跳到内容
How to read novels like a professor 预览资料
关闭预览资料
正在查...

How to read novels like a professor

著者: Thomas C Foster
出版商: New York : Harper, ©2008.
版本/格式:   图书 : 英语 : 1st ed查看所有的版本和格式
数据库:WorldCat
提要:
In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun.
评估:

根据 2 评估等级 2 附有评论

主题
更多类似这样的

 

在图书馆查找

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; 正在查找有这资料的图书馆...

详细书目

类型/形式: Criticism, interpretation, etc
材料类型: 互联网资源
文件类型: 书, 互联网资源
所有的著者/提供者: Thomas C Foster
ISBN: 9780061340406 0061340405
OCLC号码: 190860169
描述: xviii, 312 p. ; 21 cm.
内容: Preface: Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? --
Introduction: Once upon a time : a short, chaotic, and entirely idiosyncratic history of the novel --
Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages --
You can't breathe where the air is clear --
Who's in charge here? --
Never trust a narrator with a speaking part --
A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) --
Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip --
When very bad people happen to good novels --
Wrinkles in time, or Chapters just might matter --
Everywhere is just one place --
Clarissa's flowers --
Met-him-pike-hoses --
Life sentences --
Drowning in the stream of consciousness --
The light on Daisy's dock --
Fiction about fiction --
Source codes and recycle bins --
Interlude: Read with your ears --
Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards --
What's the big idea--or even the small one? --
Who broke my novel? --
Untidy endings --
History in the novel/the novel in history --
Conspiracy theory --
Conclusion: The never-ending journey.
责任: Thomas C. Foster.
更多信息:

摘要:

In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun.

评论

用户提供的评论

WorldCat用户评论 (2)

A Valuable Read for Both Novel Readers and Writers

评论者是 LadyArwen (公布的WorldCat用户 2014-06-19) 极好 Permalink

Thomas C Foster's follow-up to his How to Read Literature Like a Professor is a thoughtful conversation with is reading audience. Drawing on examples from 19th and 20th century novels by both well known and more obscure novelists, he presents a complete guide to how to read a novel between...
再读一些...  再读一些...

  • 这一评论对你是否有所帮助?
  •   

Eye-opening, educational and entertaining

评论者是 bellanox (公布的WorldCat用户 2011-08-08) 极好 Permalink

I don't think I'll ever read a novel quite the same way again -- but in a good way. Professor Foster is going to have me always on my toes, looking for "clues", in every book I read from now on. I learned a lot from this book, but it was also very entertaining, not like a textbook at all. I would...
再读一些...  再读一些...

  • 这一评论对你是否有所帮助?
  •   
正在获取GoodReads评论...
正在检索DOGObooks的评论

标签

所有的用户标签 (3)

查看最热门的标签,展示的形式是: 标签列表 | 标签云(tag cloud)

相似资料

相关主题:(3)

这资料的用户列表 (3)

确认申请

你可能已经申请过这份资料。如果还是想申请,请选确认。

链接数据


<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/190860169>
library:oclcnum"190860169"
library:placeOfPublication
library:placeOfPublication
owl:sameAs<info:oclcnum/190860169>
rdf:typeschema:Book
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:bookEdition"1st ed."
schema:copyrightYear"2008"
schema:creator
schema:datePublished"2008"
schema:description"Preface: Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? -- Introduction: Once upon a time : a short, chaotic, and entirely idiosyncratic history of the novel -- Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages -- You can't breathe where the air is clear -- Who's in charge here? -- Never trust a narrator with a speaking part -- A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) -- Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip -- When very bad people happen to good novels -- Wrinkles in time, or Chapters just might matter -- Everywhere is just one place -- Clarissa's flowers -- Met-him-pike-hoses -- Life sentences -- Drowning in the stream of consciousness -- The light on Daisy's dock -- Fiction about fiction -- Source codes and recycle bins -- Interlude: Read with your ears -- Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards -- What's the big idea--or even the small one? -- Who broke my novel? -- Untidy endings -- History in the novel/the novel in history -- Conspiracy theory -- Conclusion: The never-ending journey."@en
schema:description"In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun."@en
schema:exampleOfWork<http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/119420705>
schema:genre"Criticism, interpretation, etc."@en
schema:inLanguage"en"
schema:name"How to read novels like a professor"@en
schema:numberOfPages"312"
schema:publisher
schema:url
schema:workExample

Content-negotiable representations

关闭窗口

请登入WorldCat 

没有张号吗?很容易就可以 建立免费的账号.