The collected stories of Seán O'Faoláin. (Book, 1980) []
skip to content
The collected stories of Seán O'Faoláin.

The collected stories of Seán O'Faoláin.

Author: Seán O'Faoláin
Publisher: London : Constable, 1980-1982.
Edition/Format:   Print book : EnglishView all editions and formats

(not yet rated) 0 with reviews - Be the first.

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...


Document Type: Book
All Authors / Contributors: Seán O'Faoláin
ISBN: 0094639205 9780094639201 0094642109 9780094642102 0094646902 9780094646902
OCLC Number: 1114882320
Description: 3 volumes ; 23 cm
Contents: v. 1. Midsummer night madness and other stories (1932): Midsummer Night madness --
Lilliput --
Fugue --
The small lady --
The bombshop --
The death of Stevey Long --
The patriot --
A purse of coppers (1937): A broken world --
The old master --
Sinners --
Admiring the scenery --
Egotists --
Kitty the wren --
My son Austin --
A born genius --
Sullivan's trousers --
A meeting --
Discord --
The confessional --
Mother Matilda's book --
There's a birdie in the cage --
Teresa and other stories (1947): Teresa --
The man who invented sin --
Unholy living and half dying --
The silence of the valley --
Innocence --
The trout --
Shades of the prison house --
The end of a good man --
Passion --
A letter --
Vive la France! --
The woman who married Clark Gable --
Lady Lucifer --
v. 2. From the Stories of Sean O'Faolain (1957): Childybawn --
Lovers of the lake --
The fur coat --
Up the bare stairs --
One true friend --
Persecution mania --
The Judas touch --
The end of the record --
Lord and master --
An enduring friendship --
I remember! I remember! (1962): I remember! I remember! --
The sugawn chain --
A shadow, silent as a cloud --
A touch of autumn in the air --
The younger generation --
Love's young dream --
Two of a kind --
Angels and ministers of grace --
One night in Turin --
Miracles don't happen twice --
No country for old men --
The heat of the sun (1966): In the bosom of the country --
Dividends --
The heat of the sun --
The human thing --
One man, one boat, one girl --
Charlie's Greek --
Billy Billee --
Before the daystar --ʹ1000 for Rosebud --
A sweet Colleen --
Appendix: These tales (Preface to The heat of the sun) --
v. 3. The talking trees and other stories (1970): The planets of the years --
A dead cert --
Hymeneal --
The talking trees --
The time of their lives --
Feed my lambs --
"ur fearful innocence" --
Brainsy --
Thieves --
Of sanctity and whiskey --
The kichen. foreign affairs and other stories (1976): The faithless wife --
Something, everything, anything, nothing --
An inside outside comples --
Murder at Cobbler's Hulk --
Foreign affairs --
Falling rocks, narrowing road, cul-de-sac stop --
How to write a short story --
Liberty. Unpublished stories (1982): marmalade --
From Huesca with love and kisses --
The wings of a dove, a modern sequel --
The unlit lamp --
One fair daughter and no more --
A present from Clonmacnois.


User-contributed reviews
Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...


Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Close Window

Please sign in to WorldCat 

Don't have an account? You can easily create a free account.