WorldCat Identities

Freudenburg, Kirk 1961-

Overview
Works: 12 works in 88 publications in 3 languages and 3,702 library holdings
Genres: Criticism, interpretation, etc  History  Poetry  Academic theses 
Roles: Author, Editor
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Kirk Freudenburg
The Cambridge companion to Roman satire by Kirk Freudenburg( Book )

30 editions published between 2005 and 2012 in 3 languages and held by 604 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Satire as a distinct genre of writing was first developed by the Romans in the second century B.C.E. Regarded by them as uniquely "their own," satire held a special place in the Roman imagination as the one genre that could address the problems of city life from the perspective of a "real Roman." In this Cambridge Companion an international team of scholars provides a stimulating introduction to Roman satire's core practitioners and practices, placing them within the contexts of Greco-Roman literary and political history. Besides addressing basic questions of authors, content, and form, the volume looks to the question of what satire "does" within the world of Greco-Roman social exchanges, and goes on to treat the genre's further development, reception, and translation in Elizabethan England and beyond. Included are studies of the prosimetric, "Menippean" satires that would become the models for Rabelais, Erasmus, More, and (narrative satire's crowning jewel) Swift."--Jacket
Satires of Rome : threatening poses from Lucilius to Juvenal by Kirk Freudenburg( Book )

20 editions published between 2001 and 2004 in English and held by 428 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This survey of Roman satire locates its most salient possibilities and effects at the center of every Roman reader's cultural and political self-understanding. This book describes the genre's numerous shifts in focus and tone over several centuries (from Lucilius to Juvenal) not as mere 'generic adjustments' that reflect the personal preferences of its authors, but as separate chapters in a special, generically encoded story of Rome's lost, and much lionized, Republican identity. Freedom exists in performance in ancient Rome: it is a 'spoken' entity. As a result, satire's programmatic shifts, from 'open' to 'understated' to 'cryptic' and so on, can never be purely 'literary' and 'apolitical' in focus and/or tone. In Satires of Rome, Professor Freudenburg reads these shifts as the genre's unique way of staging and agonizing over a crisis in Roman identity. Satire's standard 'genre question' in this book becomes a question of the Roman self
The walking muse : Horace on the theory of satire by Kirk Freudenburg( Book )

17 editions published between 1992 and 2016 in English and held by 387 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In laying the groundwork for a fresh and challenging reading of Roman satire, Kirk Freudenburg explores the literary precedents behind the situations and characters created by Horace, one of Rome's earliest and most influential satirists. Critics tend to think that his two books of Satires are but trite sermons of moral reform--which the poems superficially claim to be--and that the reformer speaking to us is the young Horace, a naive Roman imitator of the rustic, self-made Greek philosopher Bion. By examining Horace's debt to popular comedy and to the conventions of Hellenistic moral literature, however, Freudenburg reveals the sophisticated mask through which the writer distances himself from the speaker in these earthy diatribes--a mask that enables the lofty muse of poetry to walk in satire's mundane world of adulterous lovers and quarrelsome neighbors. After presenting the speaker of the diatribes as a stage character, a version of the haranguing cynic of comedy and mime, Freudenburg explains the theoretical importance of such conventions in satire at large. His analysis includes a reinterpretation of Horace's criticisms of Lucilius, and ends with a theory of satire based on the several images of the satirist presented in Book One, which reveals the true depth of Horace's ethical and philosophical concerns.Originally published in 1992.The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These paperback editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905
Horace: Satires and epistles by Horace( Book )

7 editions published in 2009 in English and held by 211 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Greek theories of comedy and style in the Satires of Horace by Kirk Freudenburg( Book )

6 editions published between 1989 and 1992 in English and Undetermined and held by 8 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The Cambridge companion to the age of Nero( Book )

2 editions published in 2017 in English and held by 7 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The age of Nero has appealed to the popular imagination more than any other period of Roman history. This volume provides a lively and accessible guide to the various representations and interpretations of the Emperor Nero as well as to the rich literary, philosophical and artistic achievements of his eventful reign. The major achievements of the period in the fields of literature, governance, architecture and art are freshly described and analysed, and special attention is paid to the reception of Nero in the Roman and Christian eras of the first centuries AD and beyond. Written by an international team of leading experts, the chapters provide students and non-specialists with clear and comprehensive accounts of the most important trends in the study of Neronian Rome. They also offer numerous original insights into the period, and open new areas of study for scholars to pursue
Spatial representation in Juvenal's "Satires": Rome and the satirist by Osman Sami Umurhan( Book )

1 edition published in 2008 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This dissertation investigates the role of space, poetic voice and related themes the relation of core and periphery, imperial expansion, circulation, containment, authority and immobility -- in Juvenal's Satires, with special attention to Books 1, 2 and 5. I argue that space, specifically the geography of Rome's empire, is central to Juvenal's poetic program. The satirist uses space both to illustrate and explain contemporary vice, which he attacks in the tradition of Lucilius and Horace, and to comment on his activity as a writer of satire located in a particular place: Rome. I demonstrate how Juvenal constructs a network of movements between Rome and areas on its border territories (including cities, their landmarks, towns and provinces) that enable him to address a range of vices: consumption, gastronomy, trade, imperial expansion, and cultural practices, from education to philosophy. Juvenal's illustrations of vice engage with the Greek and Latin satirical, geographical, philosophical, and medical traditions, and also explore ideas of bodily and political integrity
The psychology of satire: Epicurean ethics in Horace's Sermones by Sergio Yona( )

1 edition published in 2014 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Political program and autobiography in Cicero's Pro Milone by Summer Haskins Stevens( )

1 edition published in 1995 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

In this dissertation, I have demonstrated the way in which the published Pro Milone serves three distinct purposes. First, it provides an exemplary forensic model and as such adheres to absolute forensic verisimilitude. Second, it serves the literary function of representing Cicero's political program as well as his political autobiography. Third, it serves an epistolary function as it incorporates the standard topoi of consolatory literature in an attempt to console the exiled Milo. These purposes are so intertwined within the persuasive process of the speech that they are ultimately inextricable, even though they can be isolated and discussed separately. The reason for this inextricability is that the same rhetorical tactic within the speech can demonstrably serve both forensic and literary functions
Traces of dissent : Persius and the satire of Nero's Golden Age by Peter John Nani( )

1 edition published in 2001 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Scholars have generally overlooked the role the pastoral world plays in Persius' third satire. The ingratiatory Eclogues of Calpurnius Siculus offer an example of how pastoral under Nero becomes a vehicle for disseminating Neronian Golden Age propaganda. Persius' third satire responds to this ?Calpurnian? pastoral voice. In the fifth satire, Persius dismisses trite literary motifs of tragedy, the poetic tradition most actively re-appropriated by Nero, the emperor-performer in the late 50s and 60s A.D. I argue that Persius draws upon his own more overtly ?political? voices from S. 1 and S. 3 to criticize contemporary tragedy for its enslavement to Nero's literary tastes
In the fishbowl of empire : 'Ancient Romans' then and now by Kirk Freudenburg( Visual )

1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

The Gorgias of Plato and its implications for the Socratic moral theory by Kirk Freudenburg( )

1 edition published in 1985 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.42 (from 0.07 for Satires of ... to 0.86 for Greek theo ...)

The Cambridge companion to Roman satire
Languages
Covers
Satires of Rome : threatening poses from Lucilius to JuvenalThe walking muse : Horace on the theory of satireHorace: Satires and epistles