WorldCat Identities

Coe, Jonathan

Overview
Works: 165 works in 763 publications in 8 languages and 13,331 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Domestic fiction  Psychological fiction  Political fiction  Biography  Picaresque literature  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Humorous stories  Suspense fiction  Satire 
Roles: Editor, Creator, Interviewee, Scenarist, Bibliographic antecedent, Narrator, Author of introduction
Classifications: PR6053.O26, 823.914
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Jonathan Coe Publications about Jonathan Coe
Publications by  Jonathan Coe Publications by Jonathan Coe
Most widely held works about Jonathan Coe
 
Most widely held works by Jonathan Coe
The rain before it falls by Jonathan Coe ( Book )
36 editions published between 2007 and 2014 in English and held by 1,688 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A family saga examines the events and relationships that bind three generations of women, as the elderly Rosamond records her memories of her troubled cousin Beatrix and the tragedy that transformed all of their lives
The Rotters' Club by Jonathan Coe ( Book )
59 editions published between 2001 and 2014 in 4 languages and held by 1,352 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Four teenage boys deal with the hopes, dreams, traumas, and challenges of adolescence as they come of age in industrial Birmingham, a British city that is confronting its own economic crisis, during the upheaval of the 1970s
The terrible privacy of Maxwell Sim by Jonathan Coe ( Book )
29 editions published between 2010 and 2013 in English and held by 1,316 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Maxwell Sim seems to have hit rock bottom. Estranged from his father, newly divorced, unable to communicate with his only daughter, he realizes that while he may have seventy-four friends on Facebook, there is nobody in the world with whom he can actually share his problems. Then a business proposition comes his way -- a strange exercise in corporate PR that will require him to spend a week driving from London to a remote retail outlet on the Shetland Isles. Setting out with an open mind, good intentions and a friendly voice on his SatNav for company, Maxwell finds that this journey soon takes a more serious turn, and carries him not only to the furthest point of the United Kingdom, but into some of the deepest and darkest corners of his own past. In his sparkling and hugely enjoyable new book Jonathan Coe reinvents the picaresque novel for our time
The closed circle by Jonathan Coe ( Book )
35 editions published between 2004 and 2014 in English and held by 1,219 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Brothers Paul and Benjamin Trotter find their lives blown apart when they encounter enemies from their childhood days who still hold grudges over the way the brothers treated them
The house of sleep by Jonathan Coe ( Book )
34 editions published between 1997 and 2014 in English and Turkish and held by 1,050 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In a sleep-disorder clinic in Britain, a doctor performs experiments on a motley bunch to have them do with less sleep. A satirical look at British attitudes to sleep, sex, work, medical care and, inevitably, class
The Winshaw legacy : or, what a carve up! by Jonathan Coe ( Book )
49 editions published between 1994 and 2013 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,001 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A social satire on Britain today. The narrator is a writer hired to do the biography of a prominent upper-class family. In the process, he finds the family represents everything that is wrong with the country, from Hilary, the yellow journalist, to Thomas, the inside trader, to Henry, the hypocritical medicare reformer, and so up and down the family tree
Jimmy Stewart : a wonderful life by Jonathan Coe ( Book )
7 editions published between 1994 and 2013 in English and held by 686 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A heavily illustrated biography of the movie star
Like a fiery elephant : the story of B.S. Johnson by Jonathan Coe ( Book )
20 editions published between 2004 and 2006 in English and held by 474 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"Like a Fiery Elephant tells the story of B.S. Johnson, one of Britain's most productive, passionate, and controversial writers of the 1960s and 70s. Johnson was an unflinching advocate for the avant-garde in both literature and film, and he held some strong (some would say extreme) views on the future of the novel. Working firmly in the tradition of Sterne, Joyce, and Beckett, he was determined to reinvent the novel with each attempt. His innovations included a book with holes cut through the pages (Albert Angelo) and - most famously - a novel published in a box so that its unbound chapters could be shuffled and read in any order (The Unfortunates)."
Humphrey Bogart : take it & like it by Jonathan Coe ( Book )
9 editions published between 1991 and 1992 in English and Undetermined and held by 360 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Expo 58 by Jonathan Coe ( Book )
18 editions published between 2013 and 2014 in 5 languages and held by 357 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
London, 1958: unassuming civil servant Thomas Foley is plucked from his desk at the Central Office of Information and sent on a six-month trip to Brussels. His task: to keep an eye on The Brittania, a brand new pub which will form the heart of the British presence at Expo 58 - the biggest World's Fair of the century
The terrible privacy of Maxwell Sim by Jonathan Coe ( Recording )
16 editions published between 2010 and 2011 in English and held by 283 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
While he may have 74 friends on Facebook, there is nobody in the world with whom Maxwell Sim can actually share his problems. Then business requires him to drive to the Shetland Isles, but the journey soon takes a more serious turn
The dwarves of death by Jonathan Coe ( Book )
22 editions published between 1990 and 2014 in English and held by 242 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"William has a lot on his mind. Firstly there's The Alaska Factory, the band he plays in. They're no good and they make his songs sound about as groovy as an unpressed record. In fact they're so bad he's seriously thinking of leaving to join a group called The Unfortunates. Secondly, there's Madeleine, his high-maintenance girlfriend whose idea of a night of passion is an Andrew Lloyd Webber musical followed by a doorstep peck on the cheek. Maybe they're not soulmates after all? Lastly, there's the bizarre murder he's just witnessed. The guiding force behind The Unfortunates lies bludgeoned to death at his feet and, unfortunately for William, there aren't too many other suspects standing nearby ..."--P. [4] of cover
A touch of love by Jonathan Coe ( Book )
19 editions published between 1989 and 2014 in English and held by 218 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The accidental woman by Jonathan Coe ( Book )
20 editions published between 1987 and 2014 in English and held by 217 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Indifferent by choice, indecisive by nature, Maria ploughs her way through fifteen years of womanhood, unable to see what all the fuss is about. Will she ever be able to direct the course of her own life, or wil it end as it began - by accident?
The rain before it falls by Jonathan Coe ( Recording )
9 editions published between 2007 and 2008 in English and Undetermined and held by 178 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Rosamund lies dying in her remote Shropshire home. But before she does so, she has one last task: to put on tape not just her own story but the story of the young blind girl, her cousin's granddaughter, who turned up mysteriously at her party all those years ago. This is a story of generations, of the relationships within a family--and of what goes to make a child
The closed circle a novel by Jonathan Coe ( Recording )
9 editions published between 2004 and 2005 in English and held by 144 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
It's December 31, 1999, Benjamin and his brother Paul are watching the celebrations on tv. Neither of them can know their lives are soon about to implode
The Rotter's Club by Jonathan Coe ( Recording )
13 editions published between 2001 and 2011 in English and held by 116 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Four friends navigate the choppy waters of 1970s Birmingham
De gebroken spiegel by Jonathan Coe ( Book )
1 edition published in 2013 in Dutch and held by 109 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Toen Claire acht jaar was, vond ze op een vuilnisbelt een stuk van een gebroken spiegel. Als ze in de spiegel kijkt, ziet de nare werkelijkheid er sprookjesachtig mooi uit. Op een dag ontmoet ze een jongen die ook een stukje spiegel heeft. Vanaf ca. 12 jaar
James Stewart, leading man by Jonathan Coe ( Book )
3 editions published in 1994 in English and held by 109 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
What a carve up! by Jonathan Coe ( Recording )
10 editions published between 2005 and 2010 in English and Undetermined and held by 108 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In 1980s Britain, the Winshaw family--an integral part of the British Establishment--are becoming more wealthy and corrupt by the day. Newspaper columnist Hilary Winshaw gets thousands for telling it like it isn't; Henry is turning hospitals into carparks; Roddy is selling art in return for sex; down on the farm, Dorothy's squealing every last pound from her livestock; Thomas is making a killing on the stock exchange, and Mark is selling arms to dictators. Michael Pearce, a reclusive novelist (and our narrator), is commissioned to write their biography by a wealthy geriatric who wishes to expose them
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.20 (from 0.08 for De gebroke ... to 0.39 for Like a fie ...)
Alternative Names
Coe, Jonathan
Coe, Jonathan 1961-
Коу, Джонатан
קו, ג׳ונתן
Languages
English (400)
Dutch (5)
French (3)
Polish (2)
Turkish (1)
Portuguese (1)
Italian (1)
Greek, Modern (1)
Covers