aller au contenu
Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing Aperçu de cet ouvrage
FermerAperçu de cet ouvrage
Vérifiant…

Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing

Auteur : Barbara Natterson-Horowitz; Kathryn Bowers
Éditeur: New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2012.
Édition/format:   Livre imprimé : Anglais : 1st edVoir toutes les éditions et tous les formats
Base de données:WorldCat
Résumé:
In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to  Lire la suite...
Évaluation:

moyenne basée sur 2 évaluation(s) 2 avec des critiques

Sujets
Plus comme ceci

 

Trouver un exemplaire dans la bibliothèque

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Recherche de bibliothèques qui possèdent cet ouvrage...

Détails

Type de document: Livre
Tous les auteurs / collaborateurs: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz; Kathryn Bowers
ISBN: 9780307593481 0307593487
Numéro OCLC: 754714335
Description: viii, 308 pages ; 25 cm
Contenu: Zoobiquity --
The feint of heart (fainting) --
Jews and jaguars (cancer) --
Roar-gasm (sexuality and dysfunction) --
Zoophoria (substance abuse and addiction) --
Scared to death (sudden death) --
Fat planet (obesity) --
The koala and the clap (sexually transmitted diseases) --
Grooming gone wild (self-mutilation) --
Fear of feeding (eating disorders) --
Leaving the nest (animal adolescence) --
Dr. House, meet Dr. Doolittle.
Responsabilité: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz and Kathryn Bowers.

Résumé:

In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to provide an understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind. "Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In this book she uses case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients.

Critiques

Critiques d’utilisateurs

Critiques des utilisateurs de WorldCat (2)

Nike Shox Sko,Nike Shox NZ Sko

de salgskonorway (Utilisateur de WorldCat. Publication 2012-10-07) Excellent Permalien

<a href="http://www.salgskonorway.com/nike-shox-r4-c-13.html">http://www.salgskonorway.com/nike-shox-r4-c-13.html</a>...
Lire la suite...  Lire la suite...

  • Est-ce que cette critique vous a été utile?
  •   

Nike Shox NZ Herre Nike Air Max TN Sko

de ptxyw (Utilisateur de WorldCat. Publication 2012-10-06) Bon Permalien
<div class="Section0" style="layout-grid: 15.6pt none;">

Ci Shiping , nei han ikke ville passere ogs...
Lire la suite...  Lire la suite...

  • Est-ce que cette critique vous a été utile?
  •   
Récupération des critiques de GoodReads...
Récuperation des critiques DOGObooks…

Marqueurs

Tous les marqueurs des utilisateurs (4)

Voir les marqueurs les plus utilisés sous forme de: liste de marqueurs | nuage de marqueurs

Ouvrages semblables

Sujet(s):(13)

Listes d’utilisateurs dans lesquelles cet ouvrage apparaît (11)

Confirmez cette demande

Vous avez peut-être déjà demandé cet ouvrage. Veuillez sélectionner OK si vous voulez poursuivre avec cette demande quand même.

Données liées


Primary Entity

<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/754714335> # Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing
    a schema:Book, schema:CreativeWork ;
   library:oclcnum "754714335" ;
   library:placeOfPublication <http://dbpedia.org/resource/New_York_City> ; # New York
   library:placeOfPublication <http://id.loc.gov/vocabulary/countries/nyu> ;
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/psychology_comparative> ; # Psychology, Comparative
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/physiology_comparative> ; # Physiology, Comparative
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/pathology_comparative> ; # Pathology, Comparative
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/pathology> ; # Pathology
   schema:about <http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85038412> ; # Diseases--Animal models
   schema:about <http://dewey.info/class/636.089607/e23/> ;
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/tiermedizin> ; # Tiermedizin
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/diseases_animal_models> ; # Diseases--Animal models
   schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1166054> ; # Veterinary pathology
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/tiermodell> ; # Tiermodell
   schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/809209> ; # Animal health
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/disease_models_animal> ; # Disease Models, Animal
   schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1015232> ; # Medicine, Comparative
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/krankheit> ; # Krankheit
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/pathology_veterinary> ; # Pathology, Veterinary
   schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/895160> ; # Diseases--Animal models
   schema:bookEdition "1st ed." ;
   schema:bookFormat bgn:PrintBook ;
   schema:contributor <http://viaf.org/viaf/220725357> ; # Kathryn Bowers
   schema:creator <http://viaf.org/viaf/220652677> ; # Barbara Natterson-Horowitz
   schema:datePublished "2012" ;
   schema:description "Zoobiquity -- The feint of heart (fainting) -- Jews and jaguars (cancer) -- Roar-gasm (sexuality and dysfunction) -- Zoophoria (substance abuse and addiction) -- Scared to death (sudden death) -- Fat planet (obesity) -- The koala and the clap (sexually transmitted diseases) -- Grooming gone wild (self-mutilation) -- Fear of feeding (eating disorders) -- Leaving the nest (animal adolescence) -- Dr. House, meet Dr. Doolittle."@en ;
   schema:description "In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to provide an understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind. "Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In this book she uses case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients."@en ;
   schema:exampleOfWork <http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/1066537681> ;
   schema:inLanguage "en" ;
   schema:name "Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing"@en ;
   schema:productID "754714335" ;
   schema:publication <http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/754714335#PublicationEvent/new_york_alfred_a_knopf_2012> ;
   schema:publisher <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Agent/alfred_a_knopf> ; # Alfred A. Knopf
   schema:workExample <http://worldcat.org/isbn/9780307593481> ;
   wdrs:describedby <http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/754714335> ;
    .


Related Entities

<http://dbpedia.org/resource/New_York_City> # New York
    a schema:Place ;
   schema:name "New York" ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Agent/alfred_a_knopf> # Alfred A. Knopf
    a bgn:Agent ;
   schema:name "Alfred A. Knopf" ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/disease_models_animal> # Disease Models, Animal
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Disease Models, Animal"@en ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/diseases_animal_models> # Diseases--Animal models
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Diseases--Animal models"@en ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/pathology_comparative> # Pathology, Comparative
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Pathology, Comparative"@en ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/pathology_veterinary> # Pathology, Veterinary
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Pathology, Veterinary"@en ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/physiology_comparative> # Physiology, Comparative
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Physiology, Comparative"@en ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/psychology_comparative> # Psychology, Comparative
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Psychology, Comparative"@en ;
    .

<http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85038412> # Diseases--Animal models
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Diseases--Animal models"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1015232> # Medicine, Comparative
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Medicine, Comparative"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1166054> # Veterinary pathology
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Veterinary pathology"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/809209> # Animal health
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Animal health"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/895160> # Diseases--Animal models
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Diseases--Animal models"@en ;
    .

<http://viaf.org/viaf/220652677> # Barbara Natterson-Horowitz
    a schema:Person ;
   schema:familyName "Natterson-Horowitz" ;
   schema:givenName "Barbara" ;
   schema:name "Barbara Natterson-Horowitz" ;
    .

<http://viaf.org/viaf/220725357> # Kathryn Bowers
    a schema:Person ;
   schema:familyName "Bowers" ;
   schema:givenName "Kathryn" ;
   schema:name "Kathryn Bowers" ;
    .

<http://worldcat.org/isbn/9780307593481>
    a schema:ProductModel ;
   schema:isbn "0307593487" ;
   schema:isbn "9780307593481" ;
    .


Content-negotiable representations

Fermer la fenêtre

Veuillez vous identifier dans WorldCat 

Vous n’avez pas de compte? Vous pouvez facilement créer un compte gratuit.