aller au contenu
Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing Aperçu de cet ouvrage
FermerAperçu de cet ouvrage
Vérifiant…

Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing

Auteur : Barbara Natterson-Horowitz; Kathryn Bowers
Éditeur : New York : A.A. Knopf, 2013, ©2012.
Édition/format :   Livre : Anglais : 1st edVoir toutes les éditions et les formats
Base de données :WorldCat
Résumé :
In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to  Lire la suite...
Évaluation :

moyenne basée sur 2 évaluation(s) 2 avec des critiques

Sujets
Plus comme ceci

 

Trouver un exemplaire dans la bibliothèque

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Recherche de bibliothèques qui possèdent cet ouvrage...

Détails

Format : Livre
Tous les auteurs / collaborateurs : Barbara Natterson-Horowitz; Kathryn Bowers
ISBN : 9780307593481 : 0307593487
Numéro OCLC : 754714335
Description : viii, 308 p. ; 25 cm.
Contenu : Dr. House, meet Doctor Doolittle: redefining the boundaries of medicine --
The feint of heart: why we pass out --
Jews, jaguars, and Jurassic cancer: new hope for an ancient diagnosis --
Roar-gasm: an animal guide to human sexuality --
Zoophoria: getting high and getting clean --
Scared to death: heart attacks in the wild --
Fat planet: why animals get fat and how they get thin --
Grooming gone wild: pain, pleasure, and the origins of self-injury --
Fear of feeding: eating disorders in the animal kingdom --
The koala and the clap: the hidden power of infection --
Leaving the nest: animal adolescence and the risky business of growing up --
Zoobiquity.
Responsabilité : Barbara Natterson-Horowitz and Kathryn Bowers.

Résumé :

In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to provide an understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind. "Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In this book she uses case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients.

Critiques

Critiques d’utilisateurs

Critiques des utilisateurs de WorldCat (2)

Nike Shox Sko,Nike Shox NZ Sko

de salgskonorway (Utilisateur de WorldCat. Publication 2012-10-07) Excellent Permalien

<a href="http://www.salgskonorway.com/nike-shox-r4-c-13.html">http://www.salgskonorway.com/nike-shox-r4-c-13.html</a>...
Lire la suite...  Lire la suite...

  • Est-ce que cette critique vous a été utile?
  •   

Nike Shox NZ Herre Nike Air Max TN Sko

de ptxyw (Utilisateur de WorldCat. Publication 2012-10-06) Bon Permalien
<div class="Section0" style="layout-grid: 15.6pt none;">

Ci Shiping , nei han ikke ville passere ogs...
Lire la suite...  Lire la suite...

  • Est-ce que cette critique vous a été utile?
  •   
Récupération des critiques de GoodReads...
Récuperation des critiques DOGObooks…

Tags

Tous les tags des utilisateurs (4)

Voir les tags les plus utilisés sous forme de : liste de tags | nuage de tags

Ouvrages semblables

Sujets associés :(9)

Listes d’utilisateurs dans lesquelles cet ouvrage apparaît (13)

Confirmez cette demande

Vous avez peut-être déjà demandé cet ouvrage. Veuillez sélectionner OK si vous voulez poursuivre avec cette demande quand même.

Données liées


<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/754714335>
library:oclcnum"754714335"
library:placeOfPublication
library:placeOfPublication
owl:sameAs<info:oclcnum/754714335>
rdf:typeschema:Book
rdfs:seeAlso
schema:about
schema:about
rdf:typeschema:Intangible
schema:name"Physiology, Comparative."
schema:about
rdf:typeschema:Intangible
schema:name"Psychology, Comparative."
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
rdf:typeschema:Intangible
schema:name"Disease Models, Animal."
schema:about
rdf:typeschema:Intangible
schema:name"Pathology, Veterinary."
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:author
schema:bookEdition"1st ed."
schema:contributor
schema:copyrightYear"2012"
schema:datePublished"2013"
schema:description"Dr. House, meet Doctor Doolittle: redefining the boundaries of medicine -- The feint of heart: why we pass out -- Jews, jaguars, and Jurassic cancer: new hope for an ancient diagnosis -- Roar-gasm: an animal guide to human sexuality -- Zoophoria: getting high and getting clean -- Scared to death: heart attacks in the wild -- Fat planet: why animals get fat and how they get thin -- Grooming gone wild: pain, pleasure, and the origins of self-injury -- Fear of feeding: eating disorders in the animal kingdom -- The koala and the clap: the hidden power of infection -- Leaving the nest: animal adolescence and the risky business of growing up -- Zoobiquity."
schema:description"In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to provide an understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind. "Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In this book she uses case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients."
schema:exampleOfWork<http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/1066537681>
schema:inLanguage"en"
schema:name"Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing"
schema:numberOfPages"308"
schema:publisher
schema:workExample
schema:workExample

Content-negotiable representations

Fermer la fenêtre

Veuillez vous identifier dans WorldCat 

Vous n’avez pas de compte? Vous pouvez facilement créer un compte gratuit.