コンテンツへ移動
West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State 資料のプレビュー
閉じる資料のプレビュー
確認中…

West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State

著者: Mark Arax
出版: New York : PublicAffairs, ©2009.
エディション/フォーマット:   書籍 : English : 1st edすべてのエディションとフォーマットを見る
データベース:WorldCat
概要:
In the tradition of Joan Didion, Arax combines journalism, essay, and memoir to capture social upheaval as well as the sense of being rooted in a community. This new collection finds a different drama rising out of each confounding landscape: a portrait of one family from Oaxaca, through harrowing border crossings and brutal raisin harvests; right-wing Christians and Jews form a strange pact that tries to silence  続きを読む
評価:

(まだ評価がありません) 0 件のレビュー - まずはあなたから!

件名
関連情報

 

オンラインで入手

この資料へのリンク

オフラインで入手

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; この資料の所蔵館を検索中…

詳細

関連の人物: Mark Arax
資料の種類: インターネット資料
ドキュメントの種類: 図書, インターネットリソース
すべての著者/寄与者: Mark Arax
ISBN: 9781586483906 1586483900
OCLC No.: 191926338
形態 xiv, 347 p. ; 25 cm.
コンテンツ: The last valley --
The agent --
Eyre of the storm --
Legend of Zankou --
The summer of the death of Hilario Guzman --
Highlands of Humboldt --
Last Okie of Lamont --
The great microbe hunt --
Home front --
Confessions of an Armenian moonshiner.
責任者: Mark Arax.

概要:

In the tradition of Didion, Stegner, and McPhee, an intimate portrait of California in flux by the best-selling author of The King of California  続きを読む

レビュー

編集者のレビュー

出版社によるあらすじ

"Publishers Weekly", starred review, February 25, 2009 These swift, penetrating essays from former "Los Angeles Times" writer Arax ("In My Father's Name") take the measure of contemporary California 続きを読む

 
ユーザーレビュー
GoodReadsのレビューを取得中…
DOGObooksのレビューを取得中…

タグ

すべてのユーザーのタグ (1)

人気のタグを表示: タグリスト | タグクラウド

類似資料

関連件名:(3)

この資料を含むリスト (1)

リクエストの確認

あなたは既にこの資料をリクエストしている可能性があります。このリクエストを続行してよろしければ、OK を選択してください。

リンクデータ


<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/191926338>
library:oclcnum"191926338"
library:placeOfPublication
library:placeOfPublication
owl:sameAs<info:oclcnum/191926338>
rdf:typeschema:Book
rdfs:seeAlso
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:author
schema:bookEdition"1st ed."
schema:copyrightYear"2009"
schema:datePublished"2009"
schema:description"The last valley -- The agent -- Eyre of the storm -- Legend of Zankou -- The summer of the death of Hilario Guzman -- Highlands of Humboldt -- Last Okie of Lamont -- The great microbe hunt -- Home front -- Confessions of an Armenian moonshiner."
schema:description"In the tradition of Joan Didion, Arax combines journalism, essay, and memoir to capture social upheaval as well as the sense of being rooted in a community. This new collection finds a different drama rising out of each confounding landscape: a portrait of one family from Oaxaca, through harrowing border crossings and brutal raisin harvests; right-wing Christians and Jews form a strange pact that tries to silence debate on the War on Terror; Lamont, the inspiration for the town in the Grapes of Wrath, has but one Okie left, who tells Arax his life story as he drives to a funeral to bury one more Dust Bowl migrant; in Humboldt County, the old hippies are battling the new hippies over "pollution pot." Arax pieces together the murder-suicide at the heart of a rotisserie chicken empire, and provides a moving epilogue to the murder of his own father.--From publisher description."
schema:exampleOfWork<http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/796731696>
schema:genre"History"
schema:inLanguage"en"
schema:name"West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State"
schema:numberOfPages"347"
schema:publisher
schema:workExample
schema:workExample

Content-negotiable representations

ウインドウを閉じる

WorldCatにログインしてください 

アカウントをお持ちではないですか?簡単に 無料アカウントを作成することができます。.