omitir hasta el contenido
Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing Ver este material de antemano
CerrarVer este material de antemano
Chequeando…

Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing

Autor: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz; Kathryn Bowers
Editorial: New York : A.A. Knopf, 2013, ©2012.
Edición/Formato:   Libro : Inglés (eng) : 1st edVer todas las ediciones y todos los formatos
Base de datos:WorldCat
Resumen:
In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to  Leer más
Calificación:

basada en 2 calificación/es 2 con reseñas

Temas
Más materiales como éste

 

Encontrar un ejemplar en la biblioteca

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Encontrando bibliotecas que tienen este material…

Detalles

Tipo de documento: Libro/Texto
Todos autores / colaboradores: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz; Kathryn Bowers
ISBN: 9780307593481 : 0307593487
Número OCLC: 754714335
Descripción: viii, 308 p. ; 25 cm.
Contenido: Dr. House, meet Doctor Doolittle: redefining the boundaries of medicine --
The feint of heart: why we pass out --
Jews, jaguars, and Jurassic cancer: new hope for an ancient diagnosis --
Roar-gasm: an animal guide to human sexuality --
Zoophoria: getting high and getting clean --
Scared to death: heart attacks in the wild --
Fat planet: why animals get fat and how they get thin --
Grooming gone wild: pain, pleasure, and the origins of self-injury --
Fear of feeding: eating disorders in the animal kingdom --
The koala and the clap: the hidden power of infection --
Leaving the nest: animal adolescence and the risky business of growing up --
Zoobiquity.
Responsabilidad: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz and Kathryn Bowers.

Resumen:

In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to provide an understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind. "Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In this book she uses case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients.

Reseñas

Reseñas contribuidas por usuarios

Reseñas de usuarios de WorldCat (2)

Nike Shox Sko,Nike Shox NZ Sko

por salgskonorway (Publicadas por usuario de WorldCat 2012-10-07) Excelente Permalink

<a href="http://www.salgskonorway.com/nike-shox-r4-c-13.html">http://www.salgskonorway.com/nike-shox-r4-c-13.html</a>...
Leer más  Leer más

  • ¿Le fue útil esta reseña?
  •   

Nike Shox NZ Herre Nike Air Max TN Sko

por ptxyw (Publicadas por usuario de WorldCat 2012-10-06) Bueno Permalink
<div class="Section0" style="layout-grid: 15.6pt none;">

Ci Shiping , nei han ikke ville passere ogs...
Leer más  Leer más

  • ¿Le fue útil esta reseña?
  •   
Recuperando reseñas de GoodReads…
Recuperando reseñas de DOGObooks…

Etiquetas

Todas las etiquetas de usuarios (4)

Ver etiquetas más populares como: lista de etiquetas | nube de etiquetas

Materiales similares

Temas relacionados:(12)

Listas de usuarios con este material (11)

Confirmar este pedido

Ya ha pedido este material. Escoja OK si desea procesar el pedido de todos modos.

Datos enlazados


<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/754714335>
library:oclcnum"754714335"
library:placeOfPublication
library:placeOfPublication
owl:sameAs<info:oclcnum/754714335>
rdf:typeschema:Book
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1015232>
rdf:typeschema:Intangible
schema:name"Medicine, Comparative"@en
schema:name"Medicine, Comparative."@en
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/895160>
rdf:typeschema:Intangible
schema:name"Diseases--Animal models"@en
schema:name"Diseases--Animal models."@en
schema:bookEdition"1st ed."
schema:contributor
schema:copyrightYear"2012"
schema:creator
schema:datePublished"2013"
schema:description"Dr. House, meet Doctor Doolittle: redefining the boundaries of medicine -- The feint of heart: why we pass out -- Jews, jaguars, and Jurassic cancer: new hope for an ancient diagnosis -- Roar-gasm: an animal guide to human sexuality -- Zoophoria: getting high and getting clean -- Scared to death: heart attacks in the wild -- Fat planet: why animals get fat and how they get thin -- Grooming gone wild: pain, pleasure, and the origins of self-injury -- Fear of feeding: eating disorders in the animal kingdom -- The koala and the clap: the hidden power of infection -- Leaving the nest: animal adolescence and the risky business of growing up -- Zoobiquity."@en
schema:description"In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to provide an understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind. "Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In this book she uses case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients."@en
schema:exampleOfWork<http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/1066537681>
schema:inLanguage"en"
schema:name"Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing"@en
schema:numberOfPages"308"
schema:publisher
schema:url
schema:workExample

Content-negotiable representations

Cerrar ventana

Inicie una sesión con WorldCat 

¿No tienes una cuenta? Puede fácilmente crear una cuenta gratuita.