrijver

Agota Kristofová maďarsko-švýcarská spisovatelka

Kelisiduofu, Yageta

Kelisiduofu, Yageta, 1935-2011

Kristof Agota

Kristóf, Ágota 1935-2011

Kristóf Ágota író

Kristof, Ankota

Kristof, Ankota, 1935-2011

Kristofa, Agota

Kristofová, Agota

Kristofová, Agota, 1935-2011

Krīstūf, Āghuta

Krīstūf, Āġūtā 1935-2011

Κριστόφ, Αγκότα

Агота Кристоф

Агота Крістоф

Кристоф, Агота

Кристоф, Агота 1935-2011

Ագոտա Կրիստոֆ

אגוטה קריסטוף

כריסטוף, אגוטה

أغوتا كريستوف

آگوتا کریستف نویسنده سوئیسی

ئاگۆتا کریستۆف

კრისტოფი, აგოტა, 1935-2011

아고타 크리스토프

크리스토프, 아고타

크리스토프, 아고타 1935-2011

アゴタ・クリストフ

クリシュトーフ・アーゴタ

クリストフ, アゴタ

克里斯多夫·雅歌塔

克里斯托夫

Languages
Covers
Le grand cahier : romanHier : romanThe notebook ; The proof ; The third lie : three novelsThe notebookYesterdayL'analphabète : récit autobiographiqueL'analphabète : récit autobiographique