WorldCat Identities

Tan, Amy

Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works about Amy Tan
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Amy Tan
The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan( Book )
354 editions published between 1980 and 2014 in 22 languages and held by 9,265 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In 1949, four Chinese women--drawn together by the shadow of their past--begin meeting in San Francisco to play mah jong, invest in stocks and "say" stories. They call their gathering the Joy Luck Club--and forge a relationship that binds them for more than three decades. A celebrated novel in the tradition of Alice Adams and Margaret Atwood from the bestselling author of The Kitchen God's Wife
The kitchen god's wife by Amy Tan( Book )
167 editions published between 1991 and 2014 in 17 languages and held by 6,965 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The mesmerizing story a Chinese emigre mother tells her daughter
The bonesetter's daughter by Amy Tan( Book )
145 editions published between 2001 and 2014 in 15 languages and held by 6,785 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Set in contemporary San Francisco and in a Chinese village where Peking Man is unearthed, "The Bonesetter's Daughter" is an excavation of the human spirit: the past, its deepest wounds, its most profound hopes. This is the story of LuLing Young, who searches for the name of her mother, the daughter of the famous Bonesetter from the Mouth of the Mountain. The story conjures the pain of broken dreams, the power of myths, and the strength of love that enables us to recover in memory what we have lost in grief
Saving fish from drowning by Amy Tan( Book )
85 editions published between 2005 and 2014 in 7 languages and held by 5,912 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A pious man explained to his followers: "It is evil to take lives and noble to save them. Each day I pledge to save a hundred lives. I drop my net in the lake and scoop out a hundred fishes. I place the fishes on the bank, where they flop and twirl. 'Don't be scared, ' I tell those fishes. 'I am saving you from drowning.' Soon enough, the fishes grow calm and lie still. Yet, sad to say, I am always too late. The fishes expire. And because it is evil to waste anything, I take those dead fishes to market and I sell them for a good price. With the money I receive, I buy more nets so I can save more fishes."--Anonymous Twelve American tourists join an art expedition that begins in the Himalayan foothills of China - dubbed the true Shangri-La - and heads south into the jungles of Burma. But after the mysterious death of their tour leader, the carefully laid plans fall apart, and disharmony breaks out among the pleasure-seekers as they come to discover that the Burma Road is paved with less-than-honorable intentions, questionable food, and tribal curses. And then, on Christmas morning, eleven of the travelers boat across a misty lake for a sunrise cruise - and disappear. Drawing from the current political reality in Burma and woven with pure confabulation, Amy Tan's picaresque novel poses the question: How can we discern what is real and what is fiction, in everything we see? How do we know what to believe?
The hundred secret senses by Amy Tan( Book )
99 editions published between 1993 and 2014 in 11 languages and held by 5,796 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The story of two sisters, one brought up in the U.S., the other in China. The American sister is contemptuous of the other's belief in ghosts until events cause her to understand what they can do. A tale of two cultures by the author of The Kitchen God's Wife
The Valley of Amazement by Amy Tan( Book )
28 editions published between 2013 and 2014 in English and held by 3,600 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Violet Minturn, a half-Chinese/half-American courtesan who deals in seduction and illusion in Shanghai, struggles to find her place in the world, while her mother, Lucia, tries to make sense of the choices she has made and the men who have shaped her
The Joy Luck Club by Wayne Wang( Visual )
37 editions published between 1992 and 2013 in 4 languages and held by 2,673 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Four mothers. Four daughters. Eight stories. The Joy Luck Club is four women in San Francisco who have played mah jong together on a weekly basis to for forty some years. One of them, Suyuan, has died, and her daughter June is preparing to go to China. Auntie Lindo with daughter Waverly, Auntie Ying Ying with daughter Lena, and Auntie An Mei with daughter Rose are at the going away party. Born in China, the Joy Luck Club members came to America as young adults; their daughters are 100% American. The old days are seldom spoken about, and some things about those times have never been said aloud, but the experiences left behind color the hopes and expectations these women have for their daughters. If daughters become their mothers--no matter how much both parties desire that it not happen--daughters also become different from their mothers--despite all attempts to perpetuate the status quo
The bonesetter's daughter by Amy Tan( Recording )
45 editions published between 2001 and 2009 in English and held by 2,113 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A novel depicting the power of broken dreams and past memories as well as the healing power of love
The Moon Lady by Amy Tan( Book )
19 editions published between 1992 and 1995 in 4 languages and held by 1,780 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Nai-nai tells her granddaughters the story of her outing, as a seven-year-old girl in China, to see the Moon Lady and be granted a secret wish
The Chinese Siamese cat by Amy Tan( Book )
19 editions published between 1993 and 2003 in 4 languages and held by 1,360 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Ming Miao tells her kittens about the antics of one of their ancestors, Sagwa of China, that produced the unusual markings they have had for thousands of years
Saving fish from drowning by Amy Tan( Recording )
28 editions published between 2004 and 2009 in English and held by 1,330 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
On an ill-fated art expedition, eleven Americans find themselves deep in the Burmese jungle, where they encounter a tribe awaiting a leader and the mystical book of wisdom that will protect them from the Myanmar military regime
The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan( Recording )
35 editions published between 1989 and 2013 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,106 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Spanning forty years, tells the story of four Chinese women who immigrate to San Francisco, begin meeting to eat dim sum, play mahjong, and share their life's stories
The valley of amazement by Amy Tan( Recording )
16 editions published between 2012 and 2014 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,004 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Violet is one of the most celebrated courtesans in Shanghai, a beautiful and intelligent woman who has honed her ability to become any man's fantasy since her start as a 'Virgin Courtesan' at the age of twelve. Half-Chinese and half-American, she moves effortlessly between the East and the West. But her talents belie her private struggle to understand who she really is and her search for a home in the world
The kitchen god's wife by Amy Tan( Recording )
29 editions published between 1991 and 2008 in English and No Linguistic content and held by 765 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Helen and Winnie keep each other's secrets until Helen becomes convinced she is dying and decides to tell some secrets that could cause problems between Winnie and her daughter
An introduction to The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan audio guide by Adam Kampe( Recording )
3 editions published between 2006 and 2008 in English and held by 724 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Readings of excerpts from and critical analysis of Amy Tan's The Joy Luck Club, a novel about four mothers, four daughters, and four families whose paths cross in 1949 in San Francisco as four Chinese women begin meeting to eat dim sum, play mahjong, and talk
An introduction to The age of innocence by Edith Wharton by Dan Stone( Recording )
3 editions published between 2007 and 2008 in English and held by 723 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Readings of excerpts from and critical analysis of Wharton's The age of innocence, a novel about the upper classes of New York and the story of Newland Archer's love for Countess Olenska
The Best American short stories, 1999 : selected from U.S. and Canadian magazines by Amy (edi) Tan( Book )
6 editions published in 1999 in English and held by 658 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
The Best American series is the premier annual showcase for the country's finest short fiction and nonfiction. Each volume's series editor selects notable works from hundreds of periodicals. A special guest editor, a leading writer in the field, then chooses the best twenty or so pieces to publish. This unique system has made the Best American series the most respected, and most popular, of its kind
The hundred secret senses by Amy Tan( Recording )
22 editions published between 1966 and 2009 in English and Undetermined and held by 604 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A Chinese American girl experiences the connections between chance and fate, beliefs and hopes, memory and imagination
Selected from the Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan( Book )
4 editions published in 1992 in English and held by 380 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
For the adult new reader, selections from the novel on contemporary Chinese-American women
Acrobat cats by George Daugherty( Book )
1 edition published in 2002 in English and held by 329 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Sagwa lives in the palace, which is nice, but not very exciting. Then she sees a bunch of acrobat cats - acrocats! Now she doesn't want to practice her calligraphy anymore, she wants to be an acrocat! But being an acrocat (or is it catrobat? Sagwa isn't sure.) is hard work and needs lots of practice. Sagwa realizes she may never be a great acrocat, but she has many talents all her own
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.19 (from 0.01 for Acrobat ca ... to 0.67 for In her mot ...)
WorldCat IdentitiesRelated Identities
Alternative Names
Amy Tan.
Tan, Amy
Tan, Amy 1952-
Tan, An-mei Ruth 1952-
Tan, Eimi.
Tan Eimi 1952-....
Tan, Enmei.
Tan Enmei 1952-....
טאן, אמי
آمي تان، 1952-
タン, エィミ
谭恩美
Languages
English (885)
Spanish (127)
German (44)
Chinese (35)
Catalan (30)
Polish (16)
Italian (14)
Danish (14)
Dutch (13)
Japanese (12)
Hebrew (12)
Finnish (7)
Portuguese (6)
Croatian (5)
French (5)
Swedish (5)
Vietnamese (4)
Czech (4)
Korean (4)
Romanian (3)
Russian (3)
Hungarian (2)
Faroese (2)
Slovenian (2)
Serbian (2)
Persian (1)
Indonesian (1)
Icelandic (1)
Norwegian (1)
morearrowdown
fewerarrowup
Covers