Front cover image for Dowland, Lachrimae (1604)

Dowland, Lachrimae (1604)

"Dowland's Lachrimae (1604) is perhaps the greatest but most enigmatic publication of instrumental music from before the eighteenth century. This new handbook, the first detailed study of the collection, investigates its publication history, its instrumentation, its place in the history of Renaissance dance music, and its reception history. Two extended chapters examine the twenty-one pieces in the collection in detail, discussing the complex internal relationships between the cycle of seven 'Lachrimae' pavans, the relationships between them and other pieces inside and outside the collection, and possible connections between the Latin titles of the seven pavans and Elizabethan conceptions of melancholy."--Jacket
eBook, English, 1999
Cambridge University Press, Cambridge, UK, 1999
1 online resource (xvi, 100 pages) : music
9780511605666, 9780511003783, 9780511038723, 9786610418664, 0511605668, 0511003781, 0511038720, 6610418667
The document
The instruments
The dance types
The seven 'Passionate Pavans'
'Divers other Pavans, Galiards, and Almands'