Front cover image for The girl with seven names : escape from North Korea

The girl with seven names : escape from North Korea

Hyeonseo Lee (Author), David John (Author)
In 1997 the author, aged 17, escaped North Korea for China. Her mother's first words over the telephone to her lost daughter were "don't come back". The reprisals for all of them would have been lethal. Twelve years later she returned to the North Korean border in a daring mission to spirit her mother and brother to South Korea in a very costly and dangerous journey. This eloquent book offers the first credible account of ordinary life in North Korea and gives an extraordinary insight into the life under one of the world's most ruthless and secretive dictatorships
Print Book, English, 2016
William Collins paperback edition View all formats and editions
William Collins, London, 2016
xvi, 304 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : color illustrations, maps ; 20 cm
9780007554850, 9780007554836, 0007554850, 0007554834
Part One. The greatest nation on Earth. A train through the mountains
The city at the edge of the world
The eyes on the wall
The lady in black
The man beneath the bridge
The red shoes
The secret photograph
To be a good communist
'Rocky island'
'The house is cursed'
Tragedy at the bridge
Sunlight on dark water
'The great heart has stopped beating'
Girlfriend of a hoodlum
'By the time you read this, the five of us will no longer exist in this world'
The lights of Changbai
Over the ice
Part Two. To the heart of the dragon. A visit to Mr. Ahn
Home truths
The suitor
The wedding trap
Shenyang girl
Guilt call
The men from the south
The plan
The gang
The comfort of moonlight
The biggest, brashest city in Asia
Career woman
A connection to Hyesan
The teddy-bear conversations
The tormenting of Min-ho
The love shock
Destination Seoul
Part Three. Journey into darkness. 'Welcome to Korea'
The women
House of unity
The learning race
Waiting for 2012
A place of ghosts and wild dogs
An impossible dilemma
Journey into night
Under a vast Asian sky
Lost in Laos
Whatever it takes
The kindness of strangers
Shuttle diplomacy
Long wait for freedom
A series of small miracles
'I am prepared to die'
The beauty of a free mind
Includes index