WorldCat Identities

Sacco, Joe

Overview
Works: 152 works in 384 publications in 6 languages and 10,648 library holdings
Genres: Comic books, strips, etc  Graphic novels  History  Personal narratives‡vPalestinian  Stories without words  Caricatures and cartoons  Biography  Pictorial works  War stories 
Roles: Illustrator, Draftsman, Interviewee
Classifications: DS119.7, 331.0973
Publication Timeline
Key
Publications about  Joe Sacco Publications about Joe Sacco
Publications by  Joe Sacco Publications by Joe Sacco
Most widely held works by Joe Sacco
Palestine by Joe Sacco ( Book )
37 editions published between 2001 and 2011 in 4 languages and held by 1,683 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A graphic novel of the Arab-Israeli conflict in Palestine. The Special Edition includes an introduction by the late Edward Said and a host of unique material never before published (including many of Sacco's original background notes, sketches, photographic reference, and much more). The book also includes a new, introductory interview with Sacco about the making of the book as well as a new cover and design
Days of destruction, days of revolt by Chris Hedges ( Book )
14 editions published between 2012 and 2014 in English and held by 1,383 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"In the vein of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Pulitzer Prize winner and bestselling author Chris Hedges and American Book Award winning cartoonist Joe Sacco bring us a searing on-the-ground report on the crisis gripping underclass America and crime-ridden poverty enclaves--in prisons, urban slums, and rural communities--metastasizing around the nation"--
Safe area Goražde by Joe Sacco ( Book )
33 editions published between 2000 and 2012 in English and held by 1,377 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A graphic novel based on the author's 1995-96 visits to Gorazde, one of the U.N.-created "safe areas" in Eastern Bosnia, showing the brutality and humanity that coexisted there during the Bosnian War of 1992-95
Footnotes in Gaza by Joe Sacco ( Book )
16 editions published between 2009 and 2010 in English and Undetermined and held by 1,210 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"From the great cartoonist-reporter, a sweeping, original investigation of a forgotten crime in the most vexed of places. Rafah, a town at the bottommost tip of the Gaza Strip, is a squalid place. Raw concrete buildings front trash-strewn alleys. The narrow streets are crowded with young children and unemployed men. On the border with Egypt, swaths of Rafah have been bulldozed to rubble. Rafah is today and has always been a notorious flashpoint in this bitterest of conflicts. Buried deep in the archives is one bloody incident, in 1956, that left 111 Palestinians dead, shot by Israeli soldiers. Seemingly a footnote to a long history of killing, that day in Rafah-- cold-blooded massacre or dreadful mistake-- reveals the competing truths that have come to define an intractable war. In a quest to get to the heart of what happened, Joe Sacco immerses himself in daily life of Rafah and the neighboring town of Khan Younis, uncovering Gaza past and present. Spanning fifty years, moving fluidly between one war and the next, alive with the voices of fugitives and schoolchildren, widows and sheikhs, Footnotes in Gaza captures the essence of a tragedy"--Publisher's web site
Journalism by Joe Sacco ( Book )
10 editions published between 2012 and 2013 in English and held by 610 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
A journalistic collection in comic book format from the sid3elines of wars around the world includes articles on the American military in Iraq, the Caucasus widow trials, the dilemmas of India's "untouchables," and the smuggling tunnels of Gaza
The Great War : July 1, 1916 : the first day of the Battle of the Somme : an illustrated panorama by Joe Sacco ( Book )
7 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 538 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
"The Great War is a 24-foot-long black-and-white drawing printed on heavyweight accordion-fold paper and packaged in a deluxe hardcover slipcase. The set also includes a 16-page booklet featuring an essay about the first day of the Battle of the Somme by Adam Hochschild and original annotations to the drawing by Sacco himself"--Insert
War's end : profiles from Bosnia, 1995-1996 by Joe Sacco ( Book )
4 editions published in 2005 in English and French and held by 433 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
How does an artist reconcile being forced to go to the front line of a brutal conflict that will change his life and homeland forever? What happens when a reporter finally comes face-to-face with an evil war criminal? Before his groundbreaking graphic novels Safe Area Gorazde and The Fixer, Palestinian author Joe Sacco created two short stories with characters from each side of the crossfire. Collected for the first time in War's End: Profiles from Bosnia 1995-1996 are the acclaimed Soba and Christmas with Karadzic. In Soba, Sacco captures the internal torment of the romanticized Sarajevo artist-warrior who captivated the Western media with his guitar and hard-partying ways. In Christmas with Karadzic, Sacco gives the reader an inside peek at the darkly humorous news process that doesn't make the headlines back home as he chases after one of the most hated and sought-after Bosnian Serb leaders and war criminals
The best American comics 2011 ( Book )
2 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 389 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Collects original comic strips from American authors and illustrators published in 2011 in graphic novels
The fixer : a story from Sarajevo by Joe Sacco ( Book )
15 editions published between 2000 and 2004 in English and held by 185 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Presents a nonfiction graphic novella in which comic-strip journalist Joe Sacco examines the life of Neven, a former paramilitary fighter who worked as a "fixer" for Sacco and other Western correspondents, feeding them stories of human tragedy during the Balkan conflict. Contains adult content
But I like it by Joe Sacco ( Book )
5 editions published in 2006 in English and held by 175 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Set in the early '90s when Sacco roadied with punk band the Miracle Workers (a CD of their live shows is included) on their European tour, this book is a low-scale bacchanal of booze, groupies and dangerous hygiene
A child in Palestine : the cartoons of Naji al-Ali by Nājī ʻAlī ( Book )
2 editions published in 2009 in English and held by 152 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Naji al-Ali grew up in the Palestinian refugee camp of Ain al-Hilweh in the south Lebanese city of Sidon, where his gift for drawing was discovered by the Palestinian poet Ghassan Kanafani in the late 1950s. Early the following decade he left for Kuwait, embarking on a thirty-year career that would see his cartoons published daily in newspapers from Cairo to Beirut, London to Paris. Independent and unaligned to any political party, Naji al-Ali strove to speak to and for the ordinary Arab people. The pointed satire of his stark, symbolic cartoons brought him widespread renown. For the first time in book form, A Child in Palestine presents the work of Naji al-Ali. Through his most celebrated creation, the witness-child Handala (Hanthala), al-Ali chronicles the Israeli occupation, the corruption of the regimes in the region, and the plight of the Palestinian people
The fixer and other stories by Joe Sacco ( Book )
3 editions published in 2009 in English and held by 122 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Using old-fashioned pen and paper, the award-winning cartoonist Joe Sacco reports from the sidelines of wars around the world. The Fixer and Other Stories is a new softcover that collects Sacco's landmark short stories on the Bosnian War that previously comprised the hardcover editions of The Fixer and War's End
The Story and its writer : an introduction to short fiction by Ann Charters ( Book )
1 edition published in 2011 in English and held by 86 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Information: 6th ed. Includes bibliographical references
Palestine : a nation occupied by Joe Sacco ( Book )
3 editions published between 1994 and 1996 in English and held by 80 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Palestine : in the Gaza Strip by Joe Sacco ( Book )
1 edition published in 1996 in English and held by 70 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Notes from a defeatist by Joe Sacco ( Book )
5 editions published in 2003 in English and held by 64 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Collects illustrated, satirical stories about the author's life, war, politics, and sex, including the tales "Voyage to the End of the Library" and "When Good Bombs Happen to Bad People."
From the folks who brought you the weekend : a short, illustrated history of labor in the United States by Priscilla Murolo ( )
2 editions published between 2001 and 2012 in English and held by 61 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Hailed in a starred Publishers Weekly review as a work of "impressive even-handedness and analytic acuity ... that gracefully handles a broad range of subject matter," From the Folks Who Brought You the Weekend is the first comprehensive look at American history through the prism of working people. From indentured servants and slaves in the seventeenth-century Chesapeake to high-tech workers in contemporary Silicon Valley, the book "[puts] a human face on the people, places, events, and social conditions that have shaped the evolution of organized labor" (Library Journal
Gaza 1956 by Joe Sacco ( Book )
4 editions published between 2009 and 2010 in French and held by 61 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
En 1956, à Gaza, plus de 270 Palestiniens auraient été tués par l'armée israélienne. En 2003, Sacco se rend en Palestine pour recueillir des témoignages de survivants et établir la vérité. Il tire ce récit de son voyage, où il remonte peu à peu le fil de l'Histoire en se mettant en scène. Avec une partie documentaire en fin d'album
El mediador : una historia de Sarajevo by Joe Sacco ( Book )
4 editions published in 2004 in Spanish and held by 48 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
Palestina : en la franja de Gaza by Joe Sacco ( Book )
4 editions published between 2001 and 2004 in Spanish and held by 45 WorldCat member libraries worldwide
 
moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.24 (from 0.15 for Joe Sacco ... to 1.00 for Goražde / ...)
Languages
Covers