Front cover image for Lives of the twelve Caesars

Lives of the twelve Caesars

Suetonius wrote his Lives of the twelve Caesars in the reign of Vespasian around 70AD. He chronicled the extraordinary careers of Julius, Augustus, Tiberius, Caligula, Claudius, Nero, Vespasian and Domitian and the rest in technicolour terms. They presented some high and low times at the heart of the Roman Empire. The accounts provide us with perspicacious insights into the men as much as their reigns and it was from Suetonius that subsequent writers such as Robert Graves drew so much of their material
eAudiobook, English, 2005
Naxos AudioBooks, [Franklin, Tenn.], 2005
Downloadable audio file
Title from: Title details screen
Duration: 7:13:28
Translation of: De vita Caesarum
Read by Derek Jacobi.