zum Inhalt wechseln
How to read novels like a professor Titelvorschau
SchließenTitelvorschau
Prüfung…

How to read novels like a professor

Verfasser/in: Thomas C Foster
Verlag: New York : Harper, ©2008.
Ausgabe/Format   Buch : Englisch : 1st edAlle Ausgaben und Formate anzeigen
Datenbank:WorldCat
Zusammenfassung:
In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun.
Bewertung:

basierend auf 2 Bewertung(en) 2 mit Rezensionen

Themen
Ähnliche Titel

 

Exemplar ausleihen

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Suche nach Bibliotheken, die diesen Titel besitzen ...

Details

Gattung/Form: Criticism, interpretation, etc
Medientyp: Internetquelle
Dokumenttyp: Buch, Internet-Ressource
Alle Autoren: Thomas C Foster
ISBN: 9780061340406 0061340405
OCLC-Nummer: 190860169
Beschreibung: xviii, 312 p. ; 21 cm.
Inhalt: Preface: Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? --
Introduction: Once upon a time : a short, chaotic, and entirely idiosyncratic history of the novel --
Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages --
You can't breathe where the air is clear --
Who's in charge here? --
Never trust a narrator with a speaking part --
A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) --
Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip --
When very bad people happen to good novels --
Wrinkles in time, or Chapters just might matter --
Everywhere is just one place --
Clarissa's flowers --
Met-him-pike-hoses --
Life sentences --
Drowning in the stream of consciousness --
The light on Daisy's dock --
Fiction about fiction --
Source codes and recycle bins --
Interlude: Read with your ears --
Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards --
What's the big idea--or even the small one? --
Who broke my novel? --
Untidy endings --
History in the novel/the novel in history --
Conspiracy theory --
Conclusion: The never-ending journey.
Verfasserangabe: Thomas C. Foster.
Weitere Informationen:

Abstract:

In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun.

Rezensionen

Nutzer-Rezensionen

Rezensionen von WorldCat-Nutzern (2)

A Valuable Read for Both Novel Readers and Writers

von LadyArwen (Veröffentlicht von WorldCat-Nutzern/innen 2014-06-19) Ausgezeichnet Permalink

Thomas C Foster's follow-up to his How to Read Literature Like a Professor is a thoughtful conversation with is reading audience. Drawing on examples from 19th and 20th century novels by both well known and more obscure novelists, he presents a complete guide to how to read a novel between...
Weiterlesen…  Weiterlesen…

  • War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?
  •   

Eye-opening, educational and entertaining

von bellanox (Veröffentlicht von WorldCat-Nutzern/innen 2011-08-08) Ausgezeichnet Permalink

I don't think I'll ever read a novel quite the same way again -- but in a good way. Professor Foster is going to have me always on my toes, looking for "clues", in every book I read from now on. I learned a lot from this book, but it was also very entertaining, not like a textbook at all. I would...
Weiterlesen…  Weiterlesen…

  • War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?
  •   
Suche nach GoodReads-Rezensionen
Suche nach DOGObooks-Rezensionen…

Tags

Alle Nutzer-Tags (3)

Anzeige der beliebtesten Schlagwörter als: Schlagwortliste | Tag Cloud

Ähnliche Titel

Verwandte Themen:(3)

Nutzerlisten mit diesen Titeln (3)

Anfrage bestätigen

Sie haben diesen Titel bereits angefordert. Wenn Sie trotzdem fortfahren möchten, klicken Sie auf OK.

Verlinkung


<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/190860169>
library:oclcnum"190860169"
library:placeOfPublication
library:placeOfPublication
rdf:typeschema:MediaObject
rdf:typeschema:Book
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:bookEdition"1st ed."
schema:copyrightYear"2008"
schema:creator
schema:datePublished"2008"
schema:description"Preface: Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? -- Introduction: Once upon a time : a short, chaotic, and entirely idiosyncratic history of the novel -- Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages -- You can't breathe where the air is clear -- Who's in charge here? -- Never trust a narrator with a speaking part -- A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) -- Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip -- When very bad people happen to good novels -- Wrinkles in time, or Chapters just might matter -- Everywhere is just one place -- Clarissa's flowers -- Met-him-pike-hoses -- Life sentences -- Drowning in the stream of consciousness -- The light on Daisy's dock -- Fiction about fiction -- Source codes and recycle bins -- Interlude: Read with your ears -- Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards -- What's the big idea--or even the small one? -- Who broke my novel? -- Untidy endings -- History in the novel/the novel in history -- Conspiracy theory -- Conclusion: The never-ending journey."@en
schema:description"In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun."@en
schema:exampleOfWork<http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/119420705>
schema:genre"Criticism, interpretation, etc."@en
schema:inLanguage"en"
schema:name"How to read novels like a professor"@en
schema:numberOfPages"312"
schema:publication
schema:publisher
schema:workExample
wdrs:describedby

Content-negotiable representations

Fenster schließen

Bitte in WorldCat einloggen 

Sie haben kein Konto? Sie können sehr einfach ein kostenloses Konto anlegen,.