skip to content
City of eternal spring Preview this item
ClosePreview this item

City of eternal spring

Author: Afaa Michael Weaver
Publisher: Pittsburgh, PA : University of Pittsburgh Press, [2014] ©2014
Series: Pitt poetry series.
Edition/Format:   eBook : Document : Poetry : EnglishView all editions and formats
This is the final book in the Plum Flower Trilogy by Afaa Michael Weaver, published by the University of Pittsburgh Press. The two earlier books, The Plum Flower Dance: Poems 1985 to 2005 and The Government of Nature, reveal similar themes that address the author's personal experience with childhood abuse through the context of Daoist renderings of nature as a metaphor for the human body, with an eye to recovery and  Read more...

(not yet rated) 0 with reviews - Be the first.

More like this

Find a copy online

Links to this item

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...


Genre/Form: Electronic books
Additional Physical Format: Print version:
Weaver, Afaa Michael.
City of eternal spring
Material Type: Document, Internet resource
Document Type: Internet Resource, Computer File
All Authors / Contributors: Afaa Michael Weaver
ISBN: 9780822980308 0822980304
OCLC Number: 891325532
Description: 1 online resource
Contents: Machine generated contents note: I. Map of the Heart --
What the Lotus Said --
Where We Are Born --
Earthquakes in Taiwan --
Chinese Theory of Strings --
In Shi Lin Night Market with My Lover --
At Drunken Moon Lake --
City of Eternal Spring --
II. Exile --
Old Man --
Noodles in Gong Guan with Godfather --
Crushing Peanuts in a Hakka Village --
Tea Plantations and Women in Black --
Meeting Old Friends at Drunken Moon Lake --
Long Walk Up to Mao Zedong's Retreat --
Buying a History of the Language --
Fish We Ate --
On Hearing that Michael Jackson Died --
MRT --
Da Mo Meets Ronald McDonald --
Three Black Goats of Mei Nung --
On Visiting Yu Jian --
In Shenyang City --
Eating Vegetarian in Taichung with Chien Cheng Chen --
III. Memories --
Oya at He Nan Temple --
Archaeology of Time: The Past --
Archaeology of Time: Returning --
Archaeology of Time: Convertibles --
Archaeology of Time: Gambling --
Archaeology of Time: Stations --
Archaeology of Time: Shadows --
Archaeology of Time: Waste --
Recognition --
IV. Intimacies --
First Love Poem --
Night Walk in Taipei --
Abacus Speaks to the End of Geometry --
Cold Mountain and the Maiden --
Night at the Opera --
What the Rains Bring --
Dream --
America, a Challenge to Love --
Nice to Meet You --
Walking to the Tree of Ancestors --
V. Soul Space --
Daoist Festival of the Great Pig --
Unspoken --
Flux --
Mind --
Kings --
Mirrors --
Space --
Truth --
Nerves --
Du Fu to Li Bai --
Homesickness --
Workers in Beijing --
Being Chinese.
Series Title: Pitt poetry series.
Responsibility: Afaa Michael Weaver.


Winner of the 2015 Phillis Wheatley Book Award (poetry category)This is the final book in the Plum Flower Trilogy by Afaa Michael Weaver, published by the University of Pittsburgh Press.  Read more...


User-contributed reviews
Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...


Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Close Window

Please sign in to WorldCat 

Don't have an account? You can easily create a free account.