aller au contenu
How to read novels like a professor Aperçu de cet ouvrage
FermerAperçu de cet ouvrage
Vérifiant…

How to read novels like a professor

Auteur : Thomas C Foster
Éditeur : New York : Harper, ©2008.
Édition/format :   Print book : Anglais : 1st edVoir toutes les éditions et tous les formats
Base de données :WorldCat
Résumé :
In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun.
Évaluation :

moyenne basée sur 2 évaluation(s) 2 avec des critiques

Sujets
Plus comme ceci

 

Trouver un exemplaire dans la bibliothèque

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Recherche de bibliothèques qui possèdent cet ouvrage...

Détails

Genre/forme : Criticism, interpretation, etc
Type d’ouvrage : Ressource Internet
Format : Livre, Ressource Internet
Tous les auteurs / collaborateurs : Thomas C Foster
ISBN : 9780061340406 0061340405
Numéro OCLC : 190860169
Description : xviii, 312 pages ; 21 cm
Contenu : Preface: Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? --
Introduction: Once upon a time : a short, chaotic, and entirely idiosyncratic history of the novel --
Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages --
You can't breathe where the air is clear --
Who's in charge here? --
Never trust a narrator with a speaking part --
A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) --
Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip --
When very bad people happen to good novels --
Wrinkles in time, or Chapters just might matter --
Everywhere is just one place --
Clarissa's flowers --
Met-him-pike-hoses --
Life sentences --
Drowning in the stream of consciousness --
The light on Daisy's dock --
Fiction about fiction --
Source codes and recycle bins --
Interlude: Read with your ears --
Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards --
What's the big idea--or even the small one? --
Who broke my novel? --
Untidy endings --
History in the novel/the novel in history --
Conspiracy theory --
Conclusion: The never-ending journey.
Responsabilité : Thomas C. Foster.
Plus d’informations :

Résumé :

In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun.

Examines the grammar of the popular novel. Exploring how authors' choices about structure -- point of view, narrative voice, first page, chapter construction, character emblems, and narrative (dis)continuity -- create meaning and a special literary language, shares the keys to this language with readers who want to get more insight, more understanding, and more pleasure from their reading. --Publisher's description.

Critiques

Critiques d’utilisateurs

Critiques des utilisateurs de WorldCat (2)

A Valuable Read for Both Novel Readers and Writers

de LadyArwen (Utilisateur de WorldCat. Publication 2014-06-19) Excellent Permalien

Thomas C Foster's follow-up to his How to Read Literature Like a Professor is a thoughtful conversation with is reading audience. Drawing on examples from 19th and 20th century novels by both well known and more obscure novelists, he presents a complete guide to how to read a novel between...
Lire la suite...  Lire la suite...

  • Est-ce que cette critique vous a été utile?
  •   

Eye-opening, educational and entertaining

de bellanox (Utilisateur de WorldCat. Publication 2011-08-08) Excellent Permalien

I don't think I'll ever read a novel quite the same way again -- but in a good way. Professor Foster is going to have me always on my toes, looking for "clues", in every book I read from now on. I learned a lot from this book, but it was also very entertaining, not like a textbook at all. I would...
Lire la suite...  Lire la suite...

  • Est-ce que cette critique vous a été utile?
  •   
Récupération des critiques de GoodReads...
Récuperation des critiques DOGObooks…

Tags

Tous les tags des utilisateurs (3)

Voir les tags les plus utilisés sous forme de : liste de tags | nuage de tags

Ouvrages semblables

Sujets associés :(3)

Listes d’utilisateurs dans lesquelles cet ouvrage apparaît (3)

Confirmez cette demande

Vous avez peut-être déjà demandé cet ouvrage. Veuillez sélectionner OK si vous voulez poursuivre avec cette demande quand même.

Données liées


Primary Entity

<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/190860169> # How to read novels like a professor
    a schema:Book, schema:CreativeWork ;
   library:oclcnum "190860169" ;
   library:placeOfPublication <http://dbpedia.org/resource/New_York_City> ; # New York
   library:placeOfPublication <http://id.loc.gov/vocabulary/countries/nyu> ;
   schema:about <http://dewey.info/class/809.3/e22/> ;
   schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/923709> ; # Fiction
   schema:about <http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85048060> ; # Fiction--History and criticism
   schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/836454> ; # Books and reading
   schema:bookEdition "1st ed." ;
   schema:bookFormat bgn:PrintBook ;
   schema:copyrightYear "2008" ;
   schema:creator <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/119420705#Person/foster_thomas_c> ; # Thomas C. Foster
   schema:datePublished "2008" ;
   schema:description "Preface: Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? -- Introduction: Once upon a time : a short, chaotic, and entirely idiosyncratic history of the novel -- Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages -- You can't breathe where the air is clear -- Who's in charge here? -- Never trust a narrator with a speaking part -- A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) -- Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip -- When very bad people happen to good novels -- Wrinkles in time, or Chapters just might matter -- Everywhere is just one place -- Clarissa's flowers -- Met-him-pike-hoses -- Life sentences -- Drowning in the stream of consciousness -- The light on Daisy's dock -- Fiction about fiction -- Source codes and recycle bins -- Interlude: Read with your ears -- Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards -- What's the big idea--or even the small one? -- Who broke my novel? -- Untidy endings -- History in the novel/the novel in history -- Conspiracy theory -- Conclusion: The never-ending journey."@en ;
   schema:description "Examines the grammar of the popular novel. Exploring how authors' choices about structure -- point of view, narrative voice, first page, chapter construction, character emblems, and narrative (dis)continuity -- create meaning and a special literary language, shares the keys to this language with readers who want to get more insight, more understanding, and more pleasure from their reading. --Publisher's description."@en ;
   schema:description "In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun."@en ;
   schema:exampleOfWork <http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/119420705> ;
   schema:genre "Criticism, interpretation, etc."@en ;
   schema:inLanguage "en" ;
   schema:name "How to read novels like a professor"@en ;
   schema:productID "190860169" ;
   schema:publication <http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/190860169#PublicationEvent/new_york_harper_2008> ;
   schema:publisher <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/119420705#Agent/harper> ; # Harper
   schema:url <http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/ecip088/2008001729.html> ;
   schema:url <http://catdir.loc.gov/catdir/toc/ecip088/2008001729.html> ;
   schema:workExample <http://worldcat.org/isbn/9780061340406> ;
   wdrs:describedby <http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/190860169> ;
    .


Related Entities

<http://dbpedia.org/resource/New_York_City> # New York
    a schema:Place ;
   schema:name "New York" ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/119420705#Person/foster_thomas_c> # Thomas C. Foster
    a schema:Person ;
   schema:familyName "Foster" ;
   schema:givenName "Thomas C." ;
   schema:name "Thomas C. Foster" ;
    .

<http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85048060> # Fiction--History and criticism
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Fiction--History and criticism"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/836454> # Books and reading
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Books and reading"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/923709> # Fiction
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Fiction"@en ;
    .

<http://worldcat.org/isbn/9780061340406>
    a schema:ProductModel ;
   schema:isbn "0061340405" ;
   schema:isbn "9780061340406" ;
    .


Content-negotiable representations

Fermer la fenêtre

Veuillez vous identifier dans WorldCat 

Vous n’avez pas de compte? Vous pouvez facilement créer un compte gratuit.