skip to content
Covid-19 virus
COVID-19 Resources

Reliable information about the coronavirus (COVID-19) is available from the World Health Organization (current situation, international travel). Numerous and frequently-updated resource results are available from this WorldCat.org search. OCLC’s WebJunction has pulled together information and resources to assist library staff as they consider how to handle coronavirus issues in their communities.

Image provided by: CDC/ Alissa Eckert, MS; Dan Higgins, MAM
The dependents : a novel Preview this item
ClosePreview this item
Checking...

The dependents : a novel

Author: Katharine Dion
Publisher: New York : Little, Brown and Company, 2018.
Edition/Format:   eBook : Document : Fiction : EnglishView all editions and formats
Summary:
One of TIME magazine's best summer reads, a "wise" (Entertainment Weekly) and "resplendent" (O, The Oprah Magazine) debut that follows a new widower confronting the truth about his long marriage One of the best books of the summer: TIME, Entertainment Weekly, O: The Oprah Magazine, Real Simple, Brit + Co. "A fine debut, full of intelligent writing ... 'his book pleases on many levels."'Jeffrey Eugenides After the  Read more...
Rating:

(not yet rated) 0 with reviews - Be the first.

Subjects
More like this

Find a copy online

Find a copy in the library

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; Finding libraries that hold this item...

Details

Genre/Form: Electronic books
Domestic fiction
Fiction
Material Type: Document, Fiction, Internet resource
Document Type: Internet Resource, Computer File
All Authors / Contributors: Katharine Dion
ISBN: 9780316412483 0316412481 9780316473880 031647388X
OCLC Number: 1039079220
Description: 1 online resource
Responsibility: Katharine Dion.
More information:

Abstract:

For readers of Elizabeth Strout and Kent Haruf, an accomplished debut about a new widower, his fractured relationship with his daughter, and the decades-long friendship he and his late wife enjoyed  Read more...

Reviews

Editorial reviews

Publisher Synopsis

"When this book arrived in the mail, its author, Katharine Dion, was a person unknown to me. Not anymore. The Dependents is a fine debut, full of intelligent writing and free of the canine desire to Read more...

 
User-contributed reviews
Retrieving GoodReads reviews...
Retrieving DOGObooks reviews...

Tags

Be the first.
Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Linked Data


\n\n

Primary Entity<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/1039079220<\/a>> # The dependents : a novel<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:MediaObject<\/a>, schema:Book<\/a>, schema:CreativeWork<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:oclcnum<\/a> \"1039079220<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:placeOfPublication<\/a> <http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/nyu<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nrdfs:comment<\/a> \"Warning: This malformed URI has been treated as a string - \'https:\/\/img1.od-cdn.com\/ImageType-100\/0017-1\/{1612F991-D032-4E0E-92F8-CD33817FD5FE}Img100.jpg\'<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/5212127150#Topic\/widowers<\/a>> ; # Widowers<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/5212127150#Topic\/grief<\/a>> ; # Grief<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/5212127150#Topic\/fathers_and_daughters<\/a>> ; # Fathers and daughters<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/5212127150#Topic\/loss_psychology<\/a>> ; # Loss (Psychology)<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/dewey.info\/class\/813.6\/e23\/<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/5212127150#Topic\/fiction_general<\/a>> ; # FICTION--General<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:author<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/5212127150#Person\/dion_katharine<\/a>> ; # Katharine Dion<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:bookFormat<\/a> schema:EBook<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:datePublished<\/a> \"2018<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:description<\/a> \"One of TIME magazine\'s best summer reads, a \"wise\" (Entertainment Weekly) and \"resplendent\" (O, The Oprah Magazine) debut that follows a new widower confronting the truth about his long marriage One of the best books of the summer: TIME, Entertainment Weekly, O: The Oprah Magazine, Real Simple, Brit + Co. \"A fine debut, full of intelligent writing ... \'his book pleases on many levels.\"\'Jeffrey Eugenides After the sudden death of his wife, Maida, Gene is haunted by the fear that their marriage was not all it appeared to be. Alongside Ed and Gayle Donnelly, friends since college days, he tries to resurrect happy memories of the times the two couples shared, raising their children in a small New Hampshire town and vacationing together at a lake house every summer. Meanwhile, his daughter, Dary, challenges not only his happy version of the past but also his view of Maida. As a long-standing rift between them deepens, Gene starts to understand how unknown his daughter is to him\'and how enigmatic his wife was as well. And a lingering suspicion seizes his mind that could upend everything he thought he knew. Katharine Dion\'s assured debut moves seamlessly between Gene\'s present-day journey and the long history of a marriage and friendship. Rich and wonderfully alive, The Dependents is the most moving kind of drama, an intimate glance into the expanse of family life and the way we must all eventually bridge the chasm between what we want to believe and what we know to be true.<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:exampleOfWork<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/id\/5212127150<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Domestic fiction<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Electronic books<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Fiction<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:inLanguage<\/a> \"en<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"The dependents : a novel<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:productID<\/a> \"1039079220<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:url<\/a> <https:\/\/search.ebscohost.com\/login.aspx?direct=true&scope=site&db=nlebk&db=nlabk&AN=1610950<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:url<\/a> <https:\/\/samples.overdrive.com\/?crid=1612f991-d032-4e0e-92f8-cd33817fd5fe&.epub-sample.overdrive.com<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:url<\/a> <https:\/\/ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com\/library\/BCPL-document_id-qtyz2g9<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:url<\/a> <http:\/\/rbdigital.rbdigital.com<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:url<\/a> <http:\/\/link.overdrive.com\/?websiteID=496&titleID=3580217<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:url<\/a> <https:\/\/api.overdrive.com\/v1\/collections\/v1L2BaQAAAJcBAAA1M\/products\/1612f991-d032-4e0e-92f8-cd33817fd5fe<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:url<\/a> <http:\/\/link.overdrive.com\/?websiteID=220&titleID=3580217<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:url<\/a> <https:\/\/www.overdrive.com\/search?q=1612F991-D032-4E0E-92F8-CD33817FD5FE<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:url<\/a> <http:\/\/link.overdrive.com\/?websiteID=243&titleID=3580217<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:url<\/a> \"https:\/\/img1.od-cdn.com\/ImageType-100\/0017-1\/{1612F991-D032-4E0E-92F8-CD33817FD5FE}Img100.jpg<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:url<\/a> <http:\/\/link.overdrive.com\/?websiteID=12&titleID=3580217<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:workExample<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9780316412483<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:workExample<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9780316473880<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nwdrs:describedby<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/1039079220<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n\n

Related Entities<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/dewey.info\/class\/813.6\/e23\/<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/5212127150#Person\/dion_katharine<\/a>> # Katharine Dion<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Person<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:familyName<\/a> \"Dion<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:givenName<\/a> \"Katharine<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Katharine Dion<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/5212127150#Topic\/fathers_and_daughters<\/a>> # Fathers and daughters<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Fathers and daughters<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/5212127150#Topic\/fiction_general<\/a>> # FICTION--General<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"FICTION--General<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/5212127150#Topic\/grief<\/a>> # Grief<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Grief<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/5212127150#Topic\/loss_psychology<\/a>> # Loss (Psychology)<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Loss (Psychology)<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/5212127150#Topic\/widowers<\/a>> # Widowers<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Widowers<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/nyu<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Place<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\ndcterms:identifier<\/a> \"nyu<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9780316412483<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:ProductModel<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"0316412481<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"9780316412483<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9780316473880<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:ProductModel<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"031647388X<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"9780316473880<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n