WorldCat Identities

Kristof, Agota

Overview
Works: 302 works in 1,214 publications in 18 languages and 6,818 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Allegories  Bildungsromans  Drama  Biography  War films  Autobiographies  Gay fiction  Film adaptations 
Roles: Author, Bibliographic antecedent, Interviewee, Contributor, Creator
Classifications: PQ2671.R55, 843.914
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Agota Kristof
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Agota Kristof
The notebook by Agota Kristof( Book )

140 editions published between 1980 and 2014 in 12 languages and held by 861 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

With all the stark simplicity of a fractured fairy tale, the trilogy tells the story of twin brothers, Claus and Lucas, locked in an agonizing bond that becomes a gripping allegory of the forces that have divided "brothers" in much of Europe since World War II. Kristof's postmodern saga begins with The Notebook, in which the brothers are children, lost in a country torn apart by conflict, who must learn every trick of evil and cruelty merely to survive. The story continues in subsequent books titled The Proof and The Third Lie
The proof by Agota Kristof( Book )

114 editions published between 1988 and 2015 in 10 languages and held by 742 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Les jumeaux déjà entrevus dans ##Le grand cahier## se retrouvent en ce récit dramatique. [SDM]
The third lie by Agota Kristof( Book )

94 editions published between 1988 and 2014 in 9 languages and held by 609 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A man who fled Communism returns to post-Communist Hungary to seek reconciliation with his twin brother. A tale of morality versus expedience and survival. By the author of The Notebook
Hier : roman by Agota Kristof( Book )

57 editions published between 1995 and 2012 in 12 languages and held by 345 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Sandor Lester, tout en travaillant dans l'horlogerie, rêve qu'il a quitté son pays natal et qu'il s'est installé dans cette ville étangère où il partage le sort de tous les exilés. Il rêve à Line, la femme idéale. Or, alors qu'il prend le bus, surgit du passé, la vraie Line. Certes, Line a un bébé dans les bras. Mais n'est-elle pas aussi porteuse d'un terrible secret?
C'est égal : nouvelles by Agota Kristof( Book )

23 editions published between 1991 and 2006 in 3 languages and held by 176 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ce recueil réunit les vingt-cinq premiers textes écrits par Agota Kristof en langue française, antérieurs aux romans qui ont rendu l'écrivaine d'origine hongroise célèbre. Entre fable et cauchemar, ils présentent déjà toutes les facettes de son univers : désespoir et humour, réalisme cruel, onirisme
The notebook ; The proof ; The third lie : three novels by Agota Kristof( Book )

3 editions published between 1996 and 1997 in English and held by 164 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"These three internationally acclaimed novels have confirmed Agota Kristof's reputation as one of the most provocative exponents of new-wave European fiction. With all the stark simplicity of a fractured fairy tale, the trilogy tells the story of twin brothers, Claus and Lucas, locked in an agonizing bond that becomes a gripping allegory of the forces that have divided "brothers" in much of Europe since World War II. Kristof's postmodern saga begins with The Notebook, in which the brothers are children, lost in a country torn apart by conflict, who must learn every trick of evil and cruelty merely to survive. In The Proof, Lucas is challenging to prove his own identity and the existence of his missing brother, a defector to the "other side." The Third Lie, which closes the trilogy, is a biting parable of Eastern and Western Europe today and a deep exploration into the nature of identity, storytelling, and the truths and untruths that lie at the heart of them all." -- from publisher's website
L'heure grise et autres pièces : théâtre by Agota Kristof( Book )

14 editions published between 1998 and 2002 in French and Georgian and held by 126 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Quatre pièces de l'auteur, parmi les plus souvent représentées, notamment sur les scènes allemandes et japonaises : quatre regards sur la condition humaine où l'humour (noir) le dispute à la gravité donnant un aperçu de l'univers de cet écrivain suisse d'origine hongroise
Das grosse Heft : [Roman] by Agota Kristof( Book )

37 editions published between 1987 and 2014 in German and held by 109 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Die als Hexe verschriene Grossmutter verspricht ihren Enkeln, ihnen alles beizubringen, was sie fürs Leben brauchen. Doch sie brauchen die Grossmutter nicht. Sie lernen alles selber: Sie betteln, töten, hungern, stehlen. Und alles, was sie für wahr halten, schreiben sie ins grosse Heft
L'analphabète : récit autobiographique by Agota Kristof( Book )

17 editions published between 2004 and 2016 in French and held by 102 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Analyse : Roman personnel
Trilogia della città di K. by Agota Kristof( Book )

18 editions published between 1998 and 2014 in Italian and held by 86 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Le monstre : et autres pièces by Agota Kristof( Book )

9 editions published between 1997 and 2007 in French and Chinese and held by 83 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Théâtre avec seize personnages: sept femmes, huit hommes, une voix (La route); neuf personnages: deux femmes, sept hommes (L'épidémie); sans précisions (Le monstre; L'expiation)
Het dikke schrift ; Het bewijs ; De derde leugen by Agota Kristof( Book )

4 editions published between 2001 and 2014 in Dutch and held by 66 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Trilogie over de dramatische belevenissen van een Hongaarse tweeling tijdens de Tweede Wereldoorlog. Vanaf ca. 16 jaar
Romans, nouvelles, théâtre complet by Agota Kristof( Book )

4 editions published in 2011 in French and held by 62 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Belle occasion de lire ou de relire le ##Grand cahier## qui a rendu l'auteur célèbre, et autres textes, dont le théâtre et quelques nouvelles. [SDM]
The notebook trilogy by Agota Kristof( Book )

2 editions published in 2016 in English and held by 59 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Claus and Lucas are twins. Their new life begins when they are left with their grandmother, the 'Witch', in a village in an occupied country. It's wartime. Their angelic looks are deceiving. They are implacable, dangerously ethical; what motivates them is a deeply embedded morality of absolute need. The trilogy - The Notebook, The Proof and The Third Lie - follows their stories from the Second World War, through the years of communism and into a fractured Europe. In what could be seen as an allegory of post-war Europe, the twins become separated and are isolated in different countries. They yearn to be connected again, but perspectives shift, memories diverge, identity becomes unstable...Written in Kristof 's spare, direct style, The Notebook Trilogy is an exploration of the aftereffects of trauma, particularly on children, and of the nature of storytelling. In the tradition of J.M. Coetzee or Herta Muller, these novels explore truth and lies, shaped by a breathtaking artistic vision that is shocking, fascinating and utterly memorable
Le grand cahier ; La preuve ; Le troisième mensonge : romans by Agota Kristof( Book )

14 editions published between 1991 and 2002 in French and held by 57 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Réunit en un seul volume l'histoire de deux orphelins durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale
The Notebook = A nagy füzet by János Szász( Visual )

9 editions published between 2014 and 2015 in Hungarian and held by 54 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Aan het einde van de Tweede Wereldoorlog worden de tweelingbroers Egyik en Masik naar het Hongaarse platteland gebracht bij hun wrede en drankverslaafde grootmoeder
Die dritte Lüge Roman by Agota Kristof( Book )

13 editions published between 1993 and 2015 in German and Undetermined and held by 49 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ieri by Agota Kristof( Book )

15 editions published between 1996 and 2012 in Italian and held by 47 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Gestern Roman by Agota Kristof( Book )

8 editions published between 1996 and 2015 in German and Undetermined and held by 40 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Die Analphabetin : autobiographische Erzählung by Agota Kristof( Book )

10 editions published between 1989 and 2015 in German and Undetermined and held by 40 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Die frühe und vorerst wohlbehütete, wenn auch bescheidene Kindheit im Kreis ihres Elternhauses in Ungarn, der Vater ein Dorfschullehrer mit mäßigem Einkommen, ihr Heranwachsen während und nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, als von einem Tag auf den andern in den Schulen nur noch russisch gesprochen und gedacht werden mußte, die Verhaftung des Vaters, ihre "Kasernierung" in einem staatlichen Internat, der Tod Stalins, anläßlich dessen die Zöglinge angehalten wurden, über den verstorbenen "Großen Freund der Werktätigen" zu schreiben, ihre Flucht im November 1956, als sie ihrem jungen Ehemann zusammen mit einer Handvoll Flüchtlingen ins Ungewisse folgte, schließlich die Ankunft in der Schweiz und damit für sie, wenn auch in Sicherheit, so doch in einer kulturellen Wüste, weil der Sprache nicht mächtig. Zur Analphabetin geworden, mußte sie, die doch mit vier Jahren bereits lesen konnte, mit ihren Kindern erneut lesen und schreiben und die für sie neue französische Sprache erlernen
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.59 (from 0.03 for European l ... to 0.96 for Ieri / ...)

The notebook
Covers
The third lieHier : romanThe notebook ; The proof ; The third lie : three novelsL'analphabète : récit autobiographiqueL'analphabète : récit autobiographique
Alternative Names
Agota Kristof Hungarian Swiss writer

Ágota Kristóf schweizisk författare

Ágota Kristóf schweizisk skribent

Ágota Kristóf scrittrice ungherese

Ágota Kristóf sveitsisk skribent

Ágota Kristóf ungarisch-schweizerische Schriftstellerin

Agota Kristof Zwitsers schrijfster

Ágota Kristóf Zwitsers schrijver

Agota Kristofová maďarsko-švýcarská spisovatelka

Kelisiduofu, Yageta

Kelisiduofu, Yageta, 1935-2011

Kristof Agota

Kristóf, Ágota 1935-2011

Kristóf Ágota író

Kristof, Ankota

Kristof, Ankota, 1935-2011

Kristofa, Agota

Kristofová, Agota

Kristofová, Agota, 1935-2011

Krīstūf, Āghuta

Krīstūf, Āġūtā 1935-2011

Κριστόφ, Αγκότα

Агота Кристоф

Агота Кристоф швейцарская писательница венгерского происхождения

Агота Крістоф швейцарська письменниця угорського походження

Кристов, Агота

Кристоф, Агота

Кристоф, Агота 1935-2011

Ագոտա Կրիստոֆ

אגוטה קריסטוף

כריסטוף, אגוטה

أغوتا كريستوف

آگوتا کریستف

آگوتا کریستف نویسنده سوئیسی

ئاگۆتا کریستۆف

ಆಗೊತ ಕ್ರಿಸ್ಟೋಫ್

კრისტოფი, აგოტა, 1935-2011

아고타 크리스토프

크리스토프, 아고타

크리스토프, 아고타 1935-2011

アゴタ・クリストフ

クリシュトーフ・アーゴタ

クリストフ, アゴタ

克里斯多夫·雅歌塔

克里斯多夫 雅歌塔, 1935-2011

克里斯托夫

Languages
French (323)

German (107)

English (45)

Chinese (34)

Italian (33)

Japanese (26)

Hebrew (12)

Hungarian (11)

Korean (11)

Georgian (10)

Dutch (8)

Basque (7)

Vietnamese (6)

Catalan (6)

Croatian (4)

Polish (3)

Spanish (3)

Serbian (2)