跳至内容
How to read novels like a professor 線上預覽
關閉線上預覽
正在查...

How to read novels like a professor

作者: Thomas C Foster
出版商: New York : Harper, ©2008.
版本/格式:   圖書 : 英語 : 1st ed所有版本和格式的總覽
資料庫:WorldCat
提要:
In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun.
評定級別:

依據 2 評分 2 附有評論

主題
更多類似這樣的

 

在圖書館查詢

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; 正在查詢有此資料的圖書館...

詳細書目

類型/形式: Criticism, interpretation, etc
資料類型: 網際網路資源
文件類型: 圖書, 網路資源
所有的作者/貢獻者: Thomas C Foster
ISBN: 9780061340406 0061340405
OCLC系統控制編碼: 190860169
描述: xviii, 312 p. ; 21 cm.
内容: Preface: Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? --
Introduction: Once upon a time : a short, chaotic, and entirely idiosyncratic history of the novel --
Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages --
You can't breathe where the air is clear --
Who's in charge here? --
Never trust a narrator with a speaking part --
A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) --
Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip --
When very bad people happen to good novels --
Wrinkles in time, or Chapters just might matter --
Everywhere is just one place --
Clarissa's flowers --
Met-him-pike-hoses --
Life sentences --
Drowning in the stream of consciousness --
The light on Daisy's dock --
Fiction about fiction --
Source codes and recycle bins --
Interlude: Read with your ears --
Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards --
What's the big idea--or even the small one? --
Who broke my novel? --
Untidy endings --
History in the novel/the novel in history --
Conspiracy theory --
Conclusion: The never-ending journey.
責任: Thomas C. Foster.
更多資訊:

摘要:

In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun.

評論

讀者提供的評論

WorldCat讀者評論 (2)

A Valuable Read for Both Novel Readers and Writers

評論者是 LadyArwen (WorldCat讀者所發佈的 2014-06-19) 極好 Permalink

Thomas C Foster's follow-up to his How to Read Literature Like a Professor is a thoughtful conversation with is reading audience. Drawing on examples from 19th and 20th century novels by both well known and more obscure novelists, he presents a complete guide to how to read a novel between...
再讀一些...  再讀一些...

  • 此評論對你是否有所裨益?
  •   

Eye-opening, educational and entertaining

評論者是 bellanox (WorldCat讀者所發佈的 2011-08-08) 極好 Permalink

I don't think I'll ever read a novel quite the same way again -- but in a good way. Professor Foster is going to have me always on my toes, looking for "clues", in every book I read from now on. I learned a lot from this book, but it was also very entertaining, not like a textbook at all. I would...
再讀一些...  再讀一些...

  • 此評論對你是否有所裨益?
  •   
正在擷取GoodReads評論...
正在擷取DOGObooks的評論

標籤

所有的讀者標籤 (3)

檢視最熱門的標籤,呈現的形式是: 標籤我的最愛清單 | 標籤雲(tag cloud)

類似資料

相關主題:(3)

提供給讀者有關此資料的清單 (3)

確認申請

你可能已經申請過這份資料。若還是想申請,請選確認。

連結資料


<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/190860169>
library:oclcnum"190860169"
library:placeOfPublication
library:placeOfPublication
rdf:typeschema:MediaObject
rdf:typeschema:Book
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:bookEdition"1st ed."
schema:copyrightYear"2008"
schema:creator
schema:datePublished"2008"
schema:description"Preface: Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? -- Introduction: Once upon a time : a short, chaotic, and entirely idiosyncratic history of the novel -- Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages -- You can't breathe where the air is clear -- Who's in charge here? -- Never trust a narrator with a speaking part -- A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) -- Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip -- When very bad people happen to good novels -- Wrinkles in time, or Chapters just might matter -- Everywhere is just one place -- Clarissa's flowers -- Met-him-pike-hoses -- Life sentences -- Drowning in the stream of consciousness -- The light on Daisy's dock -- Fiction about fiction -- Source codes and recycle bins -- Interlude: Read with your ears -- Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards -- What's the big idea--or even the small one? -- Who broke my novel? -- Untidy endings -- History in the novel/the novel in history -- Conspiracy theory -- Conclusion: The never-ending journey."@en
schema:description"In his first book, "How to Read Literature Like a Professor," Foster led readers through the symbolic codes of literature. Now he presents this lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels to make everyday reading more enriching, satisfying, and fun."@en
schema:exampleOfWork<http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/119420705>
schema:genre"Criticism, interpretation, etc."@en
schema:inLanguage"en"
schema:name"How to read novels like a professor"@en
schema:numberOfPages"312"
schema:publication
schema:publisher
schema:workExample
wdrs:describedby

Content-negotiable representations

關閉視窗

請登入WorldCat 

没有帳號嗎?你可很容易的 建立免費的帳號.