doorgaan naar inhoud
West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State Voorbeeldweergave van dit item
SluitenVoorbeeldweergave van dit item
Bezig met controle...

West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State

Auteur: Mark Arax
Uitgever: New York : PublicAffairs, ©2009.
Editie/Formaat:   Boek : Engels : 1st edAlle edities en materiaalsoorten bekijken.
Database:WorldCat
Samenvatting:
In the tradition of Joan Didion, Arax combines journalism, essay, and memoir to capture social upheaval as well as the sense of being rooted in a community. This new collection finds a different drama rising out of each confounding landscape: a portrait of one family from Oaxaca, through harrowing border crossings and brutal raisin harvests; right-wing Christians and Jews form a strange pact that tries to silence  Meer lezen...
Beoordeling:

(nog niet beoordeeld) 0 met beoordelingen - U bent de eerste

Onderwerpen
Meer in deze trant

 

Zoeken naar een online exemplaar

Links naar dit item

Zoeken naar een in de bibliotheek beschikbaar exemplaar

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Bibliotheken met dit item worden gezocht…

Details

Genoemd persoon: Mark Arax
Genre: Internetbron
Soort document: Boek, Internetbron
Alle auteurs / medewerkers: Mark Arax
ISBN: 9781586483906 1586483900
OCLC-nummer: 191926338
Beschrijving: xiv, 347 p. ; 25 cm.
Inhoud: The last valley --
The agent --
Eyre of the storm --
Legend of Zankou --
The summer of the death of Hilario Guzman --
Highlands of Humboldt --
Last Okie of Lamont --
The great microbe hunt --
Home front --
Confessions of an Armenian moonshiner.
Verantwoordelijkheid: Mark Arax.

Fragment:

In the tradition of Didion, Stegner, and McPhee, an intimate portrait of California in flux by the best-selling author of The King of California  Meer lezen...

Beoordelingen

Professionele beoordelingen

Synopsis uitgever

"Publishers Weekly", starred review, February 25, 2009 These swift, penetrating essays from former "Los Angeles Times" writer Arax ("In My Father's Name") take the measure of contemporary California Meer lezen...

 
Beoordelingen door gebruikers
Beoordelingen van GoodReads worden opgehaald...
Bezig met opvragen DOGObooks-reviews...

Tags

Alle gebruiker-tags (1)

De meest populaire tags bekijken als: Tag-list | Tag-wolk

Vergelijkbare items

Verwante onderwerpen:(3)

Gebruiker-lijsten met dit item (1)

Bevestig deze aanvraag

Misschien heeft u dit item reeds aangevraagd. Selecteer a.u.b. Ok als u toch wilt doorgaan met deze aanvraag.

Gekoppelde data


<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/191926338>
library:oclcnum"191926338"
library:placeOfPublication
library:placeOfPublication
owl:sameAs<info:oclcnum/191926338>
rdf:typeschema:Book
rdfs:seeAlso
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:author
schema:bookEdition"1st ed."
schema:copyrightYear"2009"
schema:datePublished"2009"
schema:description"The last valley -- The agent -- Eyre of the storm -- Legend of Zankou -- The summer of the death of Hilario Guzman -- Highlands of Humboldt -- Last Okie of Lamont -- The great microbe hunt -- Home front -- Confessions of an Armenian moonshiner."
schema:description"In the tradition of Joan Didion, Arax combines journalism, essay, and memoir to capture social upheaval as well as the sense of being rooted in a community. This new collection finds a different drama rising out of each confounding landscape: a portrait of one family from Oaxaca, through harrowing border crossings and brutal raisin harvests; right-wing Christians and Jews form a strange pact that tries to silence debate on the War on Terror; Lamont, the inspiration for the town in the Grapes of Wrath, has but one Okie left, who tells Arax his life story as he drives to a funeral to bury one more Dust Bowl migrant; in Humboldt County, the old hippies are battling the new hippies over "pollution pot." Arax pieces together the murder-suicide at the heart of a rotisserie chicken empire, and provides a moving epilogue to the murder of his own father.--From publisher description."
schema:exampleOfWork<http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/796731696>
schema:genre"History"
schema:inLanguage"en"
schema:name"West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State"
schema:numberOfPages"347"
schema:publisher
schema:workExample
schema:workExample

Content-negotiable representations

Venster sluiten

Meld u aan bij WorldCat 

Heeft u geen account? U kunt eenvoudig een nieuwe gratis account aanmaken.