pular para conteúdo
Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing Ver prévia deste item
FecharVer prévia deste item
Checando...

Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing

Autor: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz; Kathryn Bowers
Editora: New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2012.
Edição/Formato   Print book : Inglês : 1st edVer todas as edições e formatos
Base de Dados:WorldCat
Resumo:
In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to  Ler mais...
Classificação:

baseado em 2 classificação(ões) 2 com críticas

Assuntos
Mais como este

 

Encontrar uma cópia na biblioteca

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Encontrando bibliotecas que possuem este item...

Detalhes

Tipo de Documento: Livro
Todos os Autores / Contribuintes: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz; Kathryn Bowers
ISBN: 9780307593481 0307593487
Número OCLC: 754714335
Descrição: viii, 308 pages ; 25 cm
Conteúdos: Zoobiquity --
The feint of heart (fainting) --
Jews and jaguars (cancer) --
Roar-gasm (sexuality and dysfunction) --
Zoophoria (substance abuse and addiction) --
Scared to death (sudden death) --
Fat planet (obesity) --
The koala and the clap (sexually transmitted diseases) --
Grooming gone wild (self-mutilation) --
Fear of feeding (eating disorders) --
Leaving the nest (animal adolescence) --
Dr. House, meet Dr. Doolittle.
Responsabilidade: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz and Kathryn Bowers.

Resumo:

In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to provide an understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind. "Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In this book she uses case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients.

Críticas

Críticas contribuídas por usuários

Críticas de Usuários WorldCat (2)

Nike Shox Sko,Nike Shox NZ Sko

por salgskonorway (Usuário WorldCat publicado 2012-10-07) Excelente Permalink

<a href="http://www.salgskonorway.com/nike-shox-r4-c-13.html">http://www.salgskonorway.com/nike-shox-r4-c-13.html</a>...
Ler mais...  Ler mais...

  • Esta crítica te ajudou?
  •   

Nike Shox NZ Herre Nike Air Max TN Sko

por ptxyw (Usuário WorldCat publicado 2012-10-06) Bom Permalink
<div class="Section0" style="layout-grid: 15.6pt none;">

Ci Shiping , nei han ikke ville passere ogs...
Ler mais...  Ler mais...

  • Esta crítica te ajudou?
  •   
Recuperando críticas GoodReas...
Recuperando comentários DOGObooks

Etiquetas

Etiquetas de todos os usuários (4)

Ver as etiquetas mais populares como: lista de etiquetas | nuvem de etiquetas

Ítens Similares

Assuntos Relacionados:(12)

Listas de usuários com este item (11)

Confirmar esta solicitação

Você já pode ter solicitado este item. Por favor, selecione Ok se gostaria de proceder com esta solicitação de qualquer forma.

Dados Ligados


Primary Entity

<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/754714335> # Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing
    a schema:Book, schema:CreativeWork ;
   library:oclcnum "754714335" ;
   library:placeOfPublication <http://dbpedia.org/resource/New_York_City> ; # New York
   library:placeOfPublication <http://id.loc.gov/vocabulary/countries/nyu> ;
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/psychology_comparative> ; # Psychology, Comparative
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/physiology_comparative> ; # Physiology, Comparative
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/pathology> ; # Pathology
   schema:about <http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85038412> ; # Diseases--Animal models
   schema:about <http://dewey.info/class/636.089607/e23/> ;
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/tiermedizin> ; # Tiermedizin
   schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1166054> ; # Veterinary pathology
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/tiermodell> ; # Tiermodell
   schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/809209> ; # Animal health
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/disease_models_animal> ; # Disease Models, Animal
   schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1015232> ; # Medicine, Comparative
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/krankheit> ; # Krankheit
   schema:about <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/pathology_veterinary> ; # Pathology, Veterinary
   schema:about <http://id.worldcat.org/fast/895160> ; # Diseases--Animal models
   schema:bookEdition "1st ed." ;
   schema:bookFormat bgn:PrintBook ;
   schema:contributor <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Person/bowers_kathryn> ; # Kathryn Bowers
   schema:creator <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Person/natterson_horowitz_barbara> ; # Barbara Natterson-Horowitz
   schema:datePublished "2012" ;
   schema:description "Zoobiquity -- The feint of heart (fainting) -- Jews and jaguars (cancer) -- Roar-gasm (sexuality and dysfunction) -- Zoophoria (substance abuse and addiction) -- Scared to death (sudden death) -- Fat planet (obesity) -- The koala and the clap (sexually transmitted diseases) -- Grooming gone wild (self-mutilation) -- Fear of feeding (eating disorders) -- Leaving the nest (animal adolescence) -- Dr. House, meet Dr. Doolittle."@en ;
   schema:description "In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to provide an understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind. "Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In this book she uses case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients."@en ;
   schema:exampleOfWork <http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/1066537681> ;
   schema:inLanguage "en" ;
   schema:name "Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing"@en ;
   schema:productID "754714335" ;
   schema:publication <http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/754714335#PublicationEvent/new_york_alfred_a_knopf_2012> ;
   schema:publisher <http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Agent/alfred_a_knopf> ; # Alfred A. Knopf
   schema:workExample <http://worldcat.org/isbn/9780307593481> ;
   wdrs:describedby <http://www.worldcat.org/title/-/oclc/754714335> ;
    .


Related Entities

<http://dbpedia.org/resource/New_York_City> # New York
    a schema:Place ;
   schema:name "New York" ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Agent/alfred_a_knopf> # Alfred A. Knopf
    a bgn:Agent ;
   schema:name "Alfred A. Knopf" ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Person/bowers_kathryn> # Kathryn Bowers
    a schema:Person ;
   schema:familyName "Bowers" ;
   schema:givenName "Kathryn" ;
   schema:name "Kathryn Bowers" ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Person/natterson_horowitz_barbara> # Barbara Natterson-Horowitz
    a schema:Person ;
   schema:familyName "Natterson-Horowitz" ;
   schema:givenName "Barbara" ;
   schema:name "Barbara Natterson-Horowitz" ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/disease_models_animal> # Disease Models, Animal
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Disease Models, Animal"@en ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/pathology_veterinary> # Pathology, Veterinary
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Pathology, Veterinary"@en ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/physiology_comparative> # Physiology, Comparative
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Physiology, Comparative"@en ;
    .

<http://experiment.worldcat.org/entity/work/data/1066537681#Topic/psychology_comparative> # Psychology, Comparative
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Psychology, Comparative"@en ;
    .

<http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85038412> # Diseases--Animal models
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Diseases--Animal models"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1015232> # Medicine, Comparative
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Medicine, Comparative"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1166054> # Veterinary pathology
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Veterinary pathology"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/809209> # Animal health
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Animal health"@en ;
    .

<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/895160> # Diseases--Animal models
    a schema:Intangible ;
   schema:name "Diseases--Animal models"@en ;
    .

<http://worldcat.org/isbn/9780307593481>
    a schema:ProductModel ;
   schema:isbn "0307593487" ;
   schema:isbn "9780307593481" ;
    .


Content-negotiable representations

Close Window

Por favor, conecte-se ao WorldCat 

Não tem uma conta? Você pode facilmente criar uma conta gratuita.