passa ai contenuti
How to read novels like a professor Anteprima di questo documento
ChiudiAnteprima di questo documento
Stiamo controllando…

How to read novels like a professor

Autore: Thomas C Foster
Editore: New York : Harper, ©2008.
Edizione/Formato:   Libro : English : 1st edVedi tutte le edizioni e i formati
Banca dati:WorldCat
Sommario:
In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun.
Voto:

basato su 2 voto(i) 2 con commenti

Soggetti
Altri come questo

 

Trova una copia in biblioteca

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Stiamo ricercando le biblioteche che possiedono questo documento…

Dettagli

Genere/forma: Criticism, interpretation, etc
Tipo materiale: Risorsa internet
Tipo documento: Book, Internet Resource
Tutti gli autori / Collaboratori: Thomas C Foster
ISBN: 9780061340406 0061340405
Numero OCLC: 190860169
Descrizione: xviii, 312 p. ; 21 cm.
Contenuti: Preface: Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? --
Introduction: Once upon a time : a short, chaotic, and entirely idiosyncratic history of the novel --
Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages --
You can't breathe where the air is clear --
Who's in charge here? --
Never trust a narrator with a speaking part --
A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) --
Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip --
When very bad people happen to good novels --
Wrinkles in time, or Chapters just might matter --
Everywhere is just one place --
Clarissa's flowers --
Met-him-pike-hoses --
Life sentences --
Drowning in the stream of consciousness --
The light on Daisy's dock --
Fiction about fiction --
Source codes and recycle bins --
Interlude: Read with your ears --
Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards --
What's the big idea--or even the small one? --
Who broke my novel? --
Untidy endings --
History in the novel/the novel in history --
Conspiracy theory --
Conclusion: The never-ending journey.
Responsabilità: Thomas C. Foster.
Maggiori informazioni:

Abstract:

In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun.

Commenti

Commenti degli utenti

Commenti utente WorldCat (2)

A Valuable Read for Both Novel Readers and Writers

da LadyArwen (Utenti WorldCat. Pubblicazioni 2014-06-19) Eccellente Link permanente

Thomas C Foster's follow-up to his How to Read Literature Like a Professor is a thoughtful conversation with is reading audience. Drawing on examples from 19th and 20th century novels by both well known and more obscure novelists, he presents a complete guide to how to read a novel between...
Per saperne di più…  Per saperne di più…

  • Questo commento è stato utile?
  •   

Eye-opening, educational and entertaining

da bellanox (Utenti WorldCat. Pubblicazioni 2011-08-08) Eccellente Link permanente

I don't think I'll ever read a novel quite the same way again -- but in a good way. Professor Foster is going to have me always on my toes, looking for "clues", in every book I read from now on. I learned a lot from this book, but it was also very entertaining, not like a textbook at all. I would...
Per saperne di più…  Per saperne di più…

  • Questo commento è stato utile?
  •   
Recuperando commenti GoodReads…
Stiamo recuperando commenti DOGObooks

Etichette

Le etichette di tutti gli utenti (3)

Vedi le etichette più popolari come: lista di etichette | nuvola di etichette

Documenti simili

Soggetti correlati:(3)

Liste di utenti con questo documento (3)

Conferma questa richiesta

Potresti aver già richiesto questo documento. Seleziona OK se si vuole procedere comunque con questa richiesta.

Dati collegati


<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/190860169>
library:oclcnum"190860169"
library:placeOfPublication
library:placeOfPublication
owl:sameAs<info:oclcnum/190860169>
rdf:typeschema:Book
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:bookEdition"1st ed."
schema:copyrightYear"2008"
schema:creator
schema:datePublished"2008"
schema:description"Preface: Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? -- Introduction: Once upon a time : a short, chaotic, and entirely idiosyncratic history of the novel -- Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages -- You can't breathe where the air is clear -- Who's in charge here? -- Never trust a narrator with a speaking part -- A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) -- Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip -- When very bad people happen to good novels -- Wrinkles in time, or Chapters just might matter -- Everywhere is just one place -- Clarissa's flowers -- Met-him-pike-hoses -- Life sentences -- Drowning in the stream of consciousness -- The light on Daisy's dock -- Fiction about fiction -- Source codes and recycle bins -- Interlude: Read with your ears -- Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards -- What's the big idea--or even the small one? -- Who broke my novel? -- Untidy endings -- History in the novel/the novel in history -- Conspiracy theory -- Conclusion: The never-ending journey."@en
schema:description"In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun."@en
schema:exampleOfWork<http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/119420705>
schema:genre"Criticism, interpretation, etc."@en
schema:inLanguage"en"
schema:name"How to read novels like a professor"@en
schema:numberOfPages"312"
schema:publisher
schema:url
schema:workExample

Content-negotiable representations

Chiudi finestra

Per favore entra in WorldCat 

Non hai un account? Puoi facilmente crearne uno gratuito.