skip to content
Covid-19 virus
COVID-19 Resources

Reliable information about the coronavirus (COVID-19) is available from the World Health Organization (current situation, international travel). Numerous and frequently-updated resource results are available from this WorldCat.org search. OCLC’s WebJunction has pulled together information and resources to assist library staff as they consider how to handle coronavirus issues in their communities.

Image provided by: CDC/ Alissa Eckert, MS; Dan Higgins, MAM
The cross and the curse Preview this item
ClosePreview this item
Checking...

The cross and the curse

Author: Matthew Harffy
Publisher: London : Aria, [United States] : CreateSpace, 2017. [2016] ©2016
Series: Bernicia chronicles, 2.
Edition/Format:   Print book : Fiction : EnglishView all editions and formats
Summary:
634AD. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and second instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Warlords battle across Britain to become the first king of the English. After a stunning victory against the native Waelisc, Beobrand returns a hero. His valour is rewarded with wealth and land by the king of Northumbria. He retires to his new estate with  Read more...
Rating:

(not yet rated) 0 with reviews - Be the first.

Subjects
More like this

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...

Details

Genre/Form: Historical fiction
Action and adventure fiction
Fiction
Material Type: Fiction
Document Type: Book
All Authors / Contributors: Matthew Harffy
ISBN: 9781786693167 178669316X 9781786693150 1786693151
OCLC Number: 1014191660
Description: xvii, 462 pages : map ; 23 cm
Series Title: Bernicia chronicles, 2.
Responsibility: Matthew Harffy.

Abstract:

AD 634 Anglo-Saxon Britain. Confusion and conflict continue as warlords battle across Britain to become the first King of the English. The second instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles, an  Read more...

Reviews

Editorial reviews

Publisher Synopsis

'Matthew Harffy has created a gritty, authentic world, home to a hero who shows us the complexity of what it means to be human - the darkness and the delight. The Cross and the Curse is historical Read more...

 
User-contributed reviews
Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...

Tags

Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Linked Data


\n\n

Primary Entity<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/1014191660<\/a>> # The cross and the curse<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Book<\/a>, schema:CreativeWork<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:oclcnum<\/a> \"1014191660<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:placeOfPublication<\/a> <http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/enk<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/4478069530#Topic\/imaginary_wars_and_battles<\/a>> ; # Imaginary wars and battles<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/4478069530#Topic\/kings_and_rulers<\/a>> ; # Kings and rulers<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/dewey.info\/class\/823.92\/e23\/<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:author<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/4478069530#Person\/harffy_matthew<\/a>> ; # Matthew Harffy<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:bookFormat<\/a> bgn:PrintBook<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:copyrightYear<\/a> \"2016<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:datePublished<\/a> \"2017<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:description<\/a> \"634AD. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and second instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Warlords battle across Britain to become the first king of the English. After a stunning victory against the native Waelisc, Beobrand returns a hero. His valour is rewarded with wealth and land by the king of Northumbria. He retires to his new estate with his bride only to find himself surrounded by enemies old and new. With treachery and death on all sides, Beobrand fears he will lose all he holds dear. On a quest for revenge and redemption, he accepts the mantle of lord, leading his men into the darkest of nights and the bloodiest of battles. Can\'t wait for the next instalment? Pre-Order Book 3, BY BLOOD AND BLADE Now - Out January 2017. What readers are saying about The Cross and the Curse: \'The continuing story of Beobrand continues to enthrall.\' \'Gripping storyline, engaging characters, and you feel seriously connected to Beobrand.\' \'An enthralling mix of history and fiction.\' \'A must read for all.\' \'Leadership, love, fighting, loyalty and history all rolled into a fluent story.\' \'Gripping tales of bloodshed, battles and personal demons set in some of the most beautiful parts of the UK.\'<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:exampleOfWork<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/id\/4478069530<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Historical fiction<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Action and adventure fiction<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Fiction<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:inLanguage<\/a> \"en<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isPartOf<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/4478069530#Series\/the_bernicia_chronicles<\/a>> ; # The Bernicia chronicles ;<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isPartOf<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/4478069530#Series\/bernicia_chronicles<\/a>> ; # Bernicia chronicles ;<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"The cross and the curse<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:productID<\/a> \"1014191660<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:workExample<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9781786693167<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:workExample<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9781786693150<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\numbel:isLike<\/a> <http:\/\/bnb.data.bl.uk\/id\/resource\/GBB7G0430<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nwdrs:describedby<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/1014191660<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n\n

Related Entities<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/dewey.info\/class\/823.92\/e23\/<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/4478069530#Person\/harffy_matthew<\/a>> # Matthew Harffy<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Person<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:familyName<\/a> \"Harffy<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:givenName<\/a> \"Matthew<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Matthew Harffy<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/4478069530#Series\/bernicia_chronicles<\/a>> # Bernicia chronicles ;<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nbgn:PublicationSeries<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:hasPart<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/1014191660<\/a>> ; # The cross and the curse<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Bernicia chronicles ;<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/4478069530#Series\/the_bernicia_chronicles<\/a>> # The Bernicia chronicles ;<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nbgn:PublicationSeries<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:hasPart<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/1014191660<\/a>> ; # The cross and the curse<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"The Bernicia chronicles ;<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/4478069530#Topic\/imaginary_wars_and_battles<\/a>> # Imaginary wars and battles<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Imaginary wars and battles<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/4478069530#Topic\/kings_and_rulers<\/a>> # Kings and rulers<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Kings and rulers<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/enk<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Place<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\ndcterms:identifier<\/a> \"enk<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9781786693150<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:ProductModel<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"1786693151<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"9781786693150<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9781786693167<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:ProductModel<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"178669316X<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"9781786693167<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n