Front cover image for Different seasons

Different seasons

Stephen King (Author)
Four novellas bound together by the changing of seasons, each taking on the theme of a journey with strikingly different tones and characters. This gripping collection begins with "Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption," in which an unjustly imprisoned convict seeks a strange and startling revenge--the basis for the Best Picture Academy Award-nominee The Shawshank Redemption. Next is "Apt Pupil," the inspiration for the film of the same name about top high school student Todd Bowden and his obsession with the dark and deadly past of an older man in town. In "The Body," four rambunctious young boys plunge through the facade of a small town and come face-to-face with life, death, and intimations of their own mortality. This novella became the movie Stand By Me. Finally, a disgraced woman is determined to triumph over death in "The Breathing Method."--Provided by publisher
Print Book, English, 2017
First Pocket Books paperback edition, April 2017 View all formats and editions
Pocket Books, New York, 2017
Horror fiction
671 pages 20 cm
9781501156762, 1501156764
Hope springs eternal: Rita Hayworth and Shawshank redemption
Summer of corruption: Apt pupil
Fall from innocence: The body
A winter's tale: The breathing method
Originally published: New York : Viking, 1982