zum Inhalt wechseln
Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing Titelvorschau
SchließenTitelvorschau
Prüfung…

Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing

Verfasser/in: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz; Kathryn Bowers
Verlag: New York : A.A. Knopf, 2013, ©2012.
Ausgabe/Format   Buch : Englisch : 1st edAlle Ausgaben und Formate anzeigen
Datenbank:WorldCat
Zusammenfassung:
In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to  Weiterlesen…
Bewertung:

basierend auf 2 Bewertung(en) 2 mit Rezensionen

Themen
Ähnliche Titel

 

Exemplar ausleihen

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Suche nach Bibliotheken, die diesen Titel besitzen ...

Details

Dokumenttyp: Buch
Alle Autoren: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz; Kathryn Bowers
ISBN: 9780307593481 : 0307593487
OCLC-Nummer: 754714335
Beschreibung: viii, 308 p. ; 25 cm.
Inhalt: Dr. House, meet Doctor Doolittle: redefining the boundaries of medicine --
The feint of heart: why we pass out --
Jews, jaguars, and Jurassic cancer: new hope for an ancient diagnosis --
Roar-gasm: an animal guide to human sexuality --
Zoophoria: getting high and getting clean --
Scared to death: heart attacks in the wild --
Fat planet: why animals get fat and how they get thin --
Grooming gone wild: pain, pleasure, and the origins of self-injury --
Fear of feeding: eating disorders in the animal kingdom --
The koala and the clap: the hidden power of infection --
Leaving the nest: animal adolescence and the risky business of growing up --
Zoobiquity.
Verfasserangabe: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz and Kathryn Bowers.

Abstract:

In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to provide an understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind. "Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In this book she uses case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients.

Rezensionen

Nutzer-Rezensionen

Rezensionen von WorldCat-Nutzern (2)

Nike Shox Sko,Nike Shox NZ Sko

von salgskonorway (Veröffentlicht von WorldCat-Nutzern/innen 2012-10-07) Ausgezeichnet Permalink

<a href="http://www.salgskonorway.com/nike-shox-r4-c-13.html">http://www.salgskonorway.com/nike-shox-r4-c-13.html</a>...
Weiterlesen…  Weiterlesen…

  • War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?
  •   

Nike Shox NZ Herre Nike Air Max TN Sko

von ptxyw (Veröffentlicht von WorldCat-Nutzern/innen 2012-10-06) Gut Permalink
<div class="Section0" style="layout-grid: 15.6pt none;">

Ci Shiping , nei han ikke ville passere ogs...
Weiterlesen…  Weiterlesen…

  • War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?
  •   
Suche nach GoodReads-Rezensionen
Suche nach DOGObooks-Rezensionen…

Tags

Alle Nutzer-Tags (4)

Anzeige der beliebtesten Schlagwörter als: Schlagwortliste | Tag Cloud

Ähnliche Titel

Verwandte Themen:(9)

Nutzerlisten mit diesen Titeln (11)

Anfrage bestätigen

Sie haben diesen Titel bereits angefordert. Wenn Sie trotzdem fortfahren möchten, klicken Sie auf OK.

Verlinkung


<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/754714335>
library:oclcnum"754714335"
library:placeOfPublication
library:placeOfPublication
owl:sameAs<info:oclcnum/754714335>
rdf:typeschema:Book
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1015232>
rdf:typeschema:Intangible
schema:name"Medicine, Comparative"@en
schema:name"Medicine, Comparative."@en
schema:about
schema:about
<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/895160>
rdf:typeschema:Intangible
schema:name"Diseases--Animal models"@en
schema:name"Diseases--Animal models."@en
schema:bookEdition"1st ed."
schema:contributor
schema:copyrightYear"2012"
schema:creator
schema:datePublished"2013"
schema:description"Dr. House, meet Doctor Doolittle: redefining the boundaries of medicine -- The feint of heart: why we pass out -- Jews, jaguars, and Jurassic cancer: new hope for an ancient diagnosis -- Roar-gasm: an animal guide to human sexuality -- Zoophoria: getting high and getting clean -- Scared to death: heart attacks in the wild -- Fat planet: why animals get fat and how they get thin -- Grooming gone wild: pain, pleasure, and the origins of self-injury -- Fear of feeding: eating disorders in the animal kingdom -- The koala and the clap: the hidden power of infection -- Leaving the nest: animal adolescence and the risky business of growing up -- Zoobiquity."@en
schema:description"In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to provide an understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind. "Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In this book she uses case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients."@en
schema:exampleOfWork<http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/1066537681>
schema:inLanguage"en"
schema:name"Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing"@en
schema:numberOfPages"308"
schema:publisher
schema:url
schema:workExample

Content-negotiable representations

Fenster schließen

Bitte in WorldCat einloggen 

Sie haben kein Konto? Sie können sehr einfach ein kostenloses Konto anlegen,.