WorldCat Identities

De Waal, Kit

Overview
Works: 9 works in 60 publications in 7 languages and 1,128 library holdings
Genres: Fiction  Domestic fiction  Bildungsromans  History  Psychological fiction  Historical fiction 
Roles: Author
Classifications: PR6104.E2336, 823.92
Publication Timeline
.
Most widely held works by Kit De Waal
My name is Leon : a novel by Kit De Waal( Book )

33 editions published between 2016 and 2017 in 8 languages and held by 899 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

Set in the 1970s, a young black boy's quest to reunite with his beloved white half-brother after they are separated in foster care. -- Provided by publisher
The trick to time by Kit De Waal( Book )

9 editions published between 2018 and 2019 in English and held by 143 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Mona is a a young Irish girl in the big city, with the thrill of a new job and a room of her own in a busy boarding house. On her first night out in 1970s Birmingham she meets William, a charming Irish boy with an easy smile and an open face. They embark upon a passionate affair, a whirlwind marriage, before a sudden tragedy tears them apart. Decades later, Mona pieces together the memories of the years that separate them. But can she ever learn to love again?"--Publisher's description
My name is Leon by Kit De Waal( Recording )

7 editions published in 2016 in English and held by 62 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

"Taut, emotionally intense, and wholly believable, this beautiful and uplifting debut" (Kirkus Reviews) about a young black boy's quest to reunite with his beloved white half-brother after they are separated in foster care is a sparkling novel perfect for fans of The Language of Flowers. Leon loves chocolate bars, Saturday morning cartoons, and his beautiful, golden-haired baby brother. When Jake is born, Leon pokes his head in the crib and says, "I'm your brother. Big brother. My. Name. Is. Leon. I am eight and three quarters. I am a boy." Jake will play with no one but Leon, and Leon is determined to save him from any pain and earn that sparkling baby laugh every chance he can. But Leon isn't in control of this world where adults say one thing and mean another. When their mother falls victim to her inner demons, strangers suddenly take Jake away; after all, a white baby is easy to adopt, while a half-black, nine-year-old faces a less certain fate. Vowing to get Jake back by any means necessary, Leon's own journey will carry him through the lives of a doting but ailing foster mother, Maureen; Maureen's cranky and hilarious sister, Sylvia; a social worker Leon knows only as "The Zebra"; and a colorful community of local gardeners and West Indian political activists. Told through the perspective of young Leon, too innocent to entirely understand what has happened to him and baby Jake, but determined to do what he can to make things right. In the end, this is an uplifting story about the power of love, the unbreakable bond between brothers, and the truth about what ultimately makes a family. My Name Is Leon will capture your imagination and steal your heart with its "moving exploration of race and the foster-care system that offers precious insight into the mind of a child forced to grow up well before his time" (Booklist)
Six foot six by Kit De Waal( Book )

5 editions published in 2018 in English and held by 19 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

When Timothy walks to his usual street corner to see his favourite special bus, he meets Charlie. Charlie is a builder who is desperate for Timothy's help because Timothy is very tall, six feet six inches
The trick to time by Kit De Waal( )

1 edition published in 2018 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

A heart-wrenching love story from the internationally bestselling author of My Name Is Leon Mona is a young Irish girl in the big city, with the thrill of a new job and a room of her own in a busy boarding house. On her first night out in 1970s Birmingham, she meets William, a charming Irish boy with an easy smile and an open face. They embark upon a passionate affair, a whirlwind marriage - before a sudden tragedy tears them apart. Decades later, Mona pieces together the memories of the years that separate them. But can she ever learn to love again? The Trick to Time is an unforgettable tale of grief, longing, and a love that lasts a lifetime
The Bridport prize : poetry, short stories and flash fiction( Book )

1 edition published in 2017 in English and held by 2 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

My name is Leon playaway by Kit De Waal( Recording )

1 edition published in 2016 in Undetermined and held by 1 WorldCat member library worldwide

Leon is nine years old. He loves chocolate bars, Saturday morning cartoons, and his beautiful, golden-haired baby half brother. From the moment Jake is born, Leon is determined to protect him, but when their mother falls victim to her inner demons and the boys' fathers are nowhere to be found, Leon and Jake fall under the care of the state. Jake, due to his age and skin color, is adopted, while darker-skinned Leon is placed with a doting but ailing foster mother, Maureen. Though he enjoys his new life, Leon remains desperate to put his family together, and as he embarks on a quest to reunite with Jake, he meets an unforgettable cast of characters that includes Maureen's cranky and hilarious sister, Sylvia; a social worker known only as "the Zebra"; and a community of local gardeners and West Indian political activists. With their help, Leon learns about the power of love, the unbreakable bond between brothers, and the truth about what makes a family. The result is a tale that will capture your imagination and steal your heart
Six foot six (Quick Reads) by Kit De Waal( Book )

1 edition published in 2018 in Undetermined and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

#X98;Die#x9C; Zeit und was sie heilt by Kit De Waal( Book )

2 editions published in 2019 in German and held by 0 WorldCat member libraries worldwide

 
Audience Level
0
Audience Level
1
  Kids General Special  
Audience level: 0.49 (from 0.16 for My name is ... to 1.00 for #X98;Die#x ...)

Alternative Names
Kit de Waal English novelist and short story writer

O'Loughlin, Mandy Theresa

O'Loughlin, Mandy Theresa, 1960-

Waal Kit De

Waal, Kit de 1960-

Languages
English (41)

German (6)

Italian (4)

French (2)

Dutch (2)

Turkish (1)

Czech (1)