Front cover image for Murmurs of Earth : the Voyager interstellar record

Murmurs of Earth : the Voyager interstellar record

Carl Sagan
Preface: On August 20th and September 5th, 1977, two extraordinary spacecraft called Voyager were launched to the stars. After what promises to be a detailed and thoroughly dramatic exploration of the outer solar system from Jupiter to Uranus between 1979 and 1986, these space vehicles will slowly leave the solar systems - emissaries of the Earth to the realm of the stars. Affixed to each Voyager craft is a gold-coated copper phonograph record as a message to possible extra-terrestrial civilizations that might encounter the spacecraft in some distant space and time. Each record contains 118 photographs of our planet, ourselves and our civilization; almost 90 minutes of the world's greatest music; and evolutionary audio essay on "The Sounds of Earth"; and greetings in almost sixty human languages (and one whale language), including salutations from the President of the United States and the Secretary General of the United Nations. This book is an account, written by those chiefly responsible for the contents of the Voyager Record, of why we did it, how we selected the repertoire, and precisely what the record contains
Print Book, English, 1978
Random House, New York, NY, 1978
273 pages, 8 unnumbered leaves of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm
9780394410470, 0394410475
Sagan, C. For future times and beings
Drake, F.D. The foundations of the Voyager record
Lomberg, J. Pictures of Earth
Sagan, L.S.A Voyager's greetings
Druyan, A. The sounds of Earth
Ferris, T. Voyager's music
Sagan, C. The Voyager mission to the outer solar system
Sagan, C. Epilogue
Includes index