WorldCat Identities

Sacco, Joe

Works: 127 works in 434 publications in 15 languages and 11,056 library holdings
Genres: Comic books, strips, etc  History  Graphic novels  Personal narratives‡vPalestinian  Comics (Graphic works)  Caricatures and cartoons  Biography  Pictorial works  War stories  Personal narratives‡vAmerican 
Roles: Author, Illustrator, Draftsman, Narrator, Interviewee
Classifications: DS119.7, 305.560973
Publication Timeline
Most widely held works by Joe Sacco
Palestine by Joe Sacco( Book )

14 editions published between 1996 and 2015 in English and held by 1,601 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

In late 1991 and early 1992, Joe Sacco spent two months with Palestinians in the Occupied Territories, traveling and taking notes. Upon returning to the U.S., he started writing and drawing Palestine, which combined the techniques of eyewitness reportage with the medium of comic-book storytelling to explore this complex, emotionally weighty situation
Safe area Goražde by Joe Sacco( Book )

73 editions published between 2000 and 2015 in 7 languages and held by 1,539 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A graphic novel based on the author's 1995-96 visits to Gorazde, one of the U.N.-created "safe areas" in Eastern Bosnia, showing the brutality and humanity that coexisted there during the Bosnian War of 1992-95
Days of destruction, days of revolt by Chris Hedges( Book )

16 editions published between 2012 and 2014 in English and held by 1,460 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"In the vein of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Pulitzer Prize winner and bestselling author Chris Hedges and American Book Award winning cartoonist Joe Sacco bring us a searing on-the-ground report on the crisis gripping underclass America and crime-ridden poverty enclaves--in prisons, urban slums, and rural communities--metastasizing around the nation."
Footnotes in Gaza by Joe Sacco( Book )

33 editions published between 2009 and 2015 in 10 languages and held by 1,419 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"From the great cartoonist-reporter, a sweeping, original investigation of a forgotten crime in the most vexed of places. Rafah, a town at the bottommost tip of the Gaza Strip, is a squalid place. Raw concrete buildings front trash-strewn alleys. The narrow streets are crowded with young children and unemployed men. On the border with Egypt, swaths of Rafah have been bulldozed to rubble. Rafah is today and has always been a notorious flashpoint in this bitterest of conflicts. Buried deep in the archives is one bloody incident, in 1956, that left 111 Palestinians dead, shot by Israeli soldiers. Seemingly a footnote to a long history of killing, that day in Rafah-- cold-blooded massacre or dreadful mistake-- reveals the competing truths that have come to define an intractable war. In a quest to get to the heart of what happened, Joe Sacco immerses himself in daily life of Rafah and the neighboring town of Khan Younis, uncovering Gaza past and present. Spanning fifty years, moving fluidly between one war and the next, alive with the voices of fugitives and schoolchildren, widows and sheikhs, Footnotes in Gaza captures the essence of a tragedy"--Publisher's web site
The Great War : July 1, 1916 : the first day of the Battle of the Somme : an illustrated panorama by Joe Sacco( Book )

18 editions published in 2013 in English and held by 683 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"The Great War is a 24-foot-long black-and-white drawing printed on heavyweight accordion-fold paper and packaged in a deluxe hardcover slipcase. The set also includes a 16-page booklet featuring an essay about the first day of the Battle of the Somme by Adam Hochschild and original annotations to the drawing by Sacco himself"--Insert
Journalism by Joe Sacco( Book )

8 editions published between 2012 and 2013 in English and Dutch and held by 619 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A journalistic collection in comic book format from the sidelines of wars around the world includes articles on the American military in Iraq, the Caucasus widow trials, the dilemmas of India's "untouchables," and the smuggling tunnels of Gaza
War's end : profiles from Bosnia, 1995-1996 by Joe Sacco( Book )

10 editions published between 2005 and 2006 in English and Spanish and held by 452 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"How does an artist reconcile being forced to go to the front line of a brutal conflict that will change his life and homeland forever? What happens when a reporter finally comes face-to-face with an evil war criminal? Before his groundbreaking graphic novels Safe Area Gorazde and The Fixer, Palestinian author Joe Sacco created two short stories with characters from each side of the crossfire. Collected for the first time in War's End: Profiles from Bosnia 1995-1996 are the acclaimed Soba and Christmas with Karadzic. In Soba, Sacco captures the internal torment of the romanticized Sarajevo artist-warrior who captivated the Western media with his guitar and hard-partying ways. In Christmas with Karadzic, Sacco gives the reader an inside peek at the darkly humorous news process that doesn't make the headlines back home as he chases after one of the most hated and sought-after Bosnian Serb leaders and war criminals"--Back cover blurb
The best American comics 2011( Book )

2 editions published in 2011 in English and held by 390 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Collects original comic strips from American authors and illustrators published in 2011 in graphic novels
The fixer : a story from Sarajevo by Joe Sacco( Book )

23 editions published between 2000 and 2010 in 3 languages and held by 237 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Presents a nonfiction graphic novella in which comic-strip journalist Joe Sacco examines the life of Neven, a former paramilitary fighter who worked as a "fixer" for Sacco and other Western correspondents, feeding them stories of human tragedy during the Balkan conflict. Contains adult content
Palestina : en la franja de Gaza by Joe Sacco( Book )

36 editions published between 1998 and 2015 in 9 languages and held by 193 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

El autor narra en forma de cómic el viaje de dos meses que hizo a Palestina durante el invierno de 1991-92, durante la primera intifada contra la ocupación israelí. A modo de "diario de viaje", Sacco nos muestra la situación que encontró en la zona y los testimonios de la gente que conoció, mostrando en sus viñetas el miedo, la tristeza, la frustación, la desesperación e incluso, a pesar de todo, la esperanza de los que viven allí
But I like it by Joe Sacco( Book )

8 editions published between 2006 and 2010 in 3 languages and held by 173 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Set in the early '90s when Sacco roadied with punk band the Miracle Workers (a CD of their live shows is included) on their European tour, this book is a low-scale bacchanal of booze, groupies and dangerous hygiene
A child in Palestine : the cartoons of Naji al-Ali by Nājī ʻAlī( Book )

2 editions published in 2009 in English and held by 163 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Naji al-Ali grew up in the Palestinian refugee camp of Ain al-Hilweh in the south Lebanese city of Sidon, where his gift for drawing was discovered by the Palestinian poet Ghassan Kanafani in the late 1950s. Early the following decade he left for Kuwait, embarking on a thirty-year career that would see his cartoons published daily in newspapers from Cairo to Beirut, London to Paris. Independent and unaligned to any political party, Naji al-Ali strove to speak to and for the ordinary Arab people. The pointed satire of his stark, symbolic cartoons brought him widespread renown. For the first time in book form, A Child in Palestine presents the work of Naji al-Ali. Through his most celebrated creation, the witness-child Handala (Hanthala), al-Ali chronicles the Israeli occupation, the corruption of the regimes in the region, and the plight of the Palestinian people
Palestine : a nation occupied by Joe Sacco( Book )

8 editions published between 1994 and 2002 in English and French and held by 105 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Bumf by Joe Sacco( Book )

10 editions published between 2014 and 2015 in 3 languages and held by 92 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Author Joe Sacco promises that, in the vein of underground comix like ZAP or Weirdo, "Bumf will go where it needs to go, and do what it needs to do." Though Sacco is world-famous for his serious, journalistic books like Palestine, Safe Area Gorazde, and Footnotes in Gaza, Bumf promises to echo back to his earlier days as a satirist and underground cartoonist. Bumf is a project that Sacco has been working on in between larger projects like Footnotes in Gaza, indulging his love of satire and cartooning. Often puerile, disgusting, and beyond redemption, Sacco apologizes in advance, saying he couldn't help himself. "They expect better things from me. They'll never put me on a stamp now.""--
Palestine : in the Gaza Strip by Joe Sacco( Book )

3 editions published in 1996 in English and held by 71 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Happy endings( Book )

1 edition published in 2002 in English and held by 40 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

War junkie by Joe Sacco( Book )

3 editions published in 1995 in English and held by 37 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Moslimenclave Gorazde by Joe Sacco( Book )

1 edition published in 2011 in Dutch and held by 37 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

La BD s'en va t'en guerre by Mark Daniels( Visual )

4 editions published between 2009 and 2010 in French and held by 32 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Ce film présente les principaux dessinateurs exploitant les différentes formes de la BD documentaire, et retrace l'histoire des influences internationales qui ont offert une vocation nouvelle à un moyen d'expression ancien. La BD s'en va t'en guerre s'attache à décrire en profondeur comment des auteurs novateurs comme Joe Sacco, Art Spiegelman, Joe Kubert et Marjane Satrapi transposent des récits douloureux et violents en mots et en dessins [Jaquette]
Reportages : Palestine, Irak, Kushinagar, femmes tchétchènes, crimes de guerre, immigrants africains by Joe Sacco( Book )

1 edition published in 2011 in French and held by 31 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

moreShow More Titles
fewerShow Fewer Titles
Audience Level
Audience Level
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.31 (from 0.18 for Days of de ... to 0.91 for Reportages ...)

Alternative Names
Joe Sacco Cartonist, journalist

Joe Sacco fumettista maltese

Joe Sacco journalist uit Malta

Joe Sacco maltesisch-amerikanischer Comiczeichner

Sacco, Joe, 1961-

Τζο Σάκο

جو ساكو

ساكو، جو

사코, 조 1960-


Safe area GoraždeFootnotes in GazaWar's end : profiles from Bosnia, 1995-1996The best American comics 2011The fixer : a story from SarajevoPalestina : en la franja de GazaBut I like itA child in Palestine : the cartoons of Naji al-Ali