doorgaan naar inhoud
How to read novels like a professor Voorbeeldweergave van dit item
SluitenVoorbeeldweergave van dit item
Bezig met controle...

How to read novels like a professor

Auteur: Thomas C Foster
Uitgever: New York : Harper, ©2008.
Editie/Formaat:   Boek : Engels : 1st edAlle edities en materiaalsoorten bekijken.
Database:WorldCat
Samenvatting:
In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun.
Beoordeling:

gebaseerd op 2 waardering(en) 2 met beoordelingen

Onderwerpen
Meer in deze trant

 

Zoeken naar een in de bibliotheek beschikbaar exemplaar

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Bibliotheken met dit item worden gezocht…

Details

Genre/Vorm: Criticism, interpretation, etc
Genre: Internetbron
Soort document: Boek, Internetbron
Alle auteurs / medewerkers: Thomas C Foster
ISBN: 9780061340406 0061340405
OCLC-nummer: 190860169
Beschrijving: xviii, 312 p. ; 21 cm.
Inhoud: Preface: Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? --
Introduction: Once upon a time : a short, chaotic, and entirely idiosyncratic history of the novel --
Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages --
You can't breathe where the air is clear --
Who's in charge here? --
Never trust a narrator with a speaking part --
A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) --
Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip --
When very bad people happen to good novels --
Wrinkles in time, or Chapters just might matter --
Everywhere is just one place --
Clarissa's flowers --
Met-him-pike-hoses --
Life sentences --
Drowning in the stream of consciousness --
The light on Daisy's dock --
Fiction about fiction --
Source codes and recycle bins --
Interlude: Read with your ears --
Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards --
What's the big idea--or even the small one? --
Who broke my novel? --
Untidy endings --
History in the novel/the novel in history --
Conspiracy theory --
Conclusion: The never-ending journey.
Verantwoordelijkheid: Thomas C. Foster.
Meer informatie:

Fragment:

In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun.

Beoordelingen

Beoordelingen door gebruikers

Beoordelingen van WorldCat-gebruikers (2)

A Valuable Read for Both Novel Readers and Writers

door LadyArwen (Gepubliceerd door gebruiker WorldCat 2014-06-19) Uitstekend Permalink

Thomas C Foster's follow-up to his How to Read Literature Like a Professor is a thoughtful conversation with is reading audience. Drawing on examples from 19th and 20th century novels by both well known and more obscure novelists, he presents a complete guide to how to read a novel between...
Meer lezen...  Meer lezen...

  • Had u iets aan deze beoordeling?
  •   

Eye-opening, educational and entertaining

door bellanox (Gepubliceerd door gebruiker WorldCat 2011-08-08) Uitstekend Permalink

I don't think I'll ever read a novel quite the same way again -- but in a good way. Professor Foster is going to have me always on my toes, looking for "clues", in every book I read from now on. I learned a lot from this book, but it was also very entertaining, not like a textbook at all. I would...
Meer lezen...  Meer lezen...

  • Had u iets aan deze beoordeling?
  •   
Beoordelingen van GoodReads worden opgehaald...
Bezig met opvragen DOGObooks-reviews...

Tags

Alle gebruiker-tags (3)

De meest populaire tags bekijken als: Tag-list | Tag-wolk

Vergelijkbare items

Verwante onderwerpen:(3)

Gebruiker-lijsten met dit item (3)

Bevestig deze aanvraag

Misschien heeft u dit item reeds aangevraagd. Selecteer a.u.b. Ok als u toch wilt doorgaan met deze aanvraag.

Gekoppelde data


<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/190860169>
library:oclcnum"190860169"
library:placeOfPublication
library:placeOfPublication
rdf:typeschema:MediaObject
rdf:typeschema:Book
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:bookEdition"1st ed."
schema:copyrightYear"2008"
schema:creator
schema:datePublished"2008"
schema:description"Preface: Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? -- Introduction: Once upon a time : a short, chaotic, and entirely idiosyncratic history of the novel -- Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages -- You can't breathe where the air is clear -- Who's in charge here? -- Never trust a narrator with a speaking part -- A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) -- Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip -- When very bad people happen to good novels -- Wrinkles in time, or Chapters just might matter -- Everywhere is just one place -- Clarissa's flowers -- Met-him-pike-hoses -- Life sentences -- Drowning in the stream of consciousness -- The light on Daisy's dock -- Fiction about fiction -- Source codes and recycle bins -- Interlude: Read with your ears -- Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards -- What's the big idea--or even the small one? -- Who broke my novel? -- Untidy endings -- History in the novel/the novel in history -- Conspiracy theory -- Conclusion: The never-ending journey."@en
schema:description"In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun."@en
schema:exampleOfWork<http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/119420705>
schema:genre"Criticism, interpretation, etc."@en
schema:inLanguage"en"
schema:name"How to read novels like a professor"@en
schema:numberOfPages"312"
schema:publication
schema:publisher
schema:workExample
wdrs:describedby

Content-negotiable representations

Venster sluiten

Meld u aan bij WorldCat 

Heeft u geen account? U kunt eenvoudig een nieuwe gratis account aanmaken.