WorldCat Identities

Freudenburg, Kirk 1961-

Works: 9 works in 80 publications in 2 languages and 3,428 library holdings
Genres: Criticism, interpretation, etc 
Roles: Author, Editor
Classifications: PA6095, 877.010932376
Publication Timeline
Most widely held works by Kirk Freudenburg
The Cambridge companion to Roman satire by Kirk Freudenburg( Book )

28 editions published between 2005 and 2012 in English and Italian and held by 587 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Satire as a distinct genre of writing was first developed by the Romans in the second century B.C.E. Regarded by them as uniquely "their own," satire held a special place in the Roman imagination as the one genre that could address the problems of city life from the perspective of a "real Roman." In this Cambridge Companion an international team of scholars provides a stimulating introduction to Roman satire's core practitioners and practices, placing them within the contexts of Greco-Roman literary and political history. Besides addressing basic questions of authors, content, and form, the volume looks to the question of what satire "does" within the world of Greco-Roman social exchanges, and goes on to treat the genre's further development, reception, and translation in Elizabethan England and beyond. Included are studies of the prosimetric, "Menippean" satires that would become the models for Rabelais, Erasmus, More, and (narrative satire's crowning jewel) Swift."--Jacket
Satires of Rome : threatening poses from Lucilius to Juvenal by Kirk Freudenburg( Book )

20 editions published between 2001 and 2004 in English and held by 409 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

The first complete study of Roman verse satire to appear since 1976, this book provides a fresh and exciting survey of the field. It studies Rome's satirists individually, in their proper order, and relates their achievements to the separate social and political environs of each writer's own age
The walking muse : Horace on the theory of satire by Kirk Freudenburg( Book )

16 editions published between 1992 and 2014 in English and held by 383 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Horace : satires and epistles by Quintus Horatius Flaccus( Book )

7 editions published in 2009 in English and held by 205 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Greek theories of comedy and style in the Satires of Horace by Kirk Freudenburg( Book )

5 editions published between 1989 and 1990 in English and Undetermined and held by 7 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Spatial representation in Juvenal's "Satires": Rome and the satirist by Osman Sami Umurhan( Book )

1 edition published in 2008 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

This dissertation investigates the role of space, poetic voice and related themes the relation of core and periphery, imperial expansion, circulation, containment, authority and immobility -- in Juvenal's Satires, with special attention to Books 1, 2 and 5. I argue that space, specifically the geography of Rome's empire, is central to Juvenal's poetic program. The satirist uses space both to illustrate and explain contemporary vice, which he attacks in the tradition of Lucilius and Horace, and to comment on his activity as a writer of satire located in a particular place: Rome. I demonstrate how Juvenal constructs a network of movements between Rome and areas on its border territories (including cities, their landmarks, towns and provinces) that enable him to address a range of vices: consumption, gastronomy, trade, imperial expansion, and cultural practices, from education to philosophy. Juvenal's illustrations of vice engage with the Greek and Latin satirical, geographical, philosophical, and medical traditions, and also explore ideas of bodily and political integrity
The psychology of satire: Epicurean ethics in Horace's Sermones by Sergio Yona( )

1 edition published in 2014 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

In the fishbowl of empire 'Ancient Romans' then and now by Kirk Freudenburg( Visual )

1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

The Gorgias of Plato and its implications for the Socratic moral theory by Kirk Freudenburg( )

1 edition published in 1985 in English and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Audience Level
Audience Level
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.45 (from 0.07 for Satires of ... to 0.86 for Greek theo ...)

The Cambridge companion to Roman satire
Satires of Rome : threatening poses from Lucilius to JuvenalThe walking muse : Horace on the theory of satireHorace : satires and epistles