ข้ามไปที่เนือ้หา
How to read novels like a professor แสดงตัวอย่างรายการนี้
ปิดแสดงตัวอย่างรายการนี้
ตรวจสอบ...

How to read novels like a professor

ผู้แต่ง: Thomas C Foster
สำนักพิมพ์: New York : Harper, ©2008.
ครั้งที่พิมพ์/รูปแบบ:   Print book : ภาษาอังกฤษ : 1st edดูครั้งที่พิมพ์และรูปแบบ
ฐานข้อมูล:WorldCat
สรุป:
In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun.
คะแนน:

ขึ้นอยู่กับ 2 การให้คะแนน 2 กับความคิดเห็น

หัวเรื่อง
เพิ่มเติมเช่นนี้

 

ค้นหาสำเนาในห้องสมุด

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; ค้นหาห้องสมุดที่มีรายการนี้

รายละเอียด

ประเภท/แบบฟอร์ม Criticism, interpretation, etc
ขนิดวัสดุ: ทรัพยากรอินแทอร์เน็ต
ประเภทของเอกสาร: หนังสือ, แหล่งข้อมูลอินเทอร์เน็ต
ผู้แต่งทั้งหมด : ผู้แต่งร่วม Thomas C Foster
ISBN: 9780061340406 0061340405
OCLC Number: 190860169
คำอธิบาย: xviii, 312 pages ; 21 cm
สารบัญ: Preface: Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? --
Introduction: Once upon a time : a short, chaotic, and entirely idiosyncratic history of the novel --
Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages --
You can't breathe where the air is clear --
Who's in charge here? --
Never trust a narrator with a speaking part --
A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) --
Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip --
When very bad people happen to good novels --
Wrinkles in time, or Chapters just might matter --
Everywhere is just one place --
Clarissa's flowers --
Met-him-pike-hoses --
Life sentences --
Drowning in the stream of consciousness --
The light on Daisy's dock --
Fiction about fiction --
Source codes and recycle bins --
Interlude: Read with your ears --
Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards --
What's the big idea--or even the small one? --
Who broke my novel? --
Untidy endings --
History in the novel/the novel in history --
Conspiracy theory --
Conclusion: The never-ending journey.
ความรับผิดชอบ: Thomas C. Foster.
ข้อมูลเพิ่มเติม

บทคัดย่อ:

In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun.

Examines the grammar of the popular novel. Exploring how authors' choices about structure -- point of view, narrative voice, first page, chapter construction, character emblems, and narrative (dis)continuity -- create meaning and a special literary language, shares the keys to this language with readers who want to get more insight, more understanding, and more pleasure from their reading. --Publisher's description.

รีวิว

ความคิดเห็นผู้ที่ใช้งาน

รีวิวผู้ใช้ WorldCat (2)

A Valuable Read for Both Novel Readers and Writers

โดย LadyArwen (ผู้ใช้ WorldCat ที่พิมพ์เผยแพร่ 2014-06-19) ยอดเยี่ยม Permalink

Thomas C Foster's follow-up to his How to Read Literature Like a Professor is a thoughtful conversation with is reading audience. Drawing on examples from 19th and 20th century novels by both well known and more obscure novelists, he presents a complete guide to how to read a novel between...
อ่านมากขึ้น…  อ่านมากขึ้น…

  • รีวิวนี้มีประโยชน์กับคุณหรือไม่?
  •   

Eye-opening, educational and entertaining

โดย bellanox (ผู้ใช้ WorldCat ที่พิมพ์เผยแพร่ 2011-08-08) ยอดเยี่ยม Permalink

I don't think I'll ever read a novel quite the same way again -- but in a good way. Professor Foster is going to have me always on my toes, looking for "clues", in every book I read from now on. I learned a lot from this book, but it was also very entertaining, not like a textbook at all. I would...
อ่านมากขึ้น…  อ่านมากขึ้น…

  • รีวิวนี้มีประโยชน์กับคุณหรือไม่?
  •   
กำลังค้นคืน รีวิว GoodReads…
ค้นคืน DOGObooks บทวิจารณ์

แท็ก

แท็กทั้งหมดของผู้ใช้ (3)

ดูแท็กที่นิยมมากที่สุดเป็น: รายชื่อแท็ก | แท็ก Cloud

รายการคล้ายกัน

หัวเรื่องที่เกี่ยวข้อง:(3)

บัญชีรายชื่อผู้ใช้พร้อมกับรายการนี้ (3)

ยืนยันคำขอนี้

คุณอาจะร้องขอรายการนี้แล้. โปรดเลือก ตกลง ถ้าคุณต้องการดำเนินการคำขอนี้ต่อไป.

เชิ่อมโยงข้อมูล


Primary Entity

<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/190860169> # How to read novels like a professor
    a schema:Book, schema:CreativeWork ;
    library:oclcnum "190860169" ;
    library:placeOfPublication <http://dbpedia.org/resource/New_York_City> ; # New York
    library:placeOfPublication <http://id.loc.gov/vocabulary/countries/nyu> ;
    schema:about <http://dewey.info/class/809.3/e22/> ;
    schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/923709> ; # Fiction
    schema:about <http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85048060> ; # Fiction--History and criticism
    schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/836454> ; # Books and reading
    schema:bookEdition "1st ed." ;
    schema:bookFormat bgn:PrintBook ;
    schema:copyrightYear "2008" ;
    schema:creator <http://viaf.org/viaf/64048979> ; # Thomas C. Foster
    schema:datePublished "2008" ;
    schema:description "Preface: Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? -- Introduction: Once upon a time : a short, chaotic, and entirely idiosyncratic history of the novel -- Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages -- You can't breathe where the air is clear -- Who's in charge here? -- Never trust a narrator with a speaking part -- A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) -- Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip -- When very bad people happen to good novels -- Wrinkles in time, or Chapters just might matter -- Everywhere is just one place -- Clarissa's flowers -- Met-him-pike-hoses -- Life sentences -- Drowning in the stream of consciousness -- The light on Daisy's dock -- Fiction about fiction -- Source codes and recycle bins -- Interlude: Read with your ears -- Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards -- What's the big idea--or even the small one? -- Who broke my novel? -- Untidy endings -- History in the novel/the novel in history -- Conspiracy theory -- Conclusion: The never-ending journey."@en ;
    schema:description "Examines the grammar of the popular novel. Exploring how authors' choices about structure -- point of view, narrative voice, first page, chapter construction, character emblems, and narrative (dis)continuity -- create meaning and a special literary language, shares the keys to this language with readers who want to get more insight, more understanding, and more pleasure from their reading. --Publisher's description."@en ;
    schema:description "In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun."@en ;
    schema:exampleOfWork <http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/119420705> ;
    schema:genre "Criticism, interpretation, etc."@en ;
    schema:inLanguage "en" ;
    schema:name "How to read novels like a professor"@en ;
    schema:productID "190860169" ;
    schema:publication <http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/190860169#PublicationEvent/new_york_harper_2008> ;
    schema:publisher <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/119420705#Agent/harper> ; # Harper
    schema:url <http://catdir.loc.gov/catdir/toc/ecip088/2008001729.html> ;
    schema:workExample <http://worldcat.org/isbn/9780061340406> ;
    wdrs:describedby <http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/190860169> ;
    .


Related Entities

<http://dbpedia.org/resource/New_York_City> # New York
    a schema:Place ;
    schema:name "New York" ;
    .

<http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85048060> # Fiction--History and criticism
    a schema:Intangible ;
    schema:name "Fiction--History and criticism"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/836454> # Books and reading
    a schema:Intangible ;
    schema:name "Books and reading"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/923709> # Fiction
    a schema:Intangible ;
    schema:name "Fiction"@en ;
    .

<http://viaf.org/viaf/64048979> # Thomas C. Foster
    a schema:Person ;
    schema:familyName "Foster" ;
    schema:givenName "Thomas C." ;
    schema:name "Thomas C. Foster" ;
    .

<http://worldcat.org/isbn/9780061340406>
    a schema:ProductModel ;
    schema:isbn "0061340405" ;
    schema:isbn "9780061340406" ;
    .


Content-negotiable representations

Close Window

กรุณาลงชื่อเข้าสู่ระบบ WorldCat 

ยังไม่มีบัญชีผู้ใช้? คุณสามารถสร้างได้อย่างง่ายดาย สร้างบัญชีผู้ใช้ฟรี.