WorldCat Identities

Coupland, Douglas

Overview
Works: 267 works in 1,126 publications in 13 languages and 23,342 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Domestic fiction  Psychological fiction  Diary fiction  Satire  Experimental fiction  Biography  Criticism, interpretation, etc  Pictorial works  Miscellanea 
Roles: Author of screenplay, Author of introduction, Contributor, Interviewee, Creator, Scenarist
Classifications: PS3553.O855, 813.54
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Douglas Coupland Publications about Douglas Coupland
Publications by  Douglas Coupland Publications by Douglas Coupland
Most widely held works about Douglas Coupland
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Most widely held works by Douglas Coupland
Generation X : tales for an accelerated culture by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
101 editions published between 1991 and 2013 in 7 languages and held by 1,878 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Three twenty-something young adults, working at low-paying, no-future jobs, tell one another modern tales of love and death
Eleanor Rigby : a novel by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
48 editions published between 1957 and 2010 in 9 languages and held by 1,664 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Liz Dunn has little to keep her going until a strange young man named Jeremy arrives in her life, upsetting her routine and triggering events that take Liz around the world, into danger, and for the first time, within reach of happiness
Microserfs by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
60 editions published between 1994 and 2014 in 3 languages and held by 1,496 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Young people working for Microsoft decide to make a bid for freedom by founding their own software company. The novel--narrated as an online journal by danielu@microsoft.com--describes the ups and downs of raising money for a new business. By the author of Generation X
JPod : a novel by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
53 editions published between 2001 and 2013 in 7 languages and held by 1,490 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
From the Publisher: JPod, Douglas Coupland's most acclaimed novel to date, is a lethal joyride into today's new breed of tech worker. Ethan Jarlewski and five co-workers whose surnames begin with "J" are bureaucratically marooned in jPod, a no-escape architectural limbo on the fringes of a massive Vancouver game design company. The jPodders wage daily battle against the demands of a boneheaded marketing staff, who daily torture employees with idiotic changes to already idiotic games. Meanwhile, Ethan's personal life is shaped (or twisted) by phenomena as disparate as Hollywood, marijuana grow-ops, people-smuggling, ballroom dancing, and the rise of China. JPod's universe is amoral, shameless, and dizzyingly fast-paced like our own
The gum thief : a novel by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
24 editions published between 2007 and 2009 in English and held by 1,446 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Over the course of several months, two retail workers at an office supply superstore--Roger, a divorced, middle aged "aisles associate" at Staples, and his young co-worker, Bethany, an early twenty-something, former Goth--strike up a unique epistolary friendship
Generation A by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
37 editions published between 2009 and 2013 in 3 languages and held by 1,399 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"Generation A is set in the near future in a world where bees are extinct, until five unconnected people all around the world -- in the United States, Canada, France, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka -- are all stung. Their shared experience unites them in ways they never could have imagined. Generation A mirrors Coupland's debut novel, 1991's Generation X. It explores new ways of storytelling in a digital world. Like much of Coupland's writing, it occupies the perplexing hinterland between optimism about the future and everyday apocalyptic paranoia. Imaginative, inventive, and fantastically entertaining, Generation A is his most ambitious work to date."--Jacket
Miss Wyoming by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
44 editions published between 1999 and 2013 in 6 languages and held by 1,214 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
On surviving a plane crash, a beauty queen disappears to live a meaningful life and meets a film producer with similar goals. But their romance is threatened by her mother, who wants her back in the limelight. A satire on celebrity status by the author of Generation X
Girlfriend in a coma by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
42 editions published between 1998 and 2014 in 4 languages and held by 1,167 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A New Age novel on a Vancouver woman who falls into a coma which lasts nearly two decades. The novel traces the impact on her family, especially on her boyfriend and a daughter she gave birth to just before the coma. By the author of Life after God
All families are psychotic : a novel by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
35 editions published between 2001 and 2006 in English and held by 1,136 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"It is the year 2001 and the Drummond family, reunited for the first time in years, has gathered near Cape Canaveral to watch the launch into space of their beloved daughter and sister, Sarah. Against the Technicolor of unreality of Florida's finest tourist attractions, the Drummonds and their intimates manage to stumble into every illicit activity under the tropical sun, kidnapping, blackmail, gunplay, and black market negotiations, to name a few." -- Jacket
Hey Nostradamus! : a novel by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
35 editions published between 2003 and 2010 in 4 languages and held by 1,129 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
In 1988, an episode of teenage violence transforms a suburban community, as parents try to cope with the discovery of their children's underground world and the survivors deal with their painful memories of what happened
Shampoo planet by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
45 editions published between 1992 and 2011 in 4 languages and held by 1,067 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Despite their differing values, Tyler Johnson, an ambitious hotel management student, tries to console his mother, a former hippie, when Dan, his land-developer stepfather, decides to get a divorce
Life after God by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
31 editions published between 1994 and 2011 in English and German and held by 962 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A collection of stories analyzing the problems of the baby boom generation: boredom, conformity, drugs, promiscuity, aids and the death of God. The general picture is of people fast becoming the kind of people they made fun of
Worst. person. ever. by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
16 editions published between 2013 and 2015 in English and held by 910 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"Worst. Person. Ever. is a deeply unworthy book about a dreadful human being with absolutely no redeeming social value. Raymond Gunt, in the words of the author, is a living, walking, talking, hot steaming pile of pure id
Polaroids from the Dead by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
22 editions published between 1992 and 2014 in English and held by 758 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"A wide variety of stories and personal 'postcards' about the pivotal people and places that have defined our modern lives ... a skillful combination of stories, fact and fiction--keen outtakes on life in the late twentieth century, exploring the recent past and a society obsessed with celebrity, crime and death."--Jacket
PlayerOne : what is to become of us : a novel in five hours by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
2 editions published in 2010 in English and held by 505 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Story of five people caught inside an airport cocktail lounge during a global disaster
Marshall McLuhan : you know nothing of my work! by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
5 editions published in 2010 in English and held by 468 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Surveys the life and career of the social theorist best known for the quotation, "The medium is the message," who helped shape the culture of the 1960s and predicted the future of television and the rise of the Internet
Marshall McLuhan by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
14 editions published between 2009 and 2013 in 4 languages and held by 256 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Doug Coupland, a celebrated child of McLuhan, portrays and interprets the world-famous communications guru's life and achievements
Player One : what is to become of us : a novel in five hours by Douglas Coupland ( Book )
14 editions published between 2010 and 2011 in English and held by 221 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
This is a real-time five-hour story set in an airport cocktail lounge during a global disaster. Five disparate people are trapped inside: Karen, a single mother waiting for her online date; Rick, the down-on-his-luck airport lounge bartender; Luke, a pastor on the run; Rachel, a cool Hitchcock blonde incapable of true human contact; and finally a mysterious voice known as Player One. Slowly, each reveals the truth about themselves while the world as they know it comes to an end. In the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and J.G. Ballard, Coupland explores the modern crises of time, human identity, society, religion and the afterlife. The book asks as many questions as it answers and readers will leave the story with no doubt that we are in a new phase of existence as a species o and that there is no turning back
Fred Herzog : photographs by Fred Herzog ( Book )
2 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 219 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Presents a collection of early color and urban street photography by Fred Herzog
Hey Nostradamus! a novel by Douglas Coupland ( Recording )
10 editions published between 2003 and 2009 in English and Danish and held by 177 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Chronicles the aftermath of a shooting rampage at a school cafeteria in a quiet Vancouver neighborhood. Four dramatically different characters tell how their lives were forever changed by the violence
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.23 (from 0.10 for Frieze ... to 1.00 for X = what? ...)
Alternative Names
Coupland, D.
Coupland, Doug.
Coupland, Doug 1961-
Coupland, Douglas 1961-
Coupland, Douglas Campbell
Coupland, Douglas Campbell 1961-
Douglas Coupland
Koplends, Duglass 1961-
クープランド, ダグラス
クープランド, ダグラス キャンベル
Languages
English (534)
German (45)
French (29)
Spanish (20)
Italian (14)
Danish (11)
Dutch (5)
Swedish (4)
Greek, Modern (2)
Portuguese (2)
Turkish (2)
Finnish (1)
Slovak (1)
Covers