doorgaan naar inhoud
West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State Voorbeeldweergave van dit item
SluitenVoorbeeldweergave van dit item
Bezig met controle...

West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State

Auteur: Mark Arax
Uitgever: New York : PublicAffairs, ©2009.
Editie/Formaat:   Print book : Engels : 1st edAlle edities en materiaalsoorten bekijken.
Database:WorldCat
Samenvatting:
In the tradition of Joan Didion, Arax combines journalism, essay, and memoir to capture social upheaval as well as the sense of being rooted in a community. This new collection finds a different drama rising out of each confounding landscape: a portrait of one family from Oaxaca, through harrowing border crossings and brutal raisin harvests; right-wing Christians and Jews form a strange pact that tries to silence  Meer lezen...
Beoordeling:

(nog niet beoordeeld) 0 met beoordelingen - U bent de eerste

Onderwerpen
Meer in deze trant

 

Zoeken naar een online exemplaar

Links naar dit item

Zoeken naar een in de bibliotheek beschikbaar exemplaar

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Bibliotheken met dit item worden gezocht…

Details

Genre/Vorm: History
Genoemd persoon: Mark Arax; Mark Arax
Genre: Internetbron
Soort document: Boek, Internetbron
Alle auteurs / medewerkers: Mark Arax
ISBN: 9781586483906 1586483900
OCLC-nummer: 191926338
Beschrijving: xiv, 347 pages ; 25 cm
Inhoud: The last valley --
The agent --
Eyre of the storm --
Legend of Zankou --
The summer of the death of Hilario Guzman --
Highlands of Humboldt --
Last Okie of Lamont --
The great microbe hunt --
Home front --
Confessions of an Armenian moonshiner.
Verantwoordelijkheid: Mark Arax.

Fragment:

In the tradition of Didion, Stegner, and McPhee, an intimate portrait of California in flux by the best-selling author of The King of California  Meer lezen...

Beoordelingen

Professionele beoordelingen

Synopsis uitgever

<b>Carolyn See, <i>Making a Literary Life</i> Meer lezen...

 
Beoordelingen door gebruikers
Beoordelingen van GoodReads worden opgehaald...
Bezig met opvragen DOGObooks-reviews...

Tags

Alle gebruiker-tags (1)

De meest populaire tags bekijken als: Tag-list | Tag-wolk

Vergelijkbare items

Bevestig deze aanvraag

Misschien heeft u dit item reeds aangevraagd. Selecteer a.u.b. Ok als u toch wilt doorgaan met deze aanvraag.

Gekoppelde data


Primary Entity

<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/191926338> # West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State
    a schema:CreativeWork, schema:Book ;
   library:oclcnum "191926338" ;
   library:placeOfPublication <http://id.loc.gov/vocabulary/countries/nyu> ;
   library:placeOfPublication <http://dbpedia.org/resource/New_York_City> ; # New York
   schema:about <http://viaf.org/viaf/46016031> ; # Mark Arax
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/796731696#Place/california> ; # California
   schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1204928> ; # California
   schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1155558> ; # Travel
   schema:about <http://dewey.info/class/917.940454/e22/> ;
   schema:bookEdition "1st ed." ;
   schema:bookFormat bgn:PrintBook ;
   schema:copyrightYear "2009" ;
   schema:creator <http://viaf.org/viaf/46016031> ; # Mark Arax
   schema:datePublished "2009" ;
   schema:description "The last valley -- The agent -- Eyre of the storm -- Legend of Zankou -- The summer of the death of Hilario Guzman -- Highlands of Humboldt -- Last Okie of Lamont -- The great microbe hunt -- Home front -- Confessions of an Armenian moonshiner."@en ;
   schema:description "In the tradition of Joan Didion, Arax combines journalism, essay, and memoir to capture social upheaval as well as the sense of being rooted in a community. This new collection finds a different drama rising out of each confounding landscape: a portrait of one family from Oaxaca, through harrowing border crossings and brutal raisin harvests; right-wing Christians and Jews form a strange pact that tries to silence debate on the War on Terror; Lamont, the inspiration for the town in the Grapes of Wrath, has but one Okie left, who tells Arax his life story as he drives to a funeral to bury one more Dust Bowl migrant; in Humboldt County, the old hippies are battling the new hippies over "pollution pot." Arax pieces together the murder-suicide at the heart of a rotisserie chicken empire, and provides a moving epilogue to the murder of his own father.--From publisher description."@en ;
   schema:exampleOfWork <http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/796731696> ;
   schema:genre "History"@en ;
   schema:inLanguage "en" ;
   schema:name "West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State"@en ;
   schema:productID "191926338" ;
   schema:publication <http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/191926338#PublicationEvent/new_york_publicaffairs_2009> ;
   schema:publisher <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/796731696#Agent/publicaffairs> ; # PublicAffairs
   schema:url <http://bvbr.bib-bvb.de:8991/F?func=service&doc_library=BVB01&doc_number=017734860&line_number=0001&func_code=DB_RECORDS&service_type=MEDIA> ;
   schema:workExample <http://worldcat.org/isbn/9781586483906> ;
   wdrs:describedby <http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/191926338> ;
    .


Related Entities

<http://dbpedia.org/resource/New_York_City> # New York
    a schema:Place ;
   schema:name "New York" ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1155558> # Travel
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Travel"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1204928> # California
    a schema:Place ;
   schema:name "California" ;
    .

<http://viaf.org/viaf/46016031> # Mark Arax
    a schema:Person ;
   schema:birthDate "1956" ;
   schema:familyName "Arax" ;
   schema:givenName "Mark" ;
   schema:name "Mark Arax" ;
    .

<http://worldcat.org/isbn/9781586483906>
    a schema:ProductModel ;
   schema:isbn "1586483900" ;
   schema:isbn "9781586483906" ;
    .

<http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/191926338>
    a genont:InformationResource, genont:ContentTypeGenericResource ;
   schema:about <http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/191926338> ; # West of the West : dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State
   schema:dateModified "2017-03-31" ;
   void:inDataset <http://purl.oclc.org/dataset/WorldCat> ;
    .


Content-negotiable representations

Venster sluiten

Meld u aan bij WorldCat 

Heeft u geen account? U kunt eenvoudig een nieuwe gratis account aanmaken.