passa ai contenuti
The magnificent Medills : America's royal family of journalism during a century of turbulent splendor Anteprima di questo documento
ChiudiAnteprima di questo documento
Stiamo controllando…

The magnificent Medills : America's royal family of journalism during a century of turbulent splendor

Autore: Megan McKinney
Editore: New York : HarperCollins Publishers, 2011.
Edizione/Formato:   book_printbook : Biography : English : 1st edVedi tutte le edizioni e i formati
Banca dati:WorldCat
Sommario:
The riveting story of the country's first media dynasty, the Medills of Chicago, whose power and influence shaped the story of American and American journalism for four generations.
Voto:

(non ancora votato) 0 con commenti - Diventa il primo.

Soggetti
Altri come questo

 

Trova una copia in biblioteca

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Stiamo ricercando le biblioteche che possiedono questo documento…

Dettagli

Genere/forma: Biography
History
Persona incaricata: Joseph Medill; Robert Rutherford McCormick; Eleanor Medill Patterson; Alicia Patterson; Joseph Medill; Robert Rutherford McCormick; Eleanor Medill Patterson; Alicia Patterson; Robert Rutherford McCormick; Joseph Medill; Alicia Patterson; Eleanor Medill Patterson
Tipo materiale: Biography
Tipo documento: Book
Tutti gli autori / Collaboratori: Megan McKinney
ISBN: 9780061782237 0061782238
Numero OCLC: 703206407
Descrizione: xi, 448 pages, [16] pages of plates : illustrations, genealogical table ; 24 cm
Contenuti: Preface --
Fertile soil --
The patriarch --
Joseph Medill and the making of the president 1860 --
The great Chicago fire : Mayor Medill's personal phoenix --
The worst two she-devils in all of Chicago --
The Medill sisters' upward scramble --
Cissy comes of age --
The male cousins : heirs, pawns, victims, survivors --
Cissy : debutante countess --
Dynasty in jeopardy --
The countess and her admirers --
World War I and the creation of Colonel Robert R. McCormick --
The Jazz Age collides with The Chicago tribune --
The rise of the New York daily news : love, sex, money and murder --
The Cartier life --
The colonel of Chicagoland --
The editor wore emeralds : Mrs. Eleanor Medill Patterson's Washington herald --
Alicia Patterson, surrogate son --
The bittersweet revenge of Alicia's Newsday --
Hubris : FDR and the McCormick-Patterson axis --
The cousins in winter --
Epilogue: after the Medill century.
Responsabilità: Megan McKinney.

Abstract:

In the vein of Alan Brinkley's "The Publisher: Henry Luce and His American Century" and Katharine Graham's "Personal History" comes the first comprehensive chronicle of the Medill family--a riveting  Per saperne di più…

Commenti

Recensioni editoriali

Sinossi editore

"[An] immensely entertaining book... McKinney vividly re-creates the city's no-holds-barred newspaper culture." -- Chicago Tribune "Shifting smoothly from the life of one Medill, Patterson or Per saperne di più…

 
Commenti degli utenti
Recuperando commenti GoodReads…
Stiamo recuperando commenti DOGObooks

Etichette

Diventa il primo.
Conferma questa richiesta

Potresti aver già richiesto questo documento. Seleziona OK se si vuole procedere comunque con questa richiesta.

Dati collegati


<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/703206407>
library:oclcnum"703206407"
library:placeOfPublication
library:placeOfPublication
rdf:typeschema:Book
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
<http://viaf.org/viaf/54984478>
rdf:typeschema:Person
schema:birthDate"1880"
schema:deathDate"1955"
schema:familyName"McCormick"
schema:givenName"Robert Rutherford"
schema:name"McCormick, Robert Rutherford, 1880-1955."
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
<http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2010103730>
rdf:typeschema:Intangible
schema:name"Newspaper publishing--United States--History--20th century."@en
schema:about
schema:bookEdition"1st ed."
schema:creator
schema:datePublished"2011"
schema:description"Preface -- Fertile soil -- The patriarch -- Joseph Medill and the making of the president 1860 -- The great Chicago fire : Mayor Medill's personal phoenix -- The worst two she-devils in all of Chicago -- The Medill sisters' upward scramble -- Cissy comes of age -- The male cousins : heirs, pawns, victims, survivors -- Cissy : debutante countess -- Dynasty in jeopardy -- The countess and her admirers -- World War I and the creation of Colonel Robert R. McCormick -- The Jazz Age collides with The Chicago tribune -- The rise of the New York daily news : love, sex, money and murder -- The Cartier life -- The colonel of Chicagoland -- The editor wore emeralds : Mrs. Eleanor Medill Patterson's Washington herald -- Alicia Patterson, surrogate son -- The bittersweet revenge of Alicia's Newsday -- Hubris : FDR and the McCormick-Patterson axis -- The cousins in winter -- Epilogue: after the Medill century."@en
schema:description"The riveting story of the country's first media dynasty, the Medills of Chicago, whose power and influence shaped the story of American and American journalism for four generations."@en
schema:description"When thirty-two-year-old former lawyer Joseph Medill bought a controlling stake in the bankrupt Chicago Daily Tribune in 1855, he had no way of foreseeing the unparalleled influence he and his progeny would have on the world of journalism and on American society at large. Medill personally influenced the political tide that transformed America during the midnineteenth century by fostering the Republican Party, engineering the election of Abraham Lincoln and serving as a catalyst for the outbreak of the Civil War. The dynasty he established, filled with colorful characters, went on to take American journalism by storm. His grandson, Colonel Robert R. McCormick, personified Chicago, as well as its great newspaper, the Chicago Tribune, throughout much of the twentieth century. Robert's cousin, Joseph Medill Patterson, started the New York Daily News, and Joe's sister, Cissy Patterson, was the innovative editor of the Washington Times-Herald. In the fourth generation, Alicia Patterson founded Long Island's Newsday, the most stunning journalistic accomplishment of post-World War II America. Printer's ink raged in the veins of the Medills, the McCormicks and the Pattersons throughout a century, and their legacy prevailed for another five decades- always in the forefront of events, shaping the intellectual and social pulse of America. At the same time, the dark side of the intellectual stardom driving the dynasty was a destructive compulsion that left clan members crippled by their personal demons of chronic depression, alcoholism, drug abuse and even madness and suicide. Rife with authentic conversations and riveting quotes, The Magnificent Medills is the premiere cultural history of America's first media empire. This dynamic family and their brilliance, eccentricities and ultimate self-destruction are explored in a sweeping narrative that interweaves the family's personal activities and public achievements against a larger historical background. Authoritative, compelling and thoroughly engaging, The Magnificent Medills brings the pages of history that the Medills wrote vividly to life."@en
schema:exampleOfWork<http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/1072185713>
schema:genre"Biography"@en
schema:genre"History"@en
schema:inLanguage"en"
schema:name"The magnificent Medills : America's royal family of journalism during a century of turbulent splendor"@en
schema:publication
schema:publisher
schema:workExample
wdrs:describedby

Content-negotiable representations

Chiudi finestra

Per favore entra in WorldCat 

Non hai un account? Puoi facilmente crearne uno gratuito.