pular para conteúdo
Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing Ver prévia deste item
FecharVer prévia deste item
Checando...

Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing

Autor: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz; Kathryn Bowers
Editora: New York : A.A. Knopf, 2013, ©2012.
Edição/Formato   Livro : Inglês : 1st edVer todas as edições e formatos
Base de Dados:WorldCat
Resumo:
In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to  Ler mais...
Classificação:

baseado em 2 classificação(ões) 2 com críticas

Assuntos
Mais como este

 

Encontrar uma cópia na biblioteca

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Encontrando bibliotecas que possuem este item...

Detalhes

Tipo de Documento: Livro
Todos os Autores / Contribuintes: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz; Kathryn Bowers
ISBN: 9780307593481 : 0307593487
Número OCLC: 754714335
Descrição: viii, 308 p. ; 25 cm.
Conteúdos: Dr. House, meet Doctor Doolittle: redefining the boundaries of medicine --
The feint of heart: why we pass out --
Jews, jaguars, and Jurassic cancer: new hope for an ancient diagnosis --
Roar-gasm: an animal guide to human sexuality --
Zoophoria: getting high and getting clean --
Scared to death: heart attacks in the wild --
Fat planet: why animals get fat and how they get thin --
Grooming gone wild: pain, pleasure, and the origins of self-injury --
Fear of feeding: eating disorders in the animal kingdom --
The koala and the clap: the hidden power of infection --
Leaving the nest: animal adolescence and the risky business of growing up --
Zoobiquity.
Responsabilidade: Barbara Natterson-Horowitz and Kathryn Bowers.

Resumo:

In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to provide an understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind. "Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In this book she uses case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients.

Críticas

Críticas contribuídas por usuários

Críticas de Usuários WorldCat (2)

Nike Shox Sko,Nike Shox NZ Sko

por salgskonorway (Usuário WorldCat publicado 2012-10-07) Excelente Permalink

<a href="http://www.salgskonorway.com/nike-shox-r4-c-13.html">http://www.salgskonorway.com/nike-shox-r4-c-13.html</a>...
Ler mais...  Ler mais...

  • Esta crítica te ajudou?
  •   

Nike Shox NZ Herre Nike Air Max TN Sko

por ptxyw (Usuário WorldCat publicado 2012-10-06) Bom Permalink
<div class="Section0" style="layout-grid: 15.6pt none;">

Ci Shiping , nei han ikke ville passere ogs...
Ler mais...  Ler mais...

  • Esta crítica te ajudou?
  •   
Recuperando críticas GoodReas...
Recuperando comentários DOGObooks

Etiquetas

Etiquetas de todos os usuários (4)

Ver as etiquetas mais populares como: lista de etiquetas | nuvem de etiquetas

Ítens Similares

Assuntos Relacionados:(12)

Listas de usuários com este item (11)

Confirmar esta solicitação

Você já pode ter solicitado este item. Por favor, selecione Ok se gostaria de proceder com esta solicitação de qualquer forma.

Dados Ligados


<http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/754714335>
library:oclcnum"754714335"
library:placeOfPublication
library:placeOfPublication
owl:sameAs<info:oclcnum/754714335>
rdf:typeschema:Book
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/1015232>
rdf:typeschema:Intangible
schema:name"Medicine, Comparative"@en
schema:name"Medicine, Comparative."@en
schema:about
schema:about
schema:about
<http://id.worldcat.org/fast/895160>
rdf:typeschema:Intangible
schema:name"Diseases--Animal models"@en
schema:name"Diseases--Animal models."@en
schema:bookEdition"1st ed."
schema:contributor
schema:copyrightYear"2012"
schema:creator
schema:datePublished"2013"
schema:description"Dr. House, meet Doctor Doolittle: redefining the boundaries of medicine -- The feint of heart: why we pass out -- Jews, jaguars, and Jurassic cancer: new hope for an ancient diagnosis -- Roar-gasm: an animal guide to human sexuality -- Zoophoria: getting high and getting clean -- Scared to death: heart attacks in the wild -- Fat planet: why animals get fat and how they get thin -- Grooming gone wild: pain, pleasure, and the origins of self-injury -- Fear of feeding: eating disorders in the animal kingdom -- The koala and the clap: the hidden power of infection -- Leaving the nest: animal adolescence and the risky business of growing up -- Zoobiquity."@en
schema:description"In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, the authors, one a cardiologist and psychiatrist and the other a science writer look at the remarkable correspondences between the way human beings and animals live, die, get sick, and heal in their natural settings, delving into an array of disciplines such as evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine, and zoology, to provide an understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind. "Zoobiquity" is the term the authors have coined to refer to a new, species-spanning approach to health. After being called in to consult on a case of heart failure in a monkey at the Los Angeles Zoo, Natterson-Horowitz found herself launched on a journey of discovery that reshaped her entire approach to medicine. In this book she uses case studies and scholarship to explore the ways in which what we know about animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients."@en
schema:exampleOfWork<http://worldcat.org/entity/work/id/1066537681>
schema:inLanguage"en"
schema:name"Zoobiquity : what animals can teach us about health and the science of healing"@en
schema:numberOfPages"308"
schema:publisher
schema:url
schema:workExample

Content-negotiable representations

Close Window

Por favor, conecte-se ao WorldCat 

Não tem uma conta? Você pode facilmente criar uma conta gratuita.