The Civil War (DVD video, 2009) []
skip to content
The Civil War Preview this item
ClosePreview this item

The Civil War

Author: Ken BurnsRic BurnsColleen DewhurstLaurence Fishburne, IIIMorgan FreemanAll authors
Publisher: Burbank, CA : PBS, 2009.
Edition/Format:   DVD video : English : Full screenView all editions and formats
A nine-part documentary series which examines the American Civil War through photographs, readings from documents and diaries and historical materials.

(not yet rated) 0 with reviews - Be the first.

More like this

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...


Genre/Form: DVD-Video discs
Documentary television programs
Historical television programs
Military history
Television mini-series
Video recordings for the hearing impaired
Television documentary
Named Person: Abraham Lincoln; Abraham Lincoln
Material Type: Videorecording
Document Type: Visual material
All Authors / Contributors: Ken Burns; Ric Burns; Colleen Dewhurst; Laurence Fishburne, III; Morgan Freeman; Jeremy Irons; Derek Jacobi; Jason Robards; Sam Waterston; Bruce Shaw; Hoyt Axton; Geoffrey C Ward; David G McCullough; American Documentary, Inc.; Florentine Films.; Time-Life Video.; PBS Video.
ISBN: 1415702470 9781415702475
OCLC Number: 608347591
Notes: "Additional DVD material and packaging c2009"--Container. Originally produced as a television mini-series in 1990.
Credits: Cinematographers, Ken Burns, Buddy Squires ; editors, Paul Barnes, Tricia Reidy, Bruce Shaw. Written by Geoffrey C. Ward, Ken Burns, Ric Burns.
Performer(s): Narrator: David McCullough ; voices: Hoyt Axton, Colleen Dewhurst, Laurence Fishburne, Morgan Freeman, Jeremy Irons, Derek Jacobi, Jason Robards, Sam Waterston.
Description: 5 videodiscs (660 min.) : sound, color and black and white ; 4 3/4 in.
Details: DVD, 5.1 surround sound, digitally remastered.
Contents: Disc 1. Episode one: The Cause (1861) ; DVD special features --
Disc 2. Episode two: A very bloody affair ; Episode three: Forever free (1862) --
Disc 3. Episode four: Simply murder ; Episode five: The universe of battle (1863) --
Disc 4. Episode six: Valley of the shadow of death (1864) ; Episode seven: Most hallowed ground (1864) --
Disc 5. Episode eight: War is all hell (1865) ; Episode nine: The better angels of our nature (1865).
Other Titles: Cause: 1861.
Very bloody affair: 1862.
Forever free: 1862.
Simply murder: 1863.
Universe of battle: 1863.
Valley of the shadow of death: 1864.
Most hallowed ground: 1864.
War is all hell: 1865.
Better angels of our nature: 1865.
Responsibility: American Documentaries, Inc., Florentine Films and Time-Life Video presents a film by Ken Burns ; producers, Ken Burns, Ric Burns ; writers, Ken Burns, Ric Burns, Geoffrey C. Ward ; director, Ken Burns.


A nine-part documentary series which examines the American Civil War through photographs, readings from documents and diaries and historical materials.


User-contributed reviews
Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...


Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Close Window

Please sign in to WorldCat 

Don't have an account? You can easily create a free account.