컨텐츠로 이동
West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State 해당 항목을 미리보기
닫기해당 항목을 미리보기
확인중입니다…

West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State

저자: Mark Arax
출판사: New York : PublicAffairs, ©2009.
판/형식:   인쇄본 : 영어 : 1st ed모든 판과 형식 보기
데이터베이스:WorldCat
요약:
In the tradition of Joan Didion, Arax combines journalism, essay, and memoir to capture social upheaval as well as the sense of being rooted in a community. This new collection finds a different drama rising out of each confounding landscape: a portrait of one family from Oaxaca, through harrowing border crossings and brutal raisin harvests; right-wing Christians and Jews form a strange pact that tries to silence  더 읽기…
평가:

(아무런 평가가 없습니다.) 0 리뷰와 함께 - 첫번째로 올려주세요.

주제
다음과 같습니다:

 

온라인으로 문서 찾기

이 항목에 대한 링크

도서관에서 사본 찾기

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; 해당항목을 보유하고 있는 도서관을 찾는 중

상세정보

장르/형태: History
명시된 사람: Mark Arax; Mark Arax
자료 유형: 인터넷 자료
문서 유형 도서, 인터넷 자원
모든 저자 / 참여자: Mark Arax
ISBN: 9781586483906 1586483900
OCLC 번호: 191926338
설명: xiv, 347 pages ; 25 cm
내용: The last valley --
The agent --
Eyre of the storm --
Legend of Zankou --
The summer of the death of Hilario Guzman --
Highlands of Humboldt --
Last Okie of Lamont --
The great microbe hunt --
Home front --
Confessions of an Armenian moonshiner.
책임: Mark Arax.

초록:

In the tradition of Didion, Stegner, and McPhee, an intimate portrait of California in flux by the best-selling author of The King of California  더 읽기…

리뷰

편집자의 리뷰

출판사 줄거리

Carolyn See, Making a Literary Life "Mark Arax has achieved something truly wonderful. He shows us a California we don't know or haven't yet heard about: Post 9/11 racism and craziness in the Central 더 읽기…

 
사용자-기여 리뷰
GoodReads 리뷰 가져오는 중…
DOGObooks 리뷰를 가지고 오는 중…

태그

모든 사용자 태그 (1)

가장 인기있는 태그 보기 태그 리스트 | 태그 구름

  • reading  (베라루스 1 사람)

유사 항목

제목:(6)

이 항목을 가지고 있는 사용자 목록 (1)

요청하신 것을 확인하기

이 항목을 이미 요청하셨을 수도 있습니다. 만약 이 요청을 계속해서 진행하시려면 Ok을 선택하세요.

링크된 데이터


Primary Entity

<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/191926338> # West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State
    a schema:CreativeWork, schema:Book ;
   library:oclcnum "191926338" ;
   library:placeOfPublication <http://id.loc.gov/vocabulary/countries/nyu> ;
   library:placeOfPublication <http://dbpedia.org/resource/New_York_City> ; # New York
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/796731696#Person/arax_mark_1956> ; # Mark Arax
   schema:about <http://viaf.org/viaf/46016031> ; # Mark Arax
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/796731696#Place/california> ; # California
   schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1204928> ; # California.
   schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1155558> ; # Travel
   schema:about <http://dewey.info/class/917.940454/e22/> ;
   schema:bookEdition "1st ed." ;
   schema:bookFormat bgn:PrintBook ;
   schema:copyrightYear "2009" ;
   schema:creator <http://viaf.org/viaf/46016031> ; # Mark Arax
   schema:datePublished "2009" ;
   schema:description "The last valley -- The agent -- Eyre of the storm -- Legend of Zankou -- The summer of the death of Hilario Guzman -- Highlands of Humboldt -- Last Okie of Lamont -- The great microbe hunt -- Home front -- Confessions of an Armenian moonshiner."@en ;
   schema:description "In the tradition of Joan Didion, Arax combines journalism, essay, and memoir to capture social upheaval as well as the sense of being rooted in a community. This new collection finds a different drama rising out of each confounding landscape: a portrait of one family from Oaxaca, through harrowing border crossings and brutal raisin harvests; right-wing Christians and Jews form a strange pact that tries to silence debate on the War on Terror; Lamont, the inspiration for the town in the Grapes of Wrath, has but one Okie left, who tells Arax his life story as he drives to a funeral to bury one more Dust Bowl migrant; in Humboldt County, the old hippies are battling the new hippies over "pollution pot." Arax pieces together the murder-suicide at the heart of a rotisserie chicken empire, and provides a moving epilogue to the murder of his own father.--From publisher description."@en ;
   schema:exampleOfWork <http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/796731696> ;
   schema:genre "History"@en ;
   schema:inLanguage "en" ;
   schema:name "West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State"@en ;
   schema:productID "191926338" ;
   schema:publication <http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/191926338#PublicationEvent/new_york_publicaffairs_2009> ;
   schema:publisher <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/796731696#Agent/publicaffairs> ; # PublicAffairs
   schema:url <http://bvbr.bib-bvb.de:8991/F?func=service&doc_library=BVB01&doc_number=017734860&line_number=0001&func_code=DB_RECORDS&service_type=MEDIA> ;
   schema:workExample <http://worldcat.org/isbn/9781586483906> ;
   wdrs:describedby <http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/191926338> ;
    .


Related Entities

<http://dbpedia.org/resource/New_York_City> # New York
    a schema:Place ;
   schema:name "New York" ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1155558> # Travel
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Travel"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1204928> # California.
    a schema:Place ;
   schema:name "California." ;
    .

<http://viaf.org/viaf/46016031> # Mark Arax
    a schema:Person ;
   schema:birthDate "1956" ;
   schema:familyName "Arax" ;
   schema:givenName "Mark" ;
   schema:name "Mark Arax" ;
    .

<http://worldcat.org/isbn/9781586483906>
    a schema:ProductModel ;
   schema:isbn "1586483900" ;
   schema:isbn "9781586483906" ;
    .

<http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/191926338>
    a genont:InformationResource, genont:ContentTypeGenericResource ;
   schema:about <http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/191926338> ; # West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State
   schema:dateModified "2017-09-03" ;
   void:inDataset <http://purl.oclc.org/dataset/WorldCat> ;
    .


Content-negotiable representations

윈도우 닫기

WorldCat에 로그인 하십시오 

계정이 없으세요? 아주 간단한 절차를 통하여 무료 계정을 만드실 수 있습니다.