WorldCat Identities

Tan, Amy

Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Amy Tan
The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan( Book )

141 editions published between 1989 and 2014 in 15 languages and held by 6,283 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In 1949, four Chinese women--drawn together by the shadow of their past--begin meeting in San Francisco to play mah jong, invest in stocks and "say" stories. They call their gathering the Joy Luck Club--and forge a relationship that binds them for more than three decades. A celebrated novel in the tradition of Alice Adams and Margaret Atwood from the bestselling author of The Kitchen God's Wife
The bonesetter's daughter by Amy Tan( Book )

110 editions published between 2001 and 2015 in 11 languages and held by 6,275 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Set in contemporary San Francisco and in a Chinese village where Peking Man is unearthed, "The Bonesetter's Daughter" is an excavation of the human spirit: the past, its deepest wounds, its most profound hopes. This is the story of LuLing Young, who searches for the name of her mother, the daughter of the famous Bonesetter from the Mouth of the Mountain. The story conjures the pain of broken dreams, the power of myths, and the strength of love that enables us to recover in memory what we have lost in grief
The kitchen god's wife by Amy Tan( Book )

116 editions published between 1991 and 2008 in 13 languages and held by 6,105 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The mesmerizing story a Chinese emigre mother tells her daughter
The hundred secret senses by Amy Tan( Book )

130 editions published between 1993 and 2013 in 10 languages and held by 5,834 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The story of two sisters, one brought up in the U.S., the other in China. The American sister is contemptuous of the other's belief in ghosts until events cause her to understand what they can do. A tale of two cultures by the author of The Kitchen God's Wife.--
Saving fish from drowning by Amy Tan( Book )

67 editions published between 2005 and 2008 in 5 languages and held by 5,427 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A pious man explained to his followers: "It is evil to take lives and noble to save them. Each day I pledge to save a hundred lives. I drop my net in the lake and scoop out a hundred fishes. I place the fishes on the bank, where they flop and twirl. 'Don't be scared, ' I tell those fishes. 'I am saving you from drowning.' Soon enough, the fishes grow calm and lie still. Yet, sad to say, I am always too late. The fishes expire. And because it is evil to waste anything, I take those dead fishes to market and I sell them for a good price. With the money I receive, I buy more nets so I can save more fishes."--Anonymous Twelve American tourists join an art expedition that begins in the Himalayan foothills of China - dubbed the true Shangri-La - and heads south into the jungles of Burma. But after the mysterious death of their tour leader, the carefully laid plans fall apart, and disharmony breaks out among the pleasure-seekers as they come to discover that the Burma Road is paved with less-than-honorable intentions, questionable food, and tribal curses. And then, on Christmas morning, eleven of the travelers boat across a misty lake for a sunrise cruise - and disappear. Drawing from the current political reality in Burma and woven with pure confabulation, Amy Tan's picaresque novel poses the question: How can we discern what is real and what is fiction, in everything we see? How do we know what to believe?
The Valley of Amazement by Amy Tan( Book )

41 editions published between 2013 and 2015 in English and Spanish and held by 3,720 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Violet Minturn, a half-Chinese/half-American courtesan who deals in seduction and illusion in Shanghai, struggles to find her place in the world, while her mother, Lucia, tries to make sense of the choices she has made and the men who have shaped her
The Joy Luck Club by Wayne Wang( Visual )

19 editions published between 1993 and 2013 in 5 languages and held by 2,502 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Four mothers. Four daughters. Eight stories. The Joy Luck Club is four women in San Francisco who have played mah jong together on a weekly basis to for forty some years. One of them, Suyuan, has died, and her daughter June is preparing to go to China. Auntie Lindo with daughter Waverly, Auntie Ying Ying with daughter Lena, and Auntie An Mei with daughter Rose are at the going away party. Born in China, the Joy Luck Club members came to America as young adults; their daughters are 100% American. The old days are seldom spoken about, and some things about those times have never been said aloud, but the experiences left behind color the hopes and expectations these women have for their daughters. If daughters become their mothers--no matter how much both parties desire that it not happen--daughters also become different from their mothers--despite all attempts to perpetuate the status quo
The Moon Lady by Amy Tan( Book )

15 editions published between 1992 and 1995 in English and Spanish and held by 1,745 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Nai-nai tells her granddaughters the story of her outing, as a seven-year-old girl in China, to see the Moon Lady and be granted a secret wish. Suggested level: primary
The Chinese Siamese cat by Amy Tan( Book )

15 editions published between 1993 and 2003 in English and Portuguese and held by 1,297 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ming Miao tells her kittens about the antics of one of their ancestors, Sagwa of China, that produced the unusual markings they have had for thousands of years
Saving fish from drowning by Amy Tan( Recording )

33 editions published between 2004 and 2015 in English and held by 1,279 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

On an ill-fated art expedition to the southern Shan State in Burma, eleven Americans find themselves deep in the Burma jungle, where they encounter a tribe waiting the return of the leader and the mystical book of wisdom that will protect them from the ravages and destruction of the Myanmar military regime
The bonesetter's daughter by Amy Tan( Recording )

9 editions published between 2001 and 2008 in English and held by 1,031 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A novel depicting the power of broken dreams and past memories as well as the healing power of love.--
The kitchen god's wife by Amy Tan( Recording )

28 editions published between 1991 and 2013 in English and No Linguistic content and held by 686 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Helen and Winnie keep each other's secrets until Helen becomes convinced she is dying and decides to tell some secrets that could cause problems between Winnie and her daughter
An introduction to The age of innocence by Edith Wharton by Dan Stone( Recording )

4 editions published between 2007 and 2008 in English and held by 666 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Readings of excerpts from and critical analysis of Wharton's The age of innocence, a novel about the upper classes of New York and the story of Newland Archer's love for Countess Olenska
An introduction to The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan audio guide by Adam Kampe( Recording )

3 editions published between 2006 and 2008 in English and held by 638 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Readings of excerpts from and critical analysis of Amy Tan's The Joy Luck Club, a novel about four mothers, four daughters, and four families whose paths cross in 1949 in San Francisco as four Chinese women begin meeting to eat dim sum, play mahjong, and talk
The Best American short stories, 1999 : selected from U.S. and Canadian magazines by Amy (edi) Tan( Book )

7 editions published in 1999 in English and held by 623 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Best American series is the premier annual showcase for the country's finest short fiction and nonfiction. Each volume's series editor selects notable works from hundreds of periodicals. A special guest editor, a leading writer in the field, then chooses the best twenty or so pieces to publish. This unique system has made the Best American series the most respected, and most popular, of its kind
The hundred secret senses by Amy Tan( Recording )

26 editions published between 1966 and 2009 in English and Undetermined and held by 578 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A Chinese American girl experiences the connections between chance and fate, beliefs and hopes, memory and imagination
The opposite of fate : a book of musings by Amy Tan( Book )

15 editions published between 2003 and 2007 in 3 languages and held by 486 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Product Description: Amy Tan has touched millions of readers with haunting and sympathetic novels of cultural complexity and profound empathy. With the same spirit and humor that characterize her acclaimed novels, she now shares her insight into her own life and how she escaped the curses of her past to make a future of her own. She takes us on a journey from her childhood of tragedy and comedy to the present day and her arrival as one of the world's best-loved novelists. Whether recalling arguments with her mother in suburban California or introducing us to the ghosts that inhabit her computer, The Opposite of Fate offers vivid portraits of choices, attitudes, charms, and luck in action-a refreshing antidote to the world-weariness and uncertainties we all face today
The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan( Recording )

10 editions published between 1989 and 2008 in English and held by 364 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Amy Tan effortlessly mixes tenderness and bitter irony, sorrow and slicing wit. The Joy Luck Club is a fabulous concoction." In 1949 four Chinese women--drawn together by the shadow of their past--begin meeting in San Francisco to play mah jong, invest in stocks, eat dim sum, and "say" stories. Nearly forty years later one of the members has died, and her daughter has come to take her place, only to learn of her mother's lifelong wish and the tragic way in which it has come true. The revelation of this secret unleashes an urgent need among the women to reach back and remember. In this extraordinary first work of fiction, Amy Tan writes about what is lost--over the years, between generations, among friends--and what is saved
Selected from the Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan( Book )

4 editions published in 1992 in English and held by 348 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

For the adult new reader, selections from the novel on contemporary Chinese-American women
Sagwa the Chinese Siamese cat : cat nights, flights and delights( Visual )

6 editions published between 2002 and 2003 in English and held by 338 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Growing up is fun, but its hard work too. Sagwa and her friends learn that hard work, self-confidence and determination pay off
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.16 (from 0.07 for Amy Tan : ... to 0.47 for Fate! Luck ...)

WorldCat IdentitiesRelated Identities
The Joy Luck Club
Alternative Names
Amy Tan.

Amy, Tan, 1952-

Amy Tan Amerikaans schrijfster

Amy Tan Amerikaans schrijver

Amy Tan amerikansk författare

Amy Tan amerikansk skribent

Amy Tan chinesisch-amerikanische Schriftstellerin

Amy Tan écrivain américaine

Amy Tan pisarka amerykańska

Amy Tan scrittrice statunitense

Tan, Amy

Tan, Amy 1952-

Tan, An-mei Ruth 1952-

Tan, Eimi

Ṭan, Eimi 1952-

T'an, En-mei, 1952-

Tan, Enmei

Tan Enmei 1952-....

Ейми Тан

Емі Тан

Эми Тан

אמי טאן

טאן, אמי

טאן, אמי 1952-

טן, אמי, 1952-

آمي تان، 1952-

ایمی تن نویسنده آمریکایی

탄, 에이미

エイミ・タン

タン, エィミ

潭, 爱梅

谭, 爱梅

谭恩美

Languages
Covers
The bonesetter's daughterThe kitchen god's wifeThe hundred secret sensesSaving fish from drowningThe Moon LadyThe Chinese Siamese catSaving fish from drowningThe bonesetter's daughter