컨텐츠로 이동
West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State 해당 항목을 미리보기
닫기해당 항목을 미리보기
확인중입니다…

West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State

저자: Mark Arax
출판사: New York : PublicAffairs, ©2009.
판/형식:   Print book : 영어 : 1st ed모든 판과 형식 보기
데이터베이스:WorldCat
요약:
In the tradition of Joan Didion, Arax combines journalism, essay, and memoir to capture social upheaval as well as the sense of being rooted in a community. This new collection finds a different drama rising out of each confounding landscape: a portrait of one family from Oaxaca, through harrowing border crossings and brutal raisin harvests; right-wing Christians and Jews form a strange pact that tries to silence  더 읽기…
평가:

(아무런 평가가 없습니다.) 0 리뷰와 함께 - 첫번째로 올려주세요.

주제
다음과 같습니다:

 

온라인으로 문서 찾기

이 항목에 대한 링크

도서관에서 사본 찾기

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; 해당항목을 보유하고 있는 도서관을 찾는 중

상세정보

명시된 사람: Mark Arax
자료 유형: 인터넷 자료
문서 형식: 책, 인터넷 자원
모든 저자 / 참여자: Mark Arax
ISBN: 9781586483906 1586483900
OCLC 번호: 191926338
설명: xiv, 347 p. ; 25 cm.
내용: The last valley --
The agent --
Eyre of the storm --
Legend of Zankou --
The summer of the death of Hilario Guzman --
Highlands of Humboldt --
Last Okie of Lamont --
The great microbe hunt --
Home front --
Confessions of an Armenian moonshiner.
책임: Mark Arax.

초록:

In the tradition of Didion, Stegner, and McPhee, an intimate portrait of California in flux by the best-selling author of The King of California  더 읽기…

리뷰

편집자의 리뷰

출판사 줄거리

"Publishers Weekly", starred review, February 25, 2009 These swift, penetrating essays from former "Los Angeles Times" writer Arax ("In My Father's Name") take the measure of contemporary California 더 읽기…

 
사용자-기여 리뷰
GoodReads 리뷰 가져오는 중…
DOGObooks 리뷰를 가지고 오는 중…

태그

모든 사용자 태그 (1)

가장 인기있는 태그 보기 태그 리스트 | tag cloud

유사 항목

관련 주제:(3)

이 항목을 가지고 있는 사용자 목록 (1)

요청하신 것을 확인하기

이 항목을 이미 요청하셨을 수도 있습니다. 만약 이 요청을 계속해서 진행하시려면 Ok을 선택하세요.

링크된 데이터


<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/191926338>
library:oclcnum"191926338"
library:placeOfPublication
library:placeOfPublication
rdf:typeschema:Book
rdf:typeschema:MediaObject
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:bookEdition"1st ed."
schema:copyrightYear"2009"
schema:creator
schema:datePublished"2009"
schema:description"The last valley -- The agent -- Eyre of the storm -- Legend of Zankou -- The summer of the death of Hilario Guzman -- Highlands of Humboldt -- Last Okie of Lamont -- The great microbe hunt -- Home front -- Confessions of an Armenian moonshiner."@en
schema:description"In the tradition of Joan Didion, Arax combines journalism, essay, and memoir to capture social upheaval as well as the sense of being rooted in a community. This new collection finds a different drama rising out of each confounding landscape: a portrait of one family from Oaxaca, through harrowing border crossings and brutal raisin harvests; right-wing Christians and Jews form a strange pact that tries to silence debate on the War on Terror; Lamont, the inspiration for the town in the Grapes of Wrath, has but one Okie left, who tells Arax his life story as he drives to a funeral to bury one more Dust Bowl migrant; in Humboldt County, the old hippies are battling the new hippies over "pollution pot." Arax pieces together the murder-suicide at the heart of a rotisserie chicken empire, and provides a moving epilogue to the murder of his own father.--From publisher description."@en
schema:exampleOfWork<http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/796731696>
schema:genre"History"@en
schema:inLanguage"en"
schema:name"West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State"@en
schema:numberOfPages"347"
schema:publication
schema:publisher
schema:workExample
wdrs:describedby

Content-negotiable representations

윈도우 닫기

WorldCat에 로그인 하십시오 

계정이 없으세요? 아주 간단한 절차를 통하여 무료 계정을 만드실 수 있습니다.