doorgaan naar inhoud
Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing Voorbeeldweergave van dit item
SluitenVoorbeeldweergave van dit item
Bezig met controle...

Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing

Auteur: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz; Kathryn Bowers
Uitgever: New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2012.
Editie/Formaat:   Print book : Engels : 1st edAlle edities en materiaalsoorten bekijken.
Database:WorldCat
Samenvatting:
In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to  Meer lezen...
Beoordeling:

gebaseerd op 2 waardering(en) 2 met beoordelingen

Onderwerpen
Meer in deze trant

 

Zoeken naar een in de bibliotheek beschikbaar exemplaar

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Bibliotheken met dit item worden gezocht…

Details

Soort document: Boek
Alle auteurs / medewerkers: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz; Kathryn Bowers
ISBN: 9780307593481 0307593487
OCLC-nummer: 754714335
Beschrijving: viii, 308 p. ; 25 cm.
Inhoud: Zoobiquity --
The feint of heart (fainting) --
Jews and jaguars (cancer) --
Roar-gasm (sexuality and dysfunction) --
Zoophoria (substance abuse and addiction) --
Scared to death (sudden death) --
Fat planet (obesity) --
The koala and the clap (sexually transmitted diseases) --
Grooming gone wild (self-mutilation) --
Fear of feeding (eating disorders) --
Leaving the nest (animal adolescence) --
Dr. House, meet Dr. Doolittle.
Verantwoordelijkheid: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz and Kathryn Bowers.

Fragment:

In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to provide an understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind. "Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In this book she uses case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients.

Beoordelingen

Beoordelingen door gebruikers

Beoordelingen van WorldCat-gebruikers (2)

Nike Shox Sko,Nike Shox NZ Sko

door salgskonorway (Gepubliceerd door gebruiker WorldCat 2012-10-07) Uitstekend Permalink

<a href="http://www.salgskonorway.com/nike-shox-r4-c-13.html">http://www.salgskonorway.com/nike-shox-r4-c-13.html</a>...
Meer lezen...  Meer lezen...

  • Had u iets aan deze beoordeling?
  •   

Nike Shox NZ Herre Nike Air Max TN Sko

door ptxyw (Gepubliceerd door gebruiker WorldCat 2012-10-06) Goed Permalink
<div class="Section0" style="layout-grid: 15.6pt none;">

Ci Shiping , nei han ikke ville passere ogs...
Meer lezen...  Meer lezen...

  • Had u iets aan deze beoordeling?
  •   
Beoordelingen van GoodReads worden opgehaald...
Bezig met opvragen DOGObooks-reviews...

Tags

Alle gebruiker-tags (4)

De meest populaire tags bekijken als: Tag-list | Tag-wolk

Vergelijkbare items

Verwante onderwerpen:(12)

Gebruiker-lijsten met dit item (11)

Bevestig deze aanvraag

Misschien heeft u dit item reeds aangevraagd. Selecteer a.u.b. Ok als u toch wilt doorgaan met deze aanvraag.

Gekoppelde data


Primary Entity

<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/754714335> # Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing
    a schema:Book, schema:CreativeWork ;
    library:oclcnum "754714335" ;
    library:placeOfPublication <http://dbpedia.org/resource/New_York_City> ; # New York
    library:placeOfPublication <http://id.loc.gov/vocabulary/countries/nyu> ;
    schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/psychology_comparative> ; # Psychology, Comparative
    schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/physiology_comparative> ; # Physiology, Comparative
    schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/pathology> ; # Pathology
    schema:about <http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85038412> ; # Diseases--Animal models
    schema:about <http://dewey.info/class/636.089607/e23/> ;
    schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/tiermedizin> ; # Tiermedizin
    schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1166054> ; # Veterinary pathology
    schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/tiermodell> ; # Tiermodell
    schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/809209> ; # Animal health
    schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/disease_models_animal> ; # Disease Models, Animal
    schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1015232> ; # Medicine, Comparative
    schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/krankheit> ; # Krankheit
    schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/pathology_veterinary> ; # Pathology, Veterinary
    schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/895160> ; # Diseases--Animal models
    schema:bookEdition "1st ed." ;
    schema:bookFormat bgn:PrintBook ;
    schema:contributor <http://viaf.org/viaf/220725357> ; # Kathryn Bowers
    schema:creator <http://viaf.org/viaf/220652677> ; # Barbara Natterson-Horowitz
    schema:datePublished "2012" ;
    schema:description "Zoobiquity -- The feint of heart (fainting) -- Jews and jaguars (cancer) -- Roar-gasm (sexuality and dysfunction) -- Zoophoria (substance abuse and addiction) -- Scared to death (sudden death) -- Fat planet (obesity) -- The koala and the clap (sexually transmitted diseases) -- Grooming gone wild (self-mutilation) -- Fear of feeding (eating disorders) -- Leaving the nest (animal adolescence) -- Dr. House, meet Dr. Doolittle."@en ;
    schema:description "In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to provide an understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind. "Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In this book she uses case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients."@en ;
    schema:exampleOfWork <http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/1066537681> ;
    schema:inLanguage "en" ;
    schema:name "Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing"@en ;
    schema:numberOfPages "308" ;
    schema:productID "754714335" ;
    schema:publication <http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/754714335#PublicationEvent/new_york_alfred_a_knopf_2012> ;
    schema:publisher <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Agent/alfred_a_knopf> ; # Alfred A. Knopf
    schema:workExample <http://worldcat.org/isbn/9780307593481> ;
    wdrs:describedby <http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/754714335> ;
    .


Related Entities

<http://dbpedia.org/resource/New_York_City> # New York
    a schema:Place ;
    schema:name "New York" ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Agent/alfred_a_knopf> # Alfred A. Knopf
    a bgn:Agent ;
    schema:name "Alfred A. Knopf" ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/disease_models_animal> # Disease Models, Animal
    a schema:Intangible ;
    schema:name "Disease Models, Animal"@en ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/pathology_veterinary> # Pathology, Veterinary
    a schema:Intangible ;
    schema:name "Pathology, Veterinary"@en ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/physiology_comparative> # Physiology, Comparative
    a schema:Intangible ;
    schema:name "Physiology, Comparative"@en ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/psychology_comparative> # Psychology, Comparative
    a schema:Intangible ;
    schema:name "Psychology, Comparative"@en ;
    .

<http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85038412> # Diseases--Animal models
    a schema:Intangible ;
    schema:name "Diseases--Animal models"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1015232> # Medicine, Comparative
    a schema:Intangible ;
    schema:name "Medicine, Comparative"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1166054> # Veterinary pathology
    a schema:Intangible ;
    schema:name "Veterinary pathology"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/809209> # Animal health
    a schema:Intangible ;
    schema:name "Animal health"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/895160> # Diseases--Animal models
    a schema:Intangible ;
    schema:name "Diseases--Animal models"@en ;
    .

<http://viaf.org/viaf/220652677> # Barbara Natterson-Horowitz
    a schema:Person ;
    schema:familyName "Natterson-Horowitz" ;
    schema:givenName "Barbara" ;
    schema:name "Barbara Natterson-Horowitz" ;
    .

<http://viaf.org/viaf/220725357> # Kathryn Bowers
    a schema:Person ;
    schema:familyName "Bowers" ;
    schema:givenName "Kathryn" ;
    schema:name "Kathryn Bowers" ;
    .

<http://worldcat.org/isbn/9780307593481>
    a schema:ProductModel ;
    schema:isbn "0307593487" ;
    schema:isbn "9780307593481" ;
    .

<http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/754714335>
    a genont:InformationResource, genont:ContentTypeGenericResource ;
    schema:about <http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/754714335> ; # Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing
    schema:dateModified "2015-06-17" ;
    void:inDataset <http://purl.oclc.org/dataset/WorldCat> ;
    .


Content-negotiable representations

Venster sluiten

Meld u aan bij WorldCat 

Heeft u geen account? U kunt eenvoudig een nieuwe gratis account aanmaken.